We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family get together in amazing house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Charter House

Welcome to Charter House a grade 2 listed Georgian property,   overlooking Hartland village Square
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Charter House a grade 2 listed Georgian property,   overlooking Hartland village Square
The enclosed garden is ideal for children to play in. The good sized back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Welcome to Charter House a grade 2 listed Georgian property,   overlooking Hartland village Square
The enclosed garden is ideal for children to play in.
The good sized back garden
The original Panelled Drawing Room overlooks Hartland village Square
The  lounge which is next to the kitchen is also at the front of  the house
Cooking area that has a multi function double oven
With a good sized table it is great to enjoy family time.
The separate dining room over looking the garden.
The landing with its tall window
Bedroom 1 which over looks the garden is the 1st of the 6 bedrooms  and can sleep 2 in twin beds.
Bedroom 2 which overlooks the square is the smallest of the double bed rooms
Bed room 3 is the smallest of the bed rooms
Bedroom 4 is a spacious room with a super king size bed and space for cot
Bed room 5 is a large double aspect room with super king size bed and plenty of space for cot
Bedroom 6 is a twin room
The Morris men doing a traditional dance in the square in early May
Why not come and join in the carnival fun  Aug 13th 2016 a great evening for the whole family.
The war memorial takes pride of place at the bottom of the square
Just a couple of min from the house is the Vale walk In spring the banks are covered with blue bells
The vale walk
View of St Nectan Church Hartlands parish church
Take a visit to Docton Mill and enjoy an award winning cream tea after walking round the gardens
Less than 15 mins away from Hartland is the pretty village of Clovelly
Visit the gardens of Hartland Abbey where they have out door theater  performances and other events
For the more active then why not explore some of the bays along the  rugged coast
The rugged coast line
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Hartland, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
margaret...
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family get together in amazing house”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wonderful Grade II listed house retaining many of its original features. It was nice having two sitting rooms with TVs so you could get away and watch something peacefully if you wanted to. Huge table in the kitchen where we all gathered for meals and the person cooking was not left by themselves. There was a large formal dining room as well but we did not use this. All of the bedrooms were large although some lacked hanging space for clothes. In all a lovely warm, welcoming and spacious house with an exceptionally well equipped kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house
Liked least: The bathrooms were cold
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review and are glad you had a lovely time and made the most of the house and garden as well as the area.
We do supply a basic dinner set and cutlery in the kitchen as during the summer it is likely to be taken out side/ on picnics so needs to be replaced (due to breakages or loss) fairly often but we do provide a quality dinner set and cutlery in the dining room, we obviously need to make people aware of this.
We will check the wardrobe situation and find out why you were unable to open the built in wardrobes as only one should be locked due to the fact that it is the linen store cupboard and also into providing a wardrobe in the double room.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Charter house again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location of property
Liked least: Bedding-Personally I would prefer better pillows, duvets and cotton sheets
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Thank you for your comments we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you book again with us in the future. We do supply some basics but If you send us a list of what extras you feel we should provide we will consider doing so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cherly1
2 reviews
“Homely holiday rental”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely 4 day break. Lovely village.

If I could have improved one thing I would ask for a second shower which was electric.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Hi we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to hear from you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large lawned garden for kids games and the tree swing for everyone to use
Liked least: Returning home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
We are glad you found the house large enough for you and your family and that you were able to enjoy the surrounding area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing