We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Treat”
Review of Thorskogs Slott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thorskogs Slott
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lilla Edet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Very charming small castle on the Swedish countryside with an interesting history. The food is excellent, with excellent vine menu. The staff is very nice and helpful. The English park is very nice and nicely lit in the evenings. Would have given full score rating, but the following hold my 5 star rating back : 1) Two single top mattresses instead of one double mattress. 2) A bit on the pricy side. 3) Apart from the park and water system/dam next to the castle, did not get a feeling there was more to see.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rudi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Very friendly and proffesional staff, amazing property. In the vicinity were tracks of wild animals (moose...). Little paths in the wood are illuminated at night - like in fairy tale. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

The castle is very nice and it expresses well all its history. Also the park is very nice and well-finished. However the room I stayed (in the castele) was small and old. The bathroom needed renovation and there was not even complimentary toothpaste! Except for the soap there was anything else! I was really disappointed by this kind of offer since the place is rated as luxurious.

The food quality, however, was high. The breakfast was really good and the personal is kind. Finally it was funny to notice how the person in charge of telling the history of the castle was not aware of a single date. How can you tell the story of something without knowing the timing?

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valecant86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

After picking up our new Volvo we drove to the wonderful place. A little further up the road is a little town on the Gota Canal where we got to see the locks in action. The grounds were great and I'm sure spectacular in the warmer months. The 3 course meal was out of this world and the wine pairing had 2 of the best wines we've EVER had- and we live in California! The entire castle is fun to explore with lots of warm places to sit and relax. We will go back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank awhtmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We keep coming back to this pearl among Swedish castles and will do so for as long as we live. We placed our wedding party here over 10 years ago and we always celebrate that day at the castle, every year, added with a few more occasions each year. This February visit was no exception. Wonderful staff that really makes you feel "at home outside home", always spending some time to chat with you in a relaxed way. The food "is to die for". Absolutely top class and the recommended wines are a perfect match. The whole atmosphere just blows you away. We have nothing to say more than absolute top class in every aspect. Don't miss a visit here !!!

Room Tip: A room in the actual castle adds to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilla Edet
38.7 km away
Ronnums Herrgard
Ronnums Herrgard
#1 of 1 in Vargon
184 reviews
29 km away
Naas Fabriker Hotel och Restaurang
34.2 km away
Sankt Jorgen Park
Sankt Jorgen Park
#6 of 65 in Gothenburg
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,961 reviews
37.9 km away
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 65 in Gothenburg
246 reviews
19.6 km away
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in Stenungsund
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorskogs Slott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorskogs Slott

Address: Thorskog 100 | Västerlanda, Lilla Edet 463 93, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Lilla Edet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lilla Edet
Price Range: RM 803 - RM 1,387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thorskogs Slott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thorskogs Slott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing