We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great food at great prices”
Review of Bistro 8

Bistro 8
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Blackwood
Price range: US$14 - US$35
Cuisines: Spanish, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bistro 8 is an award winning restaurant & cocktail bar, Located in Blackwood, South Wales. We offer unique dishes from around world, traditional British cuisine, daily tapas selections and mouth watering specials. We also have an extensive gin collection, real ales, wines and much more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Presentation was not good. Service was ok the night in general was fine but I definitely don't recommend it. The 4 of us had steaks. All varied in size yet all same price. Half a Tom and half a mushroom was the only garnish. No salad in sight tho it can be ordered separately at extra cost obvs. Wine was nice but expensive. As we said back street food at Cardiff prices.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Vacation20754051077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bistro 8, Owner at Bistro 8, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Bistro 8. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and I appreciate that you shared with us how we could improve in the future.

I am glad to hear that there were aspects of our restaurant which met with your approval and I will share this feedback with our team. However, I respectfully disagree about pricing - our steaks are competitively priced considering they are prime british cuts, locally sourced. As all steaks are hand cut, so they may vary in shape and size, but they are always weighed to ensure we provide 10oz as specified.

We highly appreciate your feedback though, and I will pass your comments over to the team. We do hope you give us another a shot in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited as two couples. We were being asked to order food before we'd even had our drinks. We had 4 tapas starters 2 of which were whitebait which were nicely presented but tang to them which was off putting. As soon as the starters were cleared the mains were put in front of us straight away without being asked if we were ready for them which we would have liked so we could have 5 to 10 mins between courses.
We all orderedbelly pork , 2 of the dishes were fine , 1 was reasonable but 1 was terrible, a tiny piece of pork on top of a lump of fat. We asked the waitress to change it , which they did but the 1 they replaced it with was the same , a tiny piece of meat on a lump of fat ( we're sure it was the same one trimmed up and put back on the plate ) . This resulted in this meal being returned to .
When we received the bill we were charged for 4 mains , 1 of which was removed when we asked.
All in all , first time back at Bistro8 after lockdown we were very disappointed. The bill was £200 and we won't be going there again any time soon.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Daichoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bistro 8, Owner at Bistro 8, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I do apologize that you were unhappy with your experience. Due to the very nature of Pork Belly, it is a fatty dish, with a thick fat layer. If there is anything further we can do, please do get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recently visited after having a positive experience in the past. However we were left utterly disappointed after ordering the tapas. Food was mediocre but very pricey. Ordered garlic Prawns as a tapas dish which were priced at £7.95 to only receive 3 prawns. The food wasn’t bad but definitely overpriced and left feeling hungry afterwards. Overall, definitely wouldn’t recommend the tapas due to the price, portion size and overall taste which is bland.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank lucymumford01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bistro 8, Owner at Bistro 8, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lucy, Apologies you were not happy with your order. I just wanted to take the time to explain, that tapas is an appetizer/snack, in which most people order between 3 and 5 tapas dishes each, as a replacement for a main meal. I am disappointed that you have taken to Tripadvisor to voice your concerns, as we could have happily rectified during your visit, I do hope you give us another shot in the future - and I would be more than happy to offer a tapas dish on the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal and service was excellent. Went with two family members and we all had the club sandwich, was lovely. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Laurena2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bistro 8, Owner at Bistro 8, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, Lauren! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and our service.

We take pride in providing a quality dining experience and it's great to know that we were able to meet your expectations. If there is anything else we can do for you, please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So pleased to be able to eat here again. They did such an amazing job with take away during lockdown but there’s nothing like a proper eat in experience. Chief’s recommendation fillet medallions were excellent. Thank you to Tarin and Leoni who served us. We’ll see you again soon

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank VRichardsGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bistro 8, Owner at Bistro 8, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Vicky,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant and I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food. We are also happy to know that Tarin and Leoni were able to provide excellent service during this time of uncertainty. Your feedback is very important to us as we strive for excellence in all areas of our business. It was a pleasure having you with us at Bistro 8!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 8 also viewed

Blackwood, Caerphilly County
Oakdale, Caerphilly County
 
Blackwood, Caerphilly County
Blackwood, Caerphilly County
 

Been to Bistro 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.