We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful slice of paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
What a View!...Elsie Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What a View!...Elsie Bay
Great Room with Large Flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
What a View!...Elsie Bay
Great Room with Large Flat screen TV
Mainstay at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Anguilla

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Experienc...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful slice of paradise!”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

What a pleasure to have discovered this lovely villa located in a perfect central spot on the island! The home was beautifully decorated and comfortable. As mentioned in another review, the photos posted do not do the villa justice - it is much more beautiful in real life.

The owners are lovely and kind people who go above and beyond to assure your every need is met from organizing transportation from the ferry to the villa upon arrival to providing a most excellent list of restaurants and suggestions for activities on the island.

We could not have been more delighted with our time on Anguilla and at Mainstay! You will not regret staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDMomof3
Bethesda, MD
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Glorious View”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 5 spent 8 nights at Mainstay Villa over the holidays. Dave was very easy to deal with and a terrific source of information. The villa has an absolutely spectacular, unrivaled view of St. Maarten. If you wake up before dawn in December, you can see the Southern Cross over St. Maarten -- a cool view I won't soon forget. The villa is comfortable and has everything you need -- towels, beach chairs, kitchen equipment. The pool is perfect. A housekeeper, Pamela, comes every day. The villa is very convenient to everything -- Shoal Bay, Meads Bay, the ferry, the valley. We will definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Upstairs bathtub didn't work.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPY1973
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I travelled to Anguilla with another couple in November of last year. It was our first visit and not only did the Mainstay villa exceed all our expectation, but the owner's, Dave and Chris, made us all feel like family. Upon our arrival to the island at the Ferry, Dave had arranged a taxi to take us to the Villa. A rental car, also arranged for us by Dave and Chris, was dropped off ahead of time and was ready for our immediate use. For anyone traveling to the island, I would highly recommend using one of the local rental car companies While Anguilla is a small island in relative terms, a car makes getting around very easy and driving on the left only adds to the sense of adventure. The Villa itself is perfectly located on a small cove, Elsie Bay, which offers unparalleled views of St. Maarten. One could easily spend the entire visit gazing at the scenery from the pool or the comfort of their master suite. The two master suites both have french doors which open to the pool deck or a private balcony. We spent many an early morning with the doors open, the trade winds blowing through the home, just watching the vanishing act that the morning rain storms would play on our neighboring island. To say it was magical and romantic would be an understatement. Aside from heavenly views, the Villa offers plenty of modern amenities. The kitchen is fully equipped with all one would need for a vacation whether it be gourmet meals or simply breakfasts. The great room has a large flat screen TV with cable and a sound system that can help you get into the island groove. There is so much beauty to the property that you'll probably that the TV is largely an afterthought, however, it is there for those that desire a connection to the modern world. The owners also provide wireless internet service, which is actually quite convenient. Cell service on the island can be expensive so we frequently used FaceTime to check in on our kids back in the States. For those that wish to travel out from the Villa, they will find that they are centrally located on the island. The Valley, a downtown area, is just a few minutes drive away and one can easily find a grocery store or local shop for basic needs during their stay. Nothing is hard to get to on the island due to the central location. Dave and Chris also provided a list of recommended restaurants and local shops, which made things even easier. We found that at many of their recommendations that the owners and staff knew Dave and Chris and made us feel even more at home at the mere mention of their names. It truly shows you the close knit community that separates Anguilla from some of the other Caribbean islands which feel like tourist factories. I can't say enough positive things about the experience at Mainstay Villa and would recommend it to anyone thinking of going to AXA. Hopefully we will return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views, the pool, the location, the people....everything
Liked least: nothing was short of spectacular
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa -- charming vibe”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family in February 2015. This is a beautiful, spacious villa with a stunning view. It has a charming vibe. The Pattersons were very helpful with their correspondence. The cleaning lady, Pamela, was excellent. Everything important in the villa worked perfectly. I hope to go back one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finn415
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of elegance and comfort”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have vacationed at Mainstay several times over the past few years and could not imagine a more perfect experience. The location provides the most breathtaking view on the island; the house itself is graceful, elegant, and quickly becomes a home away from home. Mainstay serves as the centerpiece of a vacation that can be as relaxing or adventurous as you wish; the owners, Chris and Dave, are helpful and accommodating hosts, deeply knowledgeable about the island (and from what we gather, much beloved there). They are happy to offer suggestions that will help you make the most of your stay.

We love the island and Mainstay so much, we've invited friends to join us who have quickly come to share our affinity for both.

We highly recommend Mainstay (but don't take our weeks!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing