We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday very relaxing cant wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Almeria, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday very relaxing cant wait to go back”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We booked a last minute Virign Hot Deal to stay all inclusive at this resort. Having read some of the reviews we were not expecting too much from the hotel. However we could not have been more pleasantly surprisd. The staff are fantastic starting with an amzing welcome and immediate upgrade without asking to a better room than we had booked. The beach is beautiful and right next door to Sandals. Cant praise th staff enough, food was excellent and we found it very good value for money. The pier restaurat was excellent. If you are looking for a holiday to get away from it all and relax this would be hard to beat. The hotel was a little tired but it is evident that works are being carried out to refurbish and upgrade without disruption to the resident guests.We wanto go back asap. I think one of the best recommendations the resort can have is that lots of guests were repeat clients (my partner met a family that have been going back there for over 30 years for 3 months at a time and they are multi millionaires). Dont expect 5 star you get what you pay for but this resort is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    785
    364
    183
    136
See reviews for
416
976
71
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We had a brilliant holiday at Halcyon Cove.

+
Managers rum punch party at 5.30pm on a tuesday - go and have some complimentary cocktails, have a go on a steelpan and have gorgeous spicy meat balls!
Best beach in the world right outside your door (very little seaweed, gentle waves, loads of sunbeds & umbrellas, clean beach, polite vendors, fab pelicans)
Really pleasant, friendly staff (Fenton carried our bags to our room when he didn't need to, Toy-Anne upgraded us, Magretta was as upset as we were when they ran out of cheeseburgers at the bar)
Cute little birds on the balcony and peeping tree frogs at night, and naughty crabs coming out of their holes in the garden in the evening
Had booked a standard room but were upgraded to lovely poolside room - flatscreen TV, good air con, fridge, coffee machine, large, bright, airy, balcony, clean
Great housekeeping - fluffy towels changed every day
Really comfy king size bed with decent cotton sheets
No mosquito bites - we saw a few (only one in our room when we arrived), and a MILLION in the bookcase in the reps area, but with careful application of Boots 50% DEET I was ok!
Activities eg table tennis, aquarobics, unadvertised gym (2 rowers, 2 cycles, 2 running machines - with air con) - sadly pool dive cancelled


-
Food and drink very expensive at hotel and most places (eg £3 for a beer - not even a pint; £50 for a so-so buffet meal for 2 at Arawak Terrace with house bottle of wine; £30
for a buffet for 2 at the Carib Beach Bar with no drink)
Standard rooms (we used one on our last day as a hospitality room) looked horrid - loud air con, no fridge, no coffee maker, dilapidated decor, no bath, poor view - I think this must be why some websites class it as a 2 star - other than these rooms its definitely a decent 3 star hotel
Not a hotel issue, but there is not much to do in the evenings in the local area other than a drink at Putters Bar or a really expensive meal in the few local restaurants. If I went back, I would get a taxi to StJohns for a few evenings I think

Notes on eating!:
If you are room only (worked out cheaper and more interesting than all inclusive), we found other local places to eat - sadly not much local cuisine to try - than the dear onsite Wari Pier, Arawak Terrace & Carib Beach Bar:

1 Supermarket - 30 min walk - stock up on bread, wadadli and exciting local foods like pepper pot and salt fish
2 Putters Bar - 15 min walk - £10 for a large pizza; £8 for chicken and chips - not sure if its open for lunch
3 Tonys Bar - 2 min walk - £10 for chicken/fish and chips - but closed in the evenings
4 Fish and Chippy Bar Wed and Fri 4pm to 9pm - 15 min walk - £30 for meal for 2 of fish or pie and chips with bottle of wine. Harrassed woman; not much fun. Get there early as interesting stuff sells out and waiting times are long.
5 Coconut Grove - 15 min walk - £80 for meal for 2 with wine - we only had happy hour scrummy 'PainKiller' cocktails here but it looked really great - super spot
6 La Bussola - 30 min walk - £100 for meal for 2 with wine - BEST meal we've had in years - we went twice! Gorgeous Italian food with lots of seafood. And there are puppies
next door that come in during lunch :) Note: dont try and walk there all along the beach like we did - you have to turn inland after coconut grove
7 Casino does "finger food" but didnt try it I'm afraid! (but we did enjoy the extremely cheap beer/wine on Thursday's Ladies Night)
8 The fruit seller out the back of a car woman on the beach - 15 min walk - dont let her overcharge you!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Perfect location, excellent friendly staff, wonderful views - what more can I say? Yes, its not the Ritz but excellent value for money. Would definately love to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO-rexresorts, CEO, Rex Resorts at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you for choosing Halcyon Cove by rex resorts and for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The Halcyon was built in the 70's and looks it. But, it is clean, comfortable and functional. They are on one of the best beaches in Antigua. The food is at least average, and diverse, especially at dinner. We were all inclusive so we ate most of our meals there. It is the staff that is their strong point. Friendly, courteous, helpful. Our sink drain was fixed the same day it stopped. They have a concierge in the lobby to plan outings. If you need to hire a cab- Cartwright Grayman @ 783-8636. He showed us and another couple the island for six hours @ a very affordable price. Stay off of the Wadadli day sail. It's a party boat full of drunks. You snorkel less than an hour. The snorkel is in a group so people are running into you all the time and you have to wear a flotation vest! It was also a poor sight, nothing to see. The water is nice though in Antigua and a lovely island. We would return.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jkentx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

As soon as we got in, we notice the staff going the extra way to serve us and to make sure we had a smile on our face. This hotel complex was clean, the food was excellent and the staff was simply amazing. To be honest, the rooms would benefit with some renovations but in the end they are very clean and serve extremely well there purpose. When we arrived we were given a room with 2 single beds and in a New York minute we were shown 2 other rooms ( one that had been renovated and another one which was very good (especially it's location right in front of the beach). You guess it, we choose the location and were thrilled falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves on the beach every night .

The food was simply excellent and the staff could give lessons to 5 star hotels employees on the way it should be done! Actually this country is simply beautiful with it's amazing beaches and charming locals!

A special thanks to Toy-Anne (lobby reception) and Laura (guest services) you girls help to make this week most memorable.

Will definitely go back and spend time at the Halcyon within the next year with our children.

Thanks again Halcyon

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coty137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO-rexresorts, CEO, Rex Resorts at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
It is really a pelasure to read reviews as yours. Delighted that you will be returning, we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.6 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
11.7 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
7.5 km away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
396 reviews
17.9 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
18.4 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price range (per night): RM630 - RM1,083
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing