We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Hydrangea's pretty bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hydrangea's pretty bedroom
Hydrangea'[s spacious Lounge Hydrangea's open-plan Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Hydrangea's pretty bedroom
Hydrangea'[s spacious Lounge
Hydrangea's open-plan Living Area
Hydrangea's ensuite Shower Room
Thrift and Chives running riot in courtyard
The Spa Suite at Downe
The Gym at Downe
The Gym at Downe
HYDRANGEA COTTAGE
Hartland Quay
View from Hartland's South West Coast Path
LOOKING NORTH TO LUNDY FROM DOWNE
LOOKING WEST FROM DOWNE
HYDRANGEAS BEHIND HYDRANGEA COTTAGE
POPPIES BY THE LILLY POND AT DOWNE
Grounds at Downe
Nearby Clovelly Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartland, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

greyemma
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb place to stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Spent six nights at Downe Cottages. We stayed in Hydrangea cottage which has a beautiful high vaulted ceiling - recommended by Jeremy and perfect when your partner is 6ft 7in. Immaculate accommodation in all areas - cottage itself, to spa facilities, to grounds. The most fabulous place to unwind and relax. Jeremy and Lynda provide a personal service making you feel most welcome and nothing is to much trouble to ensure you have an excellent stay. The scenery is as dramatic as it is breathtakingly beautiful and the Local Area information book in the cottage provides some excellent suggestions of things to do, places to see and exceptional eating options - and I am carrying the extra pounds to prove it! Would thoroughly recommend Downe Cottages as a place to stay to anyone planning a visit North Devon. Thank you Jeremy and Lynda.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2019
Emma,
Many thanks for the super review. It is much appreciated.
In addition may we thank you for leaving the cottage in such lovely condition.
Kindest regards,
Jeremy & Lynda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PandZK
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful location and beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely week's break at Downe Cottages. We stayed in Hydrangea, a beautiful single story cottage suitable for a couple. We had everything we needed, the cottage has been thoughtfully equipped and designed. We cooked some great meals with some fantastic local produce and were delighted by the welcome bottle of wine and box of chocs. It is a very quiet location (great for us) but you can walk to Hartland Village for pubs and small local shops. Don't miss the Hartland Farmers Market, The Hart Inn and do try and look up at the stars if you get a clear night, they are amazing. Loved our stay and hubby is already planning which cottage he wants to stay in next. Would recommend.

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Reviewed 17 September 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff
Reviewed 17 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlow
Reviewed 16 August 2010 for a stay in June 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2010
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.