We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$139
Hotels.comUS$139
CheapTicketsUS$139
Agoda.comUS$139
TravelocityUS$139
Orbitz.comUS$139
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
145
109
67
38
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
109
67
38
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first night queen charlotte track ship cove endeavour inlet packed lunch main building welcome sight tea and coffee making facilities large group day's walk beautiful spot heat pump after a long day food was great marlborough sounds first stop a nice place to stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2021

We had a hiker cabin which we expected would be a little rough; It was very expensive too. It was rough, small and mildewy. Not as bad as the shared toilet which had one dark, dirty shower. After biking all day, both of us opted to go without a shower vs using these really bad facilities. There was no option between these cabins at about $150 and a suite for about $350. Regular hotel scale accommodation is sorely missing. A little upkeeping is in order too. Restaurant and bar were nice; staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Camp vs the hiker cabins. Higher end accommodation looked just great
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HummingAlong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCExperiences Team, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi HummingAlong2, we really appreciated your review, thanks. It's great that you enjoyed the Furneaux Restaurant & Bar and the staff hospitality.

We are sorry that the shower was dirty and the rooms mildewy. Guest comfort is a high priority for the lodge and a consistently high level of cleanliness should be a given. Thanks for bringing this to our attention – we’re working hard on improving this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

Rooms were clean and tidy, beds were very comfy (had the best nights sleep). Staff were all really nice, food was great and well priced considering the location. We were evacuated due to the tsunami warning and the staff had carried chilli bins of food and drink up to the top of the hill for everyone and had blankets spread out so it turned into one giant picnic - awesome!!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Piripi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCExperiences Team, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Piripi55, your review is wonderful, thank you so much. It's great to hear that despite the tsunami warning you enjoyed your room and beds, the hospitality and the food - including the evacuation picnic! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021

Chosen to celebrate a special event and we all had a magical tine. Cooks cottages fine, great deck with seating for six and beautiful views. All staff absolutely delightful, helpful, informative and fun. Menu good - compliments to the chef the birthday cake was absolutely delicious. Our stay was everything we hoped for and more.

Room tip: Beautiful views from room and deck, sunny and close to all amenities
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seventy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCExperiences Team, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2021

Hi seventy21, thank you so much for your great review, and for choosing to celebrate your event at Furneaux Lodge. We're thrilled to read that your time here was a success for you and your guests, including the accommodation, hospitality and food. We enjoyed hosting your celebration and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2021

What a delight. From the moment we arrived. Really wanted to stay longer and we will stay again. so nice to be left alone to enjoy our garden and space. The staff were lovely and the whole place was just amazing.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey010269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCExperiences Team, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2021

Hi Tracey010269, a big thanks for your great review. We’re chuffed that you enjoyed your time at Furneaux Lodge, including our beautiful grounds. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021 via mobile

Disappointed. Had great memories of a number of visits. The price for the hiker huts is too much for what's delivered. Curtains on doors were mouldy. Rooms smelt. Beds need boards under all mattresses as they sink. Im now aware Furneau is revamping this as has had problems with flooding etc. Suggest a common room as rooms very small and a suitable kichenette for the 4 huts to utilise. Also, with the sometimes rain deluges that packs be put from the boat to a shelter and then in the rooms or at least kept dry somewhere please. Dining service was slow. We had to ask for waitress and ask to find someone so we could pay our bill...the girl behind the bar didnt know how to use the till she said and ignored us until we asked for attention. Oh well. We dont usually have adverse comments and are l Furneaux do, We think, have future plans.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCExperiences Team, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2021

Hi BoardingPass82587, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Furneaux Lodge - we are very sorry to hear it wasn't great.

We place great importance on ensuring guests are comfortable and happy during their visit to Furneaux Lodge through warm hosting, so it’s very disappointing to hear of your dining experience. We apologise for this. Please be assured that we’re working closely with our staff to improve customer service, and will share your experience with them as part of our ongoing training.

Thanks for bringing the curtains and beds to our attention – we’re working hard on improving this. We really hope to see you back, to experience the improved Furneaux Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews