We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Nearby Hotels
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Inn La Galleria(St. John's)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dickenson Bay Cottages(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
US$331
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,175
Jumby Bay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveller rating
481
478
186
80
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
478
186
80
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden beachclothing optional beachnude beachsea grapes beachgarden bungalowsuperior sea viewfourth beachtamarind treeair conditioningbeachfront clubrex resortsmain beachceiling fanlaid backsugar millbeach barrepeat guests
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is probably one of the hardest reviews I have ever written. We have just had a great stay at Hawksbill with its amazing beaches and quiet charm but it is true to say the resort could be so much more. I'm not being harsh when I say the place could benefit from a little TLC but if you are in the right mind set the 'shabby chic' has a certain charm. We were kindly upgraded to their newly refurbished beach bungalows which are large and a hop,skip and a jump from the beach and sea. They have good air con and are clean but you would be stretching it to call them luxury. They are tended to every day and kept very clean indeed.
The staff are very helpful and the friendly atmosphere purveys the resort. Food is plentiful and on the whole good. Drinks are as you would expect heavily rum based but a very good selection of alternatives exist and the draft beer is good (they need to handle the change over of the two bars better).Breakfast and evening meals are served in the top dining area which is spacious the lunch area near the beach does suffer from a large number of flies that really do hinder the dining experience there.
A large negative was the lack of water sports, they are available at the Halcyon resort but you need to fund your own transport there. I don't think it's too much to ask for a kayak or two particularly when it was advertised in the brochure
All in all we had a great trip and would like to thank the staff for their hospitality and kindness As I write this review Antigua is being ravaged by hurricane Irma and I would like to offer my best wishes to the people we met and the other islanders and I hope everyone is safe and well and the island recovers soon from this epic storm..

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HolidaysCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with our comfy bungalow type accommodations only a few steps from the beach; our food & beverage selection and the genuinely friendliness and efficiency of our service team.
We re pleased to mention that our water sports outlet is back in full operation as of today, Sept. 25th.
Your mentioned concerns in regards to the changing over of bars and the flies are noted. The past fly plaque is no longer an issue
Thank you once again for the feedback and certainly hope to see you again on a return trip to Hawksbill in the near future.

Sincerely,

John St. Luce
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Perfect week! My husband and I took our first trip alone in many years together and had an amazing week! Our room was absolutely perfect, the food was delicious, and the beach was perfect! The food was fresh with a selection of choices throughout the week. I loved the yogurt. the nice waitress even took the time to find out the brand of the yogurt. It is from an Antigua dairy, so I doubt I will find it at home, but it was very nice of them to take the time to find out!
To my surprise, I loved the nude beach. However, it was a slow season and only a few people were on the nude beach. I am not sure if I would have been as comfortable if the beach was crowded.
The resort is an older resort, but it is clean with fresh food and a great beach!!! If you are a beach lover like I am , this is the resort for you. I also liked how quiet it is there-great place to relax. There is no nightly entertainment.
My only disappointment of the week, was the week we were there, there was some rain and cloudy days. I wanted to see the sunset over the water, but it did not happen! All of the locals told us that that weather was not typical. Also, not sure if it is cicadas or crickets that make lots of noise at night. I got used to it after a couple of days.
I would love to go again and I will be back to the Hawksbill!

Room Tip: ask for a room by the nude beach
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Sunsetbaby418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our bungalow type accommodations, our four beaches, our tasty cuisine and the genuinely friendliness and efficiency of our service team.
Hawksbill's secluded and peaceful location allows one to easily relax and rejuvenate in the warm Caribbean sunshine. A great 'trip' indeed.
Thank you again for the feedback and we certainly look forward to your return visit in the near future for another memorable experience.

Sincerely,

John St. Luce
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

My honeymoon was amazing my self and husband had a great fun exciting night my 4 th trip to Antigua and the best one I love the food the beach the bartender was amazing he the chef was kind the waitress was working none stop well organized and run

Room Tip: A tv would be nice
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Twills33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor.
We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed spending your honeymoon with us, our food, the overall ambience of the Resort and the genuinely friendliness of our service team.
Please consider a return visit in the near future, allowing us another opportunity of making your vacation once again memorable.

Sincerely

John St. Luce
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The physical location is perfect and fits with the quiet atmosphere of the hotel; it is unique in the island by having four separate beaches and the hills behind the hotel are forested so you have none of the usual hotel/city clutter experienced in other resort areas in the Caribbean. There were a few problems with flies that had us shooing off flies from landing on plates and glasses - a by-product of open air restaurant zones; there were also three persistent cats, the kitten even jumping onto our seats in an effort to be fed - I believe they have been collected for adoption by a shelter? There was an odd incident where a yardman walked through the beach restaurant with a gas powered leaf blower cleaning under tables which was not only an assault on the ears but the nose - surely he could sweep areas when guests are present? The heavy chlorination meant that there was an advisory against drinking water from the taps, but if we wanted water we had to pay $3.50 US a bottle - surely the hotel could provide at least one large bottle of water free per day per room? There were real gems amongst the staff - bartenders Millie and David, and server Jesse in particular. I would have loved more local foods each night rather than just one Antigua night. In a 7 night stay there were only 2 nights of music entertainment with dinner, but the Halcyon steel band was excellent. Get used to Antigua time - breakfast starts at 7:30, but the egg-cooking station was rarely ready before 8; likewise lunch at the beach - it was regularly half an hour after opening before the grill was ready to serve. Most of these are minor complaints - we were on the first beach and the snorkelling here was superb over a healthy reef. The rooms are great and the bathroom was huge with separate tub and shower and even a bidet. If you are in search of a quiet holiday then Hawksbill is for you - it really is a hotel from yesteryear with no loud music, roaring watercraft, persistent beach vendors, and noisy drunks. Rumour has it that they are also moving to adults only, so the children will disappear too. It is certainly a hotel that gets repeat clients - almost all of the couples we met were returnees... I suspect we will return soon too!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Cove and Seagrape beach villas give best view and beach access
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bruggadung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience /review on trip advisor.
We are pleased that your overall experience at Hawksbill was satisfactory and have taken note of your particular concerns such as the flies, cats, leaf blower, meals starting on time, more local food etc.
Unfortunately, at this particular time of the year, there are usually more flies than normal. However, at present, I am happy to report that both restaurants (main & beach restaurants) have the latest electronic fly trapping/catching devices (two per rest.) and they seem to be quite working well so far.
Two of the cats which were usually in the dining area were taken away from the Resort by the animal shelter.
Any amount of water by the glass can be given, however the bottled water is sold at a nominal fee of $3.
In regards, to having more local food available, by this Thursday and ongoing, we will introduce a local dish for lunch at Sea Grapes.
Your praises for Milli, David and Jesse are greatly appreciated and will be shared with them and the team.

Thank you again for the feedback and we certainly look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

John St. Luce
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This was our 4th stay in Antigua (the first at a very upmarket, very expensive, very wonderful hotel and the other two 'self-catering'). We travel extensively in the Caribbean and elsewhere, both long and short haul.

The location of Hawksbill in terms of the resort's beaches, could not be better. Of the four, we used 'Eden' most frequently during our fortnight's stay. This (the only naturist beach) was always quiet, with rarely as many as 10 people using it at any one time. At low tide, there are rock pools here with very small fish to see and if you are careful, you can get beyond the rocks and find some attractive tropical fish in the deeper waters. The safest place to swim from this beach is at start of it, where there is sand going into the sea. All the other beaches are sandy, safe and easily accessible. A downside to Eden beach, is that there is little shelter from the sun, as palm trees and palm covered shelters that were lost to a hurricane a few years back, have still not been replaced.There are sun loungers available on all the beaches (or beside them, such as outside our room).

Our accommodation was in one of the Royal Palm Beach 'club' rooms, steps away from the first beach. The bedroom looked very 'tired' with very old fashioned 'trellis' panelling as headboards, with an old and tired looking wardrobe, dressing table and chest of drawers in a reasonably spacious room, that could look so much better with a bit of money spent on it. The bed however, was really large and the air conditioning both efficient and quiet. Electricity sockets (two 'flat' pin) 'American' style were too few and 'held' plugs poorly. The bathroom however was very spacious, the shower powerful and efficient, the separate bath deep and roomy and the double basin was very useful. This room looked very nice and had clearly been recently refurbished. The rooms were kept very clean during our stay with toiletries (which were of a good quality), replenished when necessary.

'Entertainment' was occasional and unremarkable, except perhaps for the steel drum band, (who were very good) on the weekly 'barbecue' night, held in the beach bar area. Somewhat 'random' music was on in the background of the reception area (where wi-fi was available). Unfortunately, this appeared to be a favourite place for mosquitos to congregate during our visit, so the area was not as well used in the evening as it might be. This would not be a good hotel to stay at if you like to dance. Fellow guests were generally very friendly and interestingly, coming from a wide variety of (mostly British) backgrounds.

The food we found to be quite varied, plentiful and tasty, always presented in 'buffet' style. Breakfasts were good and it was nice to be able to have omelettes and other egg dishes cooked to order. A range of cereals were always available but not always consistent, so if you have a 'favourite' it may or may not be there (this was also true for juice drinks (we really liked the ginger juice when it was around). Coffee was very good. At mealtimes, service was variable, the majority of the staff were genuinely very keen to be friendly and helpful. In particular, Jereem was always friendly, helpful, thoughtful, anticipating guest's needs, seeing things that needed doing and then doing them and Jesse was always friendly, efficient and keen to please and these guys deserve particular recognition. The restaurant manager at the time we were staying here however, appeared aloof or arrogant, unable to communicate helpfully with his staff or to notice the obvious needs of his guests. He was however able to refill water glasses.

The 'all inclusive' drinks included good local beers (we rather liked the 'Wadadli') a red, a rose and a white wine (not great quality) and a fairly narrow range of spirits and mixers. Cocktails varied from 'very good' to 'poor' depending on who was making them.

The 'watersports centre' was occasionally staffed and would be open at varying and apparently random times. If not staffed, it would usually be possible, when we were staying at the resort, to just pick up the towels or equipment you needed (fins and snorkles for instance) and return them later.

We did not use the spa (though I will usually have a massage when staying where it is available) due to the fact that the person who I spoke to there was vague about the period of time that the massage would last and the cost seemed too high, given the (poor) quality of the environment. Opening times appeared to be somewhat 'hit and miss' but probably bookable.

There is a pleasant little souvenir/boutique shop on the premises.

Taxis are readily available to get you into town (about half an hour away).

There's a great guy who comes to the beach area near the bar (whose name i'm afraid I forget) who can arrange reasonably priced excursions - we went on the Barbuda trip, which was great!

If you are looking for a luxurious environment with extensive facilities, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a laid back, easygoing place with good food, lovely beaches a peaceful ambiance and (generally) very friendly and helpful staff, you may have found exactly what you are looking for at Hawksbill.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your detailed vacation review on trip advisor.
We are pleased that your overall vacation experience at Hawksbill was indeed an enjoyable one based on your detailed review.
Eden beach is indeed a special clothing optional beach (only one in Antigua) which is the main attraction for the majority of our repeat clientele. Thatched shelters were redone a few weeks ago so the overall shade at this beach has improved.
In regards to the friendliness and efficiency of our service staff, namely Jareem and Jessie, thank you for the recognition and they will be commended.
Our Housekeeping team is quite thorough with room cleaning and replenishing etc.
Chef and his team strives to please all palates and does a great job providing a good variety and quality of meals.
Thank you once again for the positive feedback and we certainly look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

John St. Luce
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews