We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst scam ever”
Review of Hotel Vicko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vicko
Reviewed 5 October 2010

They advertise their doublas at up to 56 euro in Links und Rechts der Autobahn.
Upon arrival the price is 80 euro and up for a camped room overlooking a garbage dump.
The whole place has long passed its best before date.
The owner is very rude and outright unhelpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

The staff was so helpful and a wealth of knowledge about the area and the Paklenica National Park. They provided us with many suggestions and brouchures of things to do and ways to do them. They explained numerous hiking routes in the National Park and how long each would take and which ones a lone person could safely do and which ones it was important to have a buddy.
The breakfas was excellen with many choices of foods including: Sausage, several types of breads and several types of pastries, lunch meats, sliced cheeses, homemade jellies/preserves as well as ones in individual glass jars and the plastic individual ones too. Even the scrambled eggs with bits of bacon or ham in the eggs were very good, and I'm a real skeptic for eggs on a buffet! There were also several types of cereals, juices, a coffee machine that does hot chocolate, mochiato, expresso, capucino, white coffee or black coffee. There was also yogurt and pudding and a little fresh fruit. I only ate breakfast there, so I do not know how good the food is a lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tango191191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

After seeing some of the reviews on here, I was dreading out stay. We were due to Stay at the Hotel Vicko for 2 nights a few weeks ago. We were very pleasantly surprised - the room was spacious, modern and clean. We had sea views from all windows, although the curtains were somewhat strange and needed clipping shut! The beach is just over the road, shingle, but beach all the same. Would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgerdenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2007

We chose this hotel because we were looking for a one-night stay for a triple. We were meeting someone coming in on the evening RyanAir flight and were heading on to Pag and Plitvice.
The hotel itself was okay - reasonably clean, but very dated. The place has a sort of Fawlty Towers feel with oddly placed staircases, winding hallways, and sloped ceiling rooms. Breakfast was fine, but hot items were not replenished.
The town of Starigrad Paklenica really was dead in late September. The location is great for the close-by national park and the hotel offers organized van transport there.
The location is not at all convenient to Zadar or the airport. It takes approximately 45 minutes by car and requires driving the tolled autostrada and winding secondary roads. Not a good choice if you are planning on partaking in Zadar nightlife.
Overall, the place was fine, but not a bargain. It has a good view of the water and islands.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

This hotel was rated well in my Lonely Planet book, but we were really disappointed. It is not in Zadar, but about 30km away in Starigrad. It's in a very remote area. The staff was pretty unhelpful and not super friendly. The rooms were tiny and very outdated. Our room had a metallic gold window coverings and bedspread. They lied about having internet access. You have to go down to a bar down the street to find a computer.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RDTripper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starigrad-Paklenica
0.6 km away
Hotel Rajna
Hotel Rajna
#3 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
35 reviews
1.5 km away
Neilson Alana Beachclub
Neilson Alana Beachclub
#1 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
240 reviews
5.0 km away
Aparthotel Tamarix
Aparthotel Tamarix
#2 of 2 in Vinjerac
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Pansion Kiko
Pansion Kiko
#2 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
73 reviews
25.6 km away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
4.3 km away
Bluesun Camp Paklenica
Bluesun Camp Paklenica
#1 of 21 in Starigrad-Paklenica
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vicko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vicko

Address: Ulica Jose Dokoza 20, Starigrad-Paklenica 23244, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Starigrad-Paklenica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Starigrad-Paklenica
Price Range: RM270 - RM515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vicko 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vicko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing