We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$350
US$335
View deal
SAVE US$15
Free cancellation until 19/06/21
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$350
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$335
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
714
139
58
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
714
139
58
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tamar valley the main house tasting menu amuse bouche birthday celebration coach house special occasion lobster small balcony michelin star venison fabulous views drawing room wedding venue cream tea free standing bath an overnight stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start? We were expecting a fine dining experience but what we got was closer to a school dinner. We asked for a cocktail on arrival and were told they 'didn't have the facilities to make cocktails'. Instead we got 2 pints of flat Korev. We were then bought an inedible amuse bouche of pulled pork on stale bread and slightly more palatable one of salmon mousse. We were then taken through to a table that hadn't been made (no plates, cutlery etc) that was underneath a flickering light and next to a filthy mirror. The goats cheese starter was OK, the 'torched' mackerel definitely hadn't seen a torch and the beurre blanc it was supposed to come with was nowhere to be seen. The lamb main was OK despite the undercooked veg it came with, the cod was too salty and the broccoli it came with was virtually raw. We asked for salt and pepper and they bought out little sachets of it, which we just had to laugh at. Staff were all pleasant enough but there weren't enough of them and they were clearly struggling. Don't waste your money here, it was truly awful.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank alexanderbM7279BZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Leivers, Owner at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear alexanderbM7279BZ,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our aim is to exceed the expectations of every guest, so please accept our sincere apologies that we did not succeed on this occasion.

Your complaints about the food could very easily have been rectified, had they been mentioned them at the time. It always saddens us when guests say nothing at the time, then vent their opinion on public forums such as this.

Our Restaurant Manager and Head Chef have discussed the issues raised in detail with their teams, so that we can learn from your feedback. In response to a couple of your specific points:

• We take our Covid safety policy extremely seriously, both for the safety of our guests and our staff. Advice to the hospitality industry is to lay up tables in front of guests, to minimise the risk of contamination. The guidance is also to use sachets for sugar, salt and pepper, as our normal cruets and sugar bowls cannot be adequately sanitised between guests.

• As regards the beer, our Korev is botted and not draught. It was poured straight from the refrigerated bottle, so we cannot understand why it would have been flat.

• We are sorry that we were not able to accommodate you in the conservatory restaurant overlooking the valley; it had been fully booked several weeks before you booked online.

We are deeply saddened that you did not enjoy your visit and apologise sincerely for your disappointment.

Kind Regards

Karen and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

I’ve been lucky enough to visit a few times and always had excellent food and service. With its location tucked away on the moor and off the beaten track it perhaps needs to be special. We visited for cream tea which was included a handmade chocolate cup, better than the Ritz! Great quality and very reasonable.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank davidhanson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Leivers, Owner at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Wow!! What an amazing review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback.

Now that we are back up and running we hope to be able to welcome you back soon,

The Horn of Plenty team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2020 via mobile

Hubby and I had a belated birthday lunch yesterday (due to the last COVID lockdown) and it was superb. The standard of food is excellent and dining there is a real luxurious experience. It’s also very good value for money considering the little extras included (a mini ham hock terrine and spicy prawn before we started our meal and a mince pie and jelly after we had finished our 3 course lunch). The staff are lovely and it felt completely COVID safe. Can’t wait for another reason to go again.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Viviennecatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2020

We stayed here with friends in September on a dinner bed and breakfast package of around 250 per night. The location of the hotel is superb overlooking rolling countryside and we enjoyed a late afternoon snack and drink on the terrace which we thoroughly enjoyed.
The accommodation is in the main house and coach houses and other buildings.
Our friends and and us were in an outbuilding at the rear of the hotel. Unfortunately both rooms lacked character and both rooms and en-suite shower rooms were tiny and in need of refurbishment (you could hardly get around both sides of the bed)
We did mention this to the receptionist as we were disappointed with the allocated classic rooms. But nothing was done.
However the dinner in the restaurant was superb and worthy of the 2 Michelin stars. I am celiac and can’t eat gluten, the chef adapted the menu so that I could eat more or less anything on the menu and the food was superb.
The staff in the restaurant were so friendly and helpful which helped to mitigate our overall experience of the hotel.
Would we go back? Maybe however at around 250 per night it would have to be in a more spacious and refurbished room.

Room tip: The classic room we had was extremely small
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

We wanted somewhere special to visit during our break in the Tavistock area and the Horn of Plenty delivered. The quality of the food was exceptional, staff attentive without being over bearing and the wine (gran Rosso primativo) was exceptional. I’m bemused by the (rare) negative reviews- the lunch was a culinary experience and at £70ish for two including a couple of glasses of wine and three courses exceptionally good value.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews