We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming place!!”
Review of Maison Loste

Maison Loste
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guchan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Loste
Ranked #2 of 2 Guchan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely and super lovely! My 2 daughters have their own lovely Victorian style room! It has a kitchen with all the amenities! A groceries store is very close by if you want to cook and do not want to go out and eat an expensive restaurant. Super quite. Free parking and breakfast in included! If you enjoy an small family run business give it a try!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank lazydaze37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stopped here on our way to northern spain - conveniently located for an overnight stop. Had to try out my rusty french as owner does not speak a word of english. A lovely couple run the hotel and her homemade jam is gorgeous :) We had a triple room which was reasonably priced and had views of the helicopter landing pad which my son enjoyed greatly. There is a good restaurant opposite the hotel, not much else in the village but perfect for our one night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Driving toward the hotels of St Lary on the way to the Spanish border it was dark and getting late. I wanted to stop. This little establishment, the Maison Loste, with bed and breakfast and furnished rooms, got my attention.

I turned around and pulled in. A pleasant lady welcomed me and showed me a double with shower and WC two flights up. She even helped carry a bag up. The radiator was already on, the bed was very comfortable although as a fairly tall person I could have done without the footboard.

The rate for one person, including breakfast, was an amazingly low 42 euros, including breakfast.

In the morning I came down for breakfast which was laid out buffet style with jars of home made jams, an unusual touch. I brought my own cereal to microwave which she happily did.

We got to talking about the lodging business, since we have a B&B in Champagne. My host's name was Monique. She introduced me to Cyr, her handyman husband, who rebuilt the place when they bought it. All was well done although a few more wall plugs would have been useful for the many electronic gadgets I carry. This is a common problem in even more modern lodgings. Carry a multi-plug when traveling in France!

It is definitely a family friendly place. Across the road is one of those parks where kids can climb among trees on elevated rope walkways. In summer it is great for walking, in winter for skiing. It dates to the mid-19th century as lodgings and back to the 16th century when the village served as a fair for buying and selling animals. Guchan was a starting point for the transhumance of livestock to the upper slopes for summer grazing.

I took my leave of them after explaining that Tripadvisor, which she had not heard of, should hear of them. So here is it. If you get down to this beautiful part of France tell Monique that Bill sent you.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres côté est doivent être plus calmes mais plus fraiches. En été choisir une chambre avec...
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank banblalande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prenez le temps de discuter au téléphone avec la gérante, sa gentillesse fera le reste...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maison Loste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Loste

Address: Route de Saint-Lary, 65170 Guchan, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Guchan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Guchan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing