We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Thistle Stop

Thistle Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Friendly establishment with great value food and wonderful views. Staff friendly and willing to adapt menu to accommodate dietary preferences.
Good gluten free options.
Good little craft shop.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 75AndyB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Stopped here purely by chance as we were both starving. So glad we did!! Food was home cooked and delicious, I had a jacket tattie with haggis and cheese, followed by home made lemon treacle tart. My partner had the quiche, again, home made and he said the chips were the best he's ever had. So wished we lived a bit nearer, keep it up, you are doing a fab job

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review......hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We had lunch here, our meals came out quickly, and fresh from cooking,piping hot. Nice and clean.both Julie and Patrick were very friendly. If we're in the area again, this is a must stop place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JFC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review.....I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stop and look forward to seeing you again if you are passing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

A friendly welcome along with a mug of lovely filtered coffee and a smashing warm treacle scone with butter & jam. Hit the spot before going up ‘Ben T’

Thank harman1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for your review. It was a lovely day so I hope you had the fantastic views you were hoping for at the top of the Ben.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stopped here on our way to Fort William and what a pleasant surprise this little shop is!!
We enjoyed a nice hot cup of coffee and the best scones and cream we had during our visit to Scotland!
The shop also has a nice but small craft shop in the side room. I was lucky to find some unusual braids and ribbons so I left a happy girl.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nanamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at Thistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Many thanks for your review......I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thistle Stop also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 
Invergarry, Scottish Highlands
Invergarry, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Thistle Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing