We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the nices holiday homes we have stayed in”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alloway Retreat

Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Twin Room
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Alfresco Entertaining
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amandamur...
Motherwell
2 reviews
“One of the nices holiday homes we have stayed in”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent one week of our summer holiday at Alloway Retreat, it just so happened it was the week in July when it was roasting hot, which made it even better. The owner Shirley was very kind and had even made us bread for our arrival. The decor of the rooms were first class, nicer than some of the five star hotels we have been to. All in all it was brilliant and we plan to come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Alloway Retreat and I would certainly welcome you back as it was a pleasure having you.
Kindest regards
Shirley Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discotequ...
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and everything was first class. The bungalow is very spacious and clean. Lots of thought has gone in to making guests feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you all again sometime in the future. Take care.
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skyesheep
Stuart
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed in Alloway Retreat in June for a week to attend our daughter's wedding. Large rooms, beautifully decorated, private garden, quiet neighborhood, central location, and a delightful owner. Perfect place for our family to gather during wedding week festivities. The owner greeted us with warm, freshly baked bread upon our arrival which was delicious and a nice welcoming touch. Once you have discovered Alloway Retreat, don't look any further. Just book your stay - you will be glad you did. Top notch accommodation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large rooms
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. I'm glad that Alloway Retreat served all your needs and was able to compliment your stay for your daughter's big day. It was a pleasure having you all. Hope you are all well and had a safe journey back home to the USA.
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gammie200...
Montrose, U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Felt like home after a day or two!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was an ideal base for our (annual) golfing trip. Super-relaxing to come back to after a hard day on the links - so much better than a hotel. A bathroom for each couple - barbie - spacious kitchen with everything you could need - TV lounge + "quiet" lounge - quiet, appealing neighbourhood close to everything - owners Shirley and Paul on hand next door to answer any questions, but very much the best kind of hosts who let you get on with things. Are there any others who welcome you with a loaf of warm home-made bread??

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, Shirley, the location....
Liked least: It's not mine!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review. I had great pleasure in having you all as guests at Alloway Retreat. I hope that the West of Scotland's Golf Courses were up to your expectations and that you'll return from France to try them again. You and your party are more than welcome back to Alloway Retreat at any time!!!
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review. I'm glad that Alloway Retreat accomodated all your needs for this special occasion.It was a pleasure having your group stay at Alloway Retreat and I would welcome you all back anytime. Thanks again for choosing Alloway Retreat. Take care.
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$286
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing