We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedar Grove Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sierra Lodge(Three Rivers)
US$89
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$123
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wuksachi Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
John Muir Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Mt. Williamson Motel(Independence)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ray's Den Motel(Independence)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
43
82
42
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
82
42
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings riversnack barroaring riversmall bathroom with showerzumwalt meadowbeautiful locationlimited numberend of seasondo not disturb signcomplimentary coffeerooms are very basicmist fallsroad's endremote locationthe ground floorthin wallscomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

This is a basic lodge but clean. Unfortunately we had a room above the staff entrance and the constant banging of the door was very annoying. This started about 7am and finished after 10pm. Thankfully we were out most of the day. We had burgers 2 nights at the snack bar which were fine but only had one breakfast as the pancakes we had took ages to come and when they did they were cold. the following day we just had muffins from the well stocked shop. There is a laundry close be which was useful.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a night while we were in the parks. The hotel is part of a camp ground so keep that in mind when booking this. The lodge is like a camping lodge. The beds were ok. There is no tv fridge or microwave in the rooms. There is a grill that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The shower has no pressure so getting clean is hard but it is furthest from all the parks. There is a great view of the rapids which sit maybe 20 ft from the lodge. The room has decor of a cabin but it was clean. There is wifi provided but it doesn't work. There is no service here but pay phones are out side.

Tips. This hotel is 3 hours away from the sequoia welcome center, 1 hour away from the kings canyon welcome center. There is one road to all places if you get stuck behind someone slow it will take longer. Plan accordingly.

Also food stops being served here at 8pm if you are arriving after that get food on the way. We did not see any vending machines

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Whilst on our road trip from San Francisco to Vagus via the national parks I checked out the trip advisor reviews for our upcoming hotels . And , seeing lots of negative reports for the cedar grove lodge became quite anxious as to our choice and almost cancelled . Thank goodness I didn't . The location of the hotel was excellent , there was decent wi fi in the rooms which were perfectly clean and relatively spacious . Although the bathrooms were not the most luxurious the shower was powerful and hot . The lodge has a cafe as opposed to a restaurant and although the choice was limited for 2 nights it was fine and the food was the most reasonably priced that we had found on our entire trip . I would highly recommend this lodge , do not expect luxury decor but do expect a clan and pleasant stay in one of the most wonderful settings you will ever find right alongside a roaring river of white water .

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angela1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We had a patio room facing the Kings River. It was immediately below the grill so when the crew started moving the furniture in the evening to clean the sound was at an annoying level. Obviously, there was no insulation between the rooms. As well, there was no AC control in the room. As a result, it became extremely cold in the middle of the night. I do not recall staying in a hotel or motel that did not have the control for the AC in the room. As for the food and service in the grill, both were pitiful. Finally, the internet password we were given did not work.

Room Tip: There are three 'patio' rooms face the river. The view is great but the rooms are noisy and cold.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Positive: Can't beat the location! This is certainly very convenient to hiking trails in Sequoia. We hiked Zumwalt Meadow and Mist Falls and it was a few minutes away. The room is neat and clean with nature-themed comforter and prints on the wall. The furniture is well-kept—a wooden table and two chairs. It had internet service.

The down side: We missed the lodge because there were not enough signs. Then we couldn't find the registration desk. You have to go into the store before you see the registration sign. We were not the only couple wandering around to find registration. The room doesn’t have a microwave or fridge and no coffee maker. The cafe has a very limited selection and was set up so you order at the counter and pick up your food. We wanted supper but they were out of BBQ so all they had was sandwiches and salad. The room was on the pricey side.

Room Tip: You could get a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancer3361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews