We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and immaculate cottage in idyllic and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd Path to garden at rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Briscoe Mill Cottage
Master bedroom with king size bed, tv/dvd
Path to garden at rear
Briscoe Mill bridge over the River Ehen
Lounge with TV, dvd player
Kitchen with fold away dining table, microwave, oven, fridge
Twin room with toy box and trundle for 3rd child - bedding provided
Picnic bench over beck
On Briscoe Mill Bridge looking north up the River Ehen
Great place to set off on your cycle ride, close to the Coast to Coast route
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Egremont, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ZoeL223
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and immaculate cottage in idyllic and peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to visit the Lake District for a short break over Easter, and feel that we could not have been more fortunate with the property we stayed at. Briscoe Mill Cottage is peacefully located in the countryside next to the river, but also with convenient access to the nearby amenities in Egremont. The cottage itself is wonderfully decorated in a modern yet sympathetic way, and was absolutely spotless. Moreover, the owners thoughtfully provided us with a useful welcome basket including delicious eggs from their own hens! The property was well-equipped with everything that we needed and more, including free wifi. Sarah and Sean really have thought of everything to make this place feel like a home away from home.

We used the property as a base from which to explore nearby Ennerdale water (where we got engaged!) and the beach at St. Bees. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer. We would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Congratulations on the engagement and hope Ennerdale holds some great memories for you both. Good luck with your plans and hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powercats
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, really thoughtful hosts”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

On the quieter and most beautiful & wild North Western side of the Lake District tucked away down in the valley of the river Ehen, you will find Briscoe Mill. Although close to Egremont, the first thing that strikes you is the peacefulness and the pretty garden and perfect location. A warm but discreet welcome awaits including a thoughtful gift pack of bread, milk, wine and biscuits. The cottage is small but immaculate, really clean and well thought out with very high quality furnishing and decoration.

There are walks from the door to suit every taste including access to the high fells from forest tracks. From here you can walk up Dent and Cold fell and if very adventurous can do a days outing to Ennerdale.Theres the coast to explore at St Bees and the interesting towns of Whitehaven and Cockermouth, not to mention Wasdale and Eskdale not far away.

Sarah and Sean, who live next door could not be more thoughtful but are not intrusive and the garden is equipped with furnture for al fresco meals. Theres wifi as a plus.

We rent quite often to visit family in the Lakes and this has been the most succesful yet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the facility
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad you booked our cottage and look forward to welcoming you and the dogs back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinnie29
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent quality accommodation and peaceful location”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Briscoe Mill Cottage and have already booked to return! The location is ideal for us, it has great access to many visitor attractions yet it's lovely and peaceful too. The cottage is full of character and charm, is well equipped and comfortable. We also received a welcome hamper too, lovely touch to help settle us in.

Overall we had a wonderful holiday, loved the cottage and the area along with great weather too, the only problem was that we couldn't stay longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character, charm and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. You would be most welcome back anytime, hopefully the weather is better for you on your next visit :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus R
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Wonderful family! thank you for visiting our cottage during your UK trip.
Hope you had a good journey home all the best :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing