We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albatross Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa(Southbroom)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sunbirds B&B(Southbroom)
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$105
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barefoot B & B(Southbroom)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunny Rock(Southbroom)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bushbuck Lodge(Southbroom)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
22
11
1
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
11
1
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coastsouth africaurssuitealbatrossguests
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2016

we were met by the owners -such a lovely couple ready dishing out advice on the area etc.. Personal warm welcome which was so refreshing. our room was clean and neat and spacious. Lovely atmosphere with beautiful sea views. Breakfast was delicious and they catered for all types including vegetarians. we felt completely at home and have made enquiries about returning there

Room Tip: we got the "Titanic Room" -loved it
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ragini1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

This establishment was once a great place I am sure, but management seems to have lost interest. A Five Star grading is displayed outside the front door, but I don't think this place has been graded for many years. Our bedroom had no tea and coffee making facilities, the pillows were old and flat, there was no toilet paper in the bathroom and even when we asked for toilet paper they really battled to find a roll for us. The towel rail was missing (broken off) and our sink plug was broken and stuck closed. The breakfast was pretty good, but we only received one rasher of bacon each. The location and outlook is perfect. But definitely not 5 stars! I urge management to re-invest some of their earnings and buy some new bedding and fittings. A re-vamp is sorely needed. Until then, take your own bedding, toilet paper and soap and insist they bring you a kettle and tea/coffee. Unacceptable! Luckily we were there with a great crowd of friends and had fun despite these shortcomings.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Helen359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Urs and his wonderful staff made us a vacation to remember. The kitchen of Claude was excellent and very innovative, he had an open ear for suggestions and wishes of his guests.
Lots of information and travel suggestions were given by the host. He was always available for any needs, such as tee time reservations and golf course directions.
We very much liked the layout of the suite (had an upper floor suite with a large veranda).
Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SWGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

As I am an absolutely hooked South Africa traveler, I once more came to the South Coast. The Albatross Guesthouse was one of my stops at many B&B's along my trip. A very beautiful place, indeed. Huge gardens and pool, spacious rooms with stunning sea views. A golfers paradise with many beautiful golf courses close by. Had my tee off times booked through Albatross Guesthouse prior to my arrival, was fetched from the airport from a local car rental agency in Southbroom and their personal driver, booked trough the Albatross Guesthouse as well.

The dinners served and cooked by Karin four times a week were outstanding, the breakfast made with love. A little bit more of a choice would have been great though.

I was told, there would be some changes in the near future in terms of management and some renovations are on the line. Good luck to all the lovely staff and the owner, who was a fantastic host.

I hope to be back soon and cant wait to see this beautiful place, again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Most terrible experience during my 3 weeks in SA. Arriving at a deserted place being attended by the cleaning lady in job since 2 months(trying her best) manager never around in the afternoons apparently No luggage service, room very old and basic,twin beds only, minibar empty and warm filled with old water. Shower not working at all. When having a drink at the pool serving personal ask us to fetch the wine ourselves as they did not know the bottles. Appraised superb mediteranean dinner but in fact hired a caterer at night. Gym is a joke and super dirty. AVOID! This place forced us to pay in advance the full amount. Understand now why.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross G, Inhaber at Albatross Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014
Google Translation

Diese Bewertung betrifft eine Situation die waehrend max. 5 Tagen zutraf, da der Inhaber im Ausland weilte und das Management wegen Unfalls ausfiel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews