We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”
Review of Thorskogs Slott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thorskogs Slott
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lilla Edet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

After picking up our new Volvo we drove to the wonderful place. A little further up the road is a little town on the Gota Canal where we got to see the locks in action. The grounds were great and I'm sure spectacular in the warmer months. The 3 course meal was out of this world and the wine pairing had 2 of the best wines we've EVER had- and we live in California! The entire castle is fun to explore with lots of warm places to sit and relax. We will go back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank awhtmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017

We keep coming back to this pearl among Swedish castles and will do so for as long as we live. We placed our wedding party here over 10 years ago and we always celebrate that day at the castle, every year, added with a few more occasions each year. This February visit was no exception. Wonderful staff that really makes you feel "at home outside home", always spending some time to chat with you in a relaxed way. The food "is to die for". Absolutely top class and the recommended wines are a perfect match. The whole atmosphere just blows you away. We have nothing to say more than absolute top class in every aspect. Don't miss a visit here !!!

Room Tip: A room in the actual castle adds to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We spent a whole weekend at the castle and had an OK enough experience.
We got a nice room outside the castle - which by the way was engulfed in plastic!?!

A large room with a fine terrace and a beautiful view of the gardens. However we had the neighbours from hell.... Maybe nice people, but their kids obviously were allowed to do as they pleased and ran screaming and banging doors.... SO not a place for a tranquil retreat....

We ate in the castle and the food was actually the thing that made our weekend! Very nice and beautifully presented... We however had to wait for 20 minutes while the maître `d was trying to find our reservation..... This was handled very clumsily by the maître but very professionally by the hotel the day after - the apologized and really made it up to us.

We had a nice walk along one of the walkways marked out by the castle..

All in all nice enough - but the glamour is fading and I really think one should consider the amount of children being allowed at the castle. There were a lot this time and they were running in the dining hall screaming and shouting...

Not all of us love children all the time..... At least one should take in consideration the fact that there are other people present....

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

My Swedish husband and I were married in Thorskogs in 2015, we were living in Singapore at the time and had international guests arriving from various countries. Thankfully we had a superb wedding planner for the event, nonetheless we still found front office rather difficult to deal with in the run up to the big day, particularly in clarity around pricing, slow response times and general disorganisation. This didn't dampen our excitement though as we had stayed at the venue previously and we thought it just a glitch.

The pre wedding barbeque and the wedding day itself were beautiful. The venue is incredibly romantic, the waiting staff and sommelier were excellent and the food was delicious. We had an amazing wedding weekend until the morning of departure.

Upon checkout, front office seemed wholly unable to cope. Guests were complaining that their bills seemed inaccurate. One of my sisters was overcharged, another was undercharged and called back at a later point to pay a second amount. I gather that the process was mostly manual, guests felt that totals were being calculated randomly and the manager was quite impatient with confused guests. My poor husband had to intervene at one point and it became very embarrassing.

Events worsened when the elderly manager, who was obviously stressed after the busy checkout process, asked our families to hurry up and move on from the foyer! Thankfully my husband only told me this much later. I did leave with a sour taste though when I noticed her closing the front doors while guests were still packing up their rental cars!

I'm afraid I have to echo my sister's earlier post regarding the rude manager at Thorskogs and her abrupt treatment of guests throughout the weekend, stories of which I only heard months later. I also believe that old fashioned front office (manual) processes are letting the place down as a wedding venue. It's a real shame as all other aspects are top notch and the venue itself is magical.

It pains me to say that you should think carefully before booking your wedding or special event here, until management and front office processes improve significantly.

Stayed: October 2015
3  Thank SinyStack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree A, Manager at Thorskogs Slott, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Dear SinyStack,

I am really sorry to read your review.

We arrange apx 50 weddings per year and have done so for 30 years.

In your case you choosed to hire your own wedding coordinator outside of the castle who was the person with whom we both communicated. Maybe that was part of the reason to the response time that you experienced as too long and confusion regarding pricing etc? We have however gathered all information regarding organization for the weekend as well as all prices in our wedding pdf that we communicate from the first show-around of the castle. All prices are also stated in the contract that is signed when you decide to get married at Thorskogs Slott apx a year before the big day.

We had no manager on site on the weekend of your marriage but the responsible weeding coordinator that has been working here for ten years and our custom is to wave our guests goodbye at the castle stair but not in any case to chase them away!
It is a pity if you experienced her presence on the stairs as such.

If there should be any doubt or question what so ever remaining I really hope that you will contact us so that we can get them sorted out!

Best regards
Desirée Andersson
Hotel cheif

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Thorskog Slott is only a short distance from the modern hustle of Goteborg, but its a world apart. The stately home has been amazingly restored and turned into a top notch destination - the food, wine and atmosphere are as deep as the old leather sofas.
The rooms can be a bit small, so choose well - we had a great room, facing down across the 'back' lawns, but others in our party had rooms over the front of the house and these were small.
There are a number of walking trails as well as a pitch and putt, so if you need to work off some of the sumptuous food, there is no excuse.

Room Tip: just read the descriptions carefully - all rooms are variable size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilla Edet
38.7 km away
Ronnums Herrgard
Ronnums Herrgard
#1 of 1 in Vargon
184 reviews
29 km away
Naas Fabriker Hotel och Restaurang
34.2 km away
Sankt Jorgen Park
Sankt Jorgen Park
#6 of 65 in Gothenburg
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,961 reviews
37.9 km away
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 65 in Gothenburg
247 reviews
19.6 km away
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in Stenungsund
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorskogs Slott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorskogs Slott

Address: Thorskog 100 | Västerlanda, Lilla Edet 463 93, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Lilla Edet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lilla Edet
Price Range: RM 810 - RM 1,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thorskogs Slott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thorskogs Slott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing