We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update on Condition & Status of Chateau Esperanza”
Review of Esperanza Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esperanza Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Had lunch at a Buffalo restaurant today & met the roofing contractor who just replaced the roof of the Mansion (within 1 week ago). I lived in the Penn Yan area in 1994 & would frequently take rides by the Mansion, pulling off to the roadside to take in the spectacular view of East/West braches of Keuka Lake, from Bluff Point. The estate was a winery, then an upscale restaurant. Apparently, it has (once again) fallen into disrepair. The roofing crew mentioned they got information to the effect that Esperanza was to become sot of an "assisted living" residence.
Far from its former glory days, this diamond in the rough will need lots of TLC from someone with very "deep pockets"; I'm guess-timating about $1.5-3.0 million to restore

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016

We won a trip to Esperanza Inn. On arrival, we found out that the restaurant was closed for the season. We were directed to an outdoor entrance room as the mansion was also closed. The room smelled very musty. There was an old container of fruit in the refrigerator. The toilet was running continuously. A very nice young lady agreed to move us to a similar room with a working toilet. This room also had a bad odor and the air conditioner had only one speed - high. Carpeting was worn and stained. Thankfully we were busy enjoying Keuka Lake during the day so we did not spend a great deal of time in the room. In the morning there was a satisfactory continental breakfast set up in the mansion: boxed cereal, yogurt, mini muffins and coffee and tea. The second evening we asked if we could use the veranda on the mansion. We were reminded that the kitchen and bar were closed (no problem - we brought our own wine and cheese and crackers). The view from the veranda is spectacular. The wrought iron tables and chairs were covered with spider webs but we cleaned them off and enjoyed a wonderful evening on a gorgeous veranda overlooking the lake. We were literally the only guest at the inn that night which was a little creepy. I am guessing that they will be closing after this season.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank madreRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Our room was next to the laundry room, we stayed in 117. Walls and ceilings are thin, sounded like guests above were going to fall through the floor - you hear EVERYTHING. Bathroom door was missing door knob, so we couldn't even close the door. The room smelled musty, the carpet felt damp. The doors to the room are right from outside, so you will end up with bugs flying around.
Their idea of a continental breakfast isnt worth walking over to the Mansion for, bring your own bagel and warm milk, it will save you the trip.

Room Tip: The only "VIEW" of Keuka Lake your going to get, is if you go up to the outdoor patio off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfk1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The mansion was very beautiful and offers an amazing view of the Keuka Lake. I visited for dinner and did not stay in the rooms. There is outside seating and you can request a table by the water. The food and service were fairly good. My only concern was that there were a large amount of flies during our visit in October 2015. (we were seated inside).

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank uvarobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

My wife stayed at the E on a "girls-away weekend" trip to the Finger Lakes wine region. She had told her friends staying with her what a great place this was, as our daughter had her wedding there in 2006 and we loved the place. She was hugely disappointed, reporting nothing but problems, starting with the failure to place her and her friend in adjoining rooms as specifically requested at the time the reservation had been made. The breakfast the next morning was awful - cold and with stale, hard bagels and pancakes - the only thing edible was the pre-packaged yogurt.
The good news for the E is that it still sits on the bluff overlooking beautiful Keuka Lake and is a short drive from numerous wineries and such customer service problems can be fixed with a re-dedication to first rate customer service by a responsive management. But that had better come soon - they lost one previously loyal customer and missed an opportunity to gain several more from this trip.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluff Point
8.5 km away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
230 reviews
9.4 km away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
30.1 km away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
23.2 km away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
25.2 km away
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Hammondsport
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza Mansion

Address: 3456 State Route 54a, Bluff Point, NY 14478-9714
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Bluff Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Price Range: RM754 - RM1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esperanza Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1838, the Esperanza Mansion has represented the highest level of Greek Revival Architecture in the Finger Lakes region of New York state. It has now been fully restored to its 19th century splendor. Guests may choose from 9 Mansion guest rooms and 21 rooms at The Inn at Experanza. The Esperanza Mansion offers breathtaking views of Keuka Lake and the surrounding countryside, making this the ideal destination for a relaxing Finger Lakes getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Esperanza Mansion Hotel Bluff Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing