We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place exceeded all expectations!!”

Review of Palacio de Vilela

Manor house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manor house
Gate Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Manor house
Gate
Swimming pool
Dining room
Dining room
Bedroom 1 - Double bed
Bedroom 1 - Double bed
En-suite bathroom 1
Bedroom 2 - Double bed
En-suite bathroom 2
Bedroom 3 - Twin
En-suite bathroom 3
Bedroom 4 - Double bed
En-suite bathroom 4
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room
Pool table
Kitchen
Manor house
Manor house
Swimming pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Santo Tirso, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ChasingLi...
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This place exceeded all expectations!!”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arriving at the house, we were blown away. The drive there was lovely and picturesque (we flew in to Lisbon and chose to drive the 3.25 hours versus flying into Porto and driving 30 minutes). It was easy to find using Google Maps. The driveway really set the scene for what to expect with the house. We jumped out of the car and started our tour on the ground floor. It was great. There was a billiards room and several parlors for relaxing. We went up a flight to find another parlor, grand dining room, the huge kitchen, some bedrooms, and a chapel (bring your own speaker and play your own concert in there, the room is perfectly made for an amazing sound treat. We ventured up to the third floor to find more bedrooms and the washing machine. We had 11 in our group and it easily accommodated us with plenty of bedrooms to spare. It was great that each room had its own en suite bathroom and shower. There were additional bathrooms throughout the house too. The grounds were great. Plenty of average to go hiking and see nature and old ruins. The patio was amazing and we had dinner out there 3 of the 7 nights we were there.
There was a cute little cafe within a 5 minute walk, where we would enjoy some amazing coffee and chocolate croissants. If you wish to go there, just go down the drive way, turn right at the road, and it is the first little strip of shops on the right. You won't be disappointed.
English was not as widely spoken, but Google Translate worked well and we began to pick up some key words. The market is only a 5 minute drive away and had great selection.
All in all, an amazing place to stay!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana B
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in May 2015

In May 2015 we had our wedding at Casa de Vilela. The house was better than anything we could of wished for. Every room and every part of the garden were in the words of our photographer “perfectly photogenic”
Half an hours drive from Porto airport, Casa de Vilela, is close to the city but still situated within rural north Portugal and a short walk from the local village. Some of our guests stayed with us at the house, everybody fell in love with it and have asked us to plan another stay.
Every room is outstanding especially the huge kitchen. All bedrooms have en suite.

The owner is wonderful, even bringing us a wedding gift. The final remarks are saved for Mr Casimiro. He was just simply a pleasure do deal with from the very first day we went to the property and during our stay there was nothing he couldn't do for all of us and he bonded with all of our guests - not even different languages was a barrier.
We would like to finish by saying that we are very thankful for the opportunity to have celebrated our wedding in such a special property with so much history and sense of family.
Obrigada Dra Clara Coutinho e Sr Casimiro pela simpatia e ajuda.
Susana e Rick Brooks

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything - a superb and most wonderful property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripMembe...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, lovely village”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at this property in June 2014. What a delight it was. Our large group of 12 was very easily accommodated and it would be possible to have an even larger group than that.

The house exceeded expectations by some margin. It is huge, and beautifully presented. Each bedroom has its own ensuite and there are reception rooms a plenty for a large group to spend time together, or find a quiet spot to read, talk or listen to music.

In addition there's a billiard room with a full sized table, and a very substantial pool is located a little away from the house. The kitchen is perfect for a large group to share the meal preparation tasks. Oh, and there's a chapel....

The local village of Santo Tirso is charming and its inhabitants friendly and helpful. There's a couple of little stores, fresh produce, a wine bar and restaurant and cafes.

The owner of the villa was most charming and the caretaker engaging and helpful.

I have already recommended the property to other friends.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a great experience to stay in a grand villa nearly 250 years old.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoSheds5...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,493 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa, don't hesitate”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Huge three storey villa. Nicely located in a quiet rural area near to a small village. Well positioned for travel to nearby historical locations. Rooms everywhere. Bedrooms all have their own bathrooms and are generally very spacious. Kitchen fantastic. Large and nicely appointed. Very nice living rooms. We had 12 people here and had a fantastic time. There was more than ample space for everyone. The grounds of the villa are huge too. Lovely pool area. Nice forested area as well. The caretaker and local village people were also very friendly. We couldn't have had a better time here. The price tag was amazingly low. We paid less per night here than we would have to stay in an ordinary bush motel back home. The only downside was some rising damp in some downstairs living rooms but there are so many rooms in this mansion that it mattered very little. All in all a wonderful house. Our advice: don't hesitate to book this if you want a very relaxing week away and don't want to break the bank.

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.