We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jenn S
Los Altos, California
3843
Camping lite
Reviewed 23 Apr 2023via mobile
Things I liked: it's reasonably clean for a camp cabin, they provide towels and soap/shampoo, the shower is hot and clean, everything in the cabin works and the beds are comfy, your cabin is far (camp wise) from the other cabins and cars, there's a separate sink area for washing that isn't behind a locked door.

Things I disliked: our blankets came quite late so the cabin was a bit chilly as we waited, the single shower is great but I saw lines in men's/women's as most people are showering around 730pm when the sun goes down. The crowd varies as most people just stay a day.

It's not in the actual park so you do need to drive back to the entrance each day to get to most trails, it's a few miles.

Bring a lantern and bring your own food or cooking supplies for the fire pit including firewood. Restaurants in town are largely closed on Mondays and/or full and the grocery store stuff is limited.
Date of stay: April 2023
Nearby Hotels
Activity
Algotels
  • travelup.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
4.0 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
8.6 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 646
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.1 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 835
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.2 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,579
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.6 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Tripadvisor
RM 1,563
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,563
  • Lol.travel
6.6 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sugar Mill Cottage Street View
Tripadvisor
RM 1,124
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,124
6.5 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,455
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,455
6.8 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 718
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.2 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,746
No prepayment needed
    6.6 km from Namakani Paio Cabins
    View more hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
    Reviews (77)
    Filter reviews
    77 results
    Traveller rating
    28
    32
    11
    2
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    28
    32
    11
    2
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fire pit soap shampoo provide towels single shower national park after dark a great place to stay picnic sinks campground firewood camping linens miles charcoal drive lava
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 77 reviews
    Reviewed 15 May 2022

    We liked staying at the Namakani Paio Cabin # 2. It was a great alternative to camping without having to bring the gear. We are older, so prefer a bed to sleeping on the ground. At home we use a truck camper. The beds and linens were nice and adequately warm for cool nights. (No heat in cabin) We slept well after a full day hiking and awoke early to the sounds of the birds welcoming the new day. There were a few cobwebs in the cabin. Not a big deal to us. Cooking is outside and you will need to bring charcoal for the grill. It was not that cold while we were there, but quilts felt good later in the night. There is one light and one electrical outlet in the cabin. The bathroom is shared, separate bathrooms for men and women. Each bathroom has one shower, which was clean and had shampoo and bath gel available. Bathrooms are kept locked, and guests are provided a key.
    It made a great place to stay, so we could have plenty of time to visit Hawaii Volcan National Park and feel we could stay late to view the lava after dark. Viewing the lava just at dark, the parking lots are very full, and you may have to walk 1.5 miles each way to the lookout vs 1 mile for the closer parking lot. As suggested by the ranger we waited until about an hour after dark to view the lava.

    Room tip: book early they fill up. This is booked through the Volcan House website
    Date of stay: May 2022
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank WAJean
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 March 2022

    Three of us; Mom, Dad, and 13 year old stayed for three awesome nights. The proximity to Volcano national park was awesome. We are campers, so just the idea of a bed was an amazing change. No air conditioning and shared showers and bathroom are the norm for us so 100% no problem there. The showers and bathroom were clean and very spacious. Could not have been more comfortable. The sinks were separate from the bathroom for dishes and we made full use of it. It was a little tight if you are there with a second group, but it is easy enough to wait your turn. The campground was quiet as the sun went down. Never felt rushed or too busy. There was one 120V outlet. Great storage space with two book shelves and two shelves for luggage. They provided towels and a hanging bar. I mean this is living large if you are use to a tent. picnic table under a covered area and a cook surface steps away. We did not use the fire area. Had a great time

    Date of stay: March 2022
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Floridiot79
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 March 2021

    we decided to spend the night at the cabin to make the most of this side of the island, it was a cheap ($80) night in a totally adequate cabin which allowed us to stay up and see the lava glow without have to drive back to kona, also, we were able to get up and watch the sunrise which magically lit up mauna kea and then we were close to the green sands beach/cliff jump which we did the next day on our way back to kona. the cabin had four towels and sheets and a blanket for each bed. we were there in march and had sweat pants and hoodies, which we all appreciated, but were comfortable. the bathrooms were absolutely adequate for a camp ground, bring your own toiletries. totally worth seeing the stars too.

    Date of stay: March 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank 0617merS
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 January 2020

    In between stays at luxury accommodations at Waikoloa Resort, myself, my wife of 2 days and her children wanted to go on a road trip and check out the national park. I am an experienced backpacker, so I thought it would be fun to go "rustic" for one night. When we arrived and saw the cobwebs/spiders, saw the dust and peeling paint, realized there was no heat and the bathrooms were barely passable....my wife was not amused. Fortunately when we were at dinner, we had more blankets delivered and the staff swept away the spiders. The sheets were crisp and beds quite comfortable, so it wasn't too bad and my 2-day old marriage was saved.....but I don't think my wife will trust me to go "rustic" again anytime soon. (She did have the unique experience of peeing outside the cabin at 5am because she didn't want to walk to the bathroom.) Combined with the fact that there was no real volcanic activity or lava in the park, the whole thing was a bit of a downer.

    Date of stay: January 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank kibo1224
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

    We enjoyed staying in the cabin, and the bedding provided was adequate for the temperature, although we did have to shut the window above the bunkbed, as it got a little breezy at night. There was a resident rooster at the time we went, who liked to crow at 4:30am. However, if you were planning to get up early and walk across to the Jagger Museum Overlook to watch the sunrise over Kilauea, it was a very helpful alarm clock.

    Date of stay: April 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank ElGil
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews