We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
134
158
116
55
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
158
116
55
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barcook islandsupstairs rooman adults only resortroom servicingthe blue water grilldirect beach accessprivate beachhuge bedseafood plattersister hotelmarine reservebeachfront roomour honeymoontropical breakfastisland stylecaptain andys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a group of 8 for some friends 30th Birthday celebrations, the rooms are very clean and comfortable with gorgeous beach views! The swim up bar is awesome, cocktails are reasonably priced. The beach in my opinion (after looking for a good place to snorkel all over the island) has the best snorkelling!!! The paddle boards, snorkels and kayaks are all free of charge and super handy as all we want to do is swim!
The free breakfast buffet is nice and the menu is really good
Such a relaxing and beautiful location! A must stay!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank courtney i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Kia Orana Courtney,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

It was a pleasure to host you all for the 30th Birthday celebrations and we are delighted that you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

If you have any further feedback to make your stay even more memorable next time or would like to enquire about a return visit please contact me at resort.manager@sanctuaryrarotonga.com

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Rarotonga in the near future.

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia

Cameron and the Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I was a bit worried about coming here as I didnt read the reviews until after I bought the voucher off Grabone NZ. There seemed to be mostly negative.

However I am so glad I chose to stay at the Sanctuary resort! Cam and Kylie were very welcoming upon our arrival and after a brief explanation of how the resort works we were shown to our room

The complimentary bottle of wine with a personalised note from the Sanctuary team was a nice touch and the room was air conditioned so it was always nice walking into our rooms.

The rooms are nice but I found the house cleaning routine a bit weird. Sometimes they would come while we were getting ready for breakfast! but nothing major. Despite this its the view that really got to me, I loved that we were literally metres away from the water! with free snorkel, kayak and paddle board hire it was hard not to swim all the time. I also loved how they had activities set up if you didnt want to travel outside the resort (only setback was that the activites were with the neighbouring Rarotongan resort... which meant screaming children) but this did not affect us as much.

The food is nice (we enjoyed the pizza and the island girl cocktails) but one thing you have to remember is that the resort (alongside the Cook Islands as a whole it seems) run on island time so do not expect things to be done straight away! we learnt this slowly. Was a bit disappointed that the buffet breakfast did not include bacon and eggs but I enjoyed the fruits, pancakes, cereal muffins and pastries available.

While I loved the adults only resort what really made the trip for me and my husband was the staff. They were friendly and always there to help us when we needed dinner, recommendations for food helping us book activities alongside transfers. So from me and Fred thank you so much Cam, Kylie, Apii, Aunty and her daughter as well as all the Sanctuary staff for making me and Freds honeymoon one to remember. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dorykiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Kia Orana Roberta and Fred,

Thank you very much for your review. I hope you have settled back into reality after a enjoyable and relaxing Island getaway.

It was an absolute pleasure to host you for your Honeymoon. I am delighted that you both had a wonderful and memorable time for your special occasion.

We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed the exclusive Adults only environment, water activities, food and cocktails but especially that the staff really made for an amazing Holiday. I will pass on your kind words to all.

If you have any further feedback or would like to organise a return visit please feel free to contact me at resort.manager@sanctuaryrarotonga.com

Many thanks for staying with us, wishing you a lifetime of happiness together.

Kind Regards

Cam, Kylie, Apii, Aunty Ura, Liana and the Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I have waited a couple of weeks to write this review as i like to write after of reflection of the time we had there and not emotively as some time this is the case.

First thing what is a the definition of a 4 star hotel ?
It depends on the person`s exspectations ? where it is located ? Country Cost etc
Is this a 4 star hotel for this country
Location 5 Star there is not many hotels around the world where you can walk out your bedroom directly onto the sand then 12 ft to the water and be feeding the coral fish in 5 mins. Try booking into the Maldives location and see how much it will cost you
Is the service up to standard for a 4 star again Yes The island people are lovely and laid back, if they are 15 mins late relax you are on holiday for god sake.
Meals for a 4 star Yes at times.
Breakfast average but did us for the day More fresh fruit would be nice !!
Rooms abit tired but no big deal.
Pool and bar great Spent a few hrs service terrific.
Only fault was there was not a reservation for us when we arrive which was the hotels fault but they did fine us a room and changed us next day and gave us a bottle of wine for the inconvinience I do find this really annoying but it is not the first time this has happened me when we have traveled.

Finally my wife and i had a great and relaxing time as we went there for our 30th Wedding Anniversary could not have been happier

And to Cameron, Kylie and Thank you and keep up the good work

Cheers Gary Hienekien LOL

Room Tip: Lower floor beach front
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GarfeildAK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Kia Orana Gary and Linda,

Thank you very much for your review.

It was an absolute pleasure to host you both for your 30th Wedding Anniversary in January.

I am very happy to hear you had a wonderful, relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the location, friendly locals and the iced cold Heineken at the swim up bar.

We are currently reviewing our breakfast option's and have added a few more fresh fruit options including fresh sliced coconut, sliced pears and are looking at adding further seasonal choices.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future so if you are wanting to enquire about a return visit or have any further feedback please email me at resort.manager@sanctuaryrarotonga.com

We will have the Heineken chilled and well stocked for your arrival

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia

Cameron, Kylie and the Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

I have read a lot of reviews so was a little concerned, however I believe new management took over about a month and what a change this has made. Staff were friendly and helpful, we had to change rooms and while this was inconvenient the staff were helpful and we were offered room credit and a bottle of wine. The rooms are exactly as described and the pool is relaxing. We found the swim up bar staff at all times, and looked forward to happy hour each night. It was great to stay in a hotel without children and even more so to be able to relax in a pool without a child dive bombing you. The breakfast was tropical, lots of fresh fruit, it was sufficient. I had a couple of cooked breakfasts (added cost) but well worth it, especially the game fish eggs bene.. the best I have ever tasted! I would stay again

Room Tip: I stayed in the honeymoon suite, while no beach view it is a larger room with a spa pool etc.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avarando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Kia Orana Ava,

Thank you very much for your review.

It was a pleasure to host you and your group for Tania and Roelof's Wedding.

I am pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the adults only facilities, swim up pool bar and tropical breakfast.

I do apologise that you were required to be move rooms during your stay but I am happy it was done as seamlessly as possible and to your satisfaction.

If you have any additional feedback to make your stay even more memorable next time or would like to enquire about a return visit, please contact me at resort.manager@sanctuaryrarotonga.com

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia,

Cameron and the Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We ordered the Pork loin chop and Lamb rack meals beautifully presented, very nice setting and great prompt service! Rather pricey for the quantity of the meal however still nice! Would dine here again

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marinoh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron S, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Kia Orana,

Many thanks for reviewing your dining experience at Blue Water Grill Restaurant at Sanctuary Rarotonga.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the Pork loin and lamb rack dishes, the beautiful setting and prompt service. I will pass on your kind words to our Chef's.

If you would like to come and experience our Restaurant again or to organise a stay at the Sanctuary Rarotonga please don't hesitate to contact me at resort.manager@sanctuaryrarotonga.com

Kind Regards

Cameron and the Sanctuary Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews