We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
283
40
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
283
40
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalton towersfour posterlovely cooked breakfastlocal pubfamily roomlovely accommodationminute driveserve fooda lovely staygreat place to staystar pubperfect locationquiet villagevisiting the areapeak districtfull english breakfaststayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in November for the Alton towers firework weekend, our stay was perfect from start to finish.
The couple that run it made us feel welcome from start to finish.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and laid out, we are a family of 4 and some rooms feel like a squeeze however we felt like we had more than enough room and the kids loved the bunk beds!!
Breakfast was lovely and made fresh. There was a mix of cereals & fruit which you helped yourself to and then a choice of a wide range of full breakfast items. Again the couple that run hotel accommodated to what you wanted on your plate.
We will defiantly be returning...dont think the kids would allow us to stay anywhere else in future lol :-) x

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Laurels_Oakamoor, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for your review Leanne.
It's so nice to hear you all had a great time :-) If you're looking for a little more room for your next stay, have a look at our Large Family Room, as it's considerably larger than our Bunk Bed Room and not much more expensive. You may have to get the kids' permission though! :-)

Phil and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Nice rooms, well run, very friendly and about as close as you can get to Alton Towers without staying in one of the resorts own options. Also a short walk to the nearest pub (also very friendly) which was an added bonus!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Laurels_Oakamoor, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for your comments. The Cricketers is a proper old fashioned pub, so we're glad you enjoyed your visit and your stay with us.

Phil and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Chose this BnB as its only a 5 minute drive from Alton Towers, 6 of us stayed for 2 nights, rooms were immaculate, breakfast was lovely, the owners are very friendly and helpful, there's a nice little smoking area outside with tables and chairs, the whole place had been decorated for Halloween and looked great! Our room was the four poster which had the best en suite ever!!! Would definitely stay here again without a doubt :D xx

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Laurels_Oakamoor, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Great to hear your feedback Karen.
We always go to town on our Halloween decorations and enjoy dressing the place up.
We spend a lot of time ensuring The Laurels is super clean, so we're glad you noticed :-)
Looking forward to seeing you again some time.

Phil and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

My daughter who is 9 & I stayed for 3 nights at The Laurels for a trip to Alton Towers. We found the Laurels to be a perfect location with only a 5 minute drive away to the Theme Park & only 10 minutes drive to the nearest large town with numerous eating & drinking venues.
The Laurels is a lovely clean place to stay with beautiful views & very warm, well informed & polite owners & staff. The Breakfast was good Also too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MARK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Laurels_Oakamoor, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for your comments Mark.
Is good to know you found our location so good and enjoyed your stay with us :-)

Phil and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I stopped here for a few nights after finding them on Google maps very close to Alton Towers. The welcome and all the staff were very friendly. The room was nice and clean with a very comfy bed. The breakfast was great each morning. I will definitely stop here again if I am in the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrewbF7005BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Laurels_Oakamoor, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Andrew. Many thanks for your review. We're so pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed your breakfast.
We'd love to see you again soon.

Phil and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews