We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Catamaran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My family and I go to Antigua regularly and have stayed at several hotels in Antigua, but I can honestly say that my stay at Catamaran was the most relaxing, and wonderful hotel on the island that I have been to thus far. As many have said, the staff is absolutely amazing. They really will do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. I stayed in the Captain's Cabin and it was wonderful. My room was very nice, overlooking the pool on the left and it had the most amazing ocean view in front as well. I went to bed every night listening to the relaxing sound of the ocean right outside. One thing that makes Catamaran stand out is that ALL of the rooms have incredible ocean views. There are a variety of room types (and they are all very nice), so you just have to choose the room that will suite your needs best.
The hotel is located walking distance from Sweet-T's Ice Cream and Snack shop and this is one of my favorite places in English Harbor to get lunch (and ice cream of course!). Bailey's Grocery Store is also within walking distance and you can get pretty much everything you need from there. All of the rooms have kitchens so you can save a lot of money by cooking breakfast in your room.
I am already looking forward to my next trip to Antigua and we will be staying at Catamaran again at that time. If you are looking for a place where you can get some serious rest and relaxation in an absolutely gorgeous Caribbean paradise, then I would HIGHLY recommend Catamaran.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for The Catamaran Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

I just returned from a week in Antigua and really enjoyed my stay. The Catamaran Hotel is a very relaxing and quiet place to spend your vacation if you want to get away from it all. It is pretty basic as far as amenities go, but Feona and her staff will attend to any request you have promptly. My wife celebrated her birthday while we were there and I emailed a couple of weeks in advance to see about getting a cake made. It was perfect and the birthday went off without a hitch! If you want to take excursions or tours, the hotel has plenty to choose from and will arrange it all for you. They have a taxi service available for your convenience as well.
I should note that the restaurant is closed in summer, but there is a nearby supermarket and a little fast food shack within walking distance. If you are going to Antigua for the first time I would suggest a stay closer to the capital as most excursions are in and around that area, but if you just want to relax and already know the island, then the Catamaran is a nice place for you.
The only drawback from our stay was that little ants got into our room a few times. It's the tropics so fighting insects is a constant battle, but they were easily taken care of.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story room so you won't have any problems with ants or other things wandering i...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emale73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you want onsite bars and retaurants, gym and spa, this is not the place for you. If however, you want to relax in complete peace and quiet sitting on your own private beach, then the Catamaran is a must.

Feona and her team are fantasitc- nothing is too much for them. We stayed in the 'presidential suite' - the room facilties are relatively basic but perfectly adequate and it was always spotlessly clean after room service. All rooms have cable tv and free wireless, as well as cooker, fridge and freezer. The presidential suite had a bath whereas, I think, most of the other rooms had showers only.

The small private beach is kept very clean and there are kayaks and sailing boats for the use of clients. It is backed a small but beautifllu kept garden.

There is a small supermarket about 2 minutes walk from the hotels, but all the restaurants and bars are a short taxi or bus trip away in Enlish Harbour ( EC$20 for the taxi and EC$2.75 for the bus). The one mistake we made was coming in the low season, and onlu 3 of the 30+ restaurants in English Harbour were open.

A delight was the humming bird we saw every day as well as the pelicans diving for fish off of the beach.

Room Tip: The mosquitos at night are varacious- make sure you have a deet spray.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irg141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We recently returned from an amazing stay at The Catamaran Hotel. We read all reviews before making our choice and with the exception of a few everyone is right. No, the boats aren't falling apart, and there aren't pieces of wood holding the refrigirator closed, and who really cares what angle you can watch tv from anyway? You're on Vacation!!!
The flight into Antigua was great. Airport is very organized. When we drove in to the hotel the first thing you see is the most beautiful shades of blue right at your doorstep. Feona greeted us us very warmly and made us feel right at home. We were shown to our room and the decorations are simple and very islandish. There is a kitchenette available stocked with the basics, plates, utensils, frying pans and pots. wine and bottle openers all you need to make basic meals.
And then there's the view.....Oh the view!!! We were ocean front and we could see the turquoise waters and actually hear the gentle waves from our room.
This is the perfect place for relaxing and recharging your batteries. Whenever we went to the beach we were by ourselves...you can close your eyes and sleep to the sounds of the waves and birds. Very relaxing. For lunch we walked across the street to Sweet T's. They sell burgers and fries. At night we took a cab and went to English harbor. They have pretty good restaurants. The next day we took the bus down to redcliff square for some duty free shopping (take your passport to recive the discount).
Everyone here is so friendly it's so refreshing. We do recommend renting a car because there is so much more to see.
This place is not for partying...It is very tranquil and secluded. This place is for relaxing, taking it easy and disconnecting from the hectic life. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Anything ocean front.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hunnybabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the Catamaran 2/26 to 3/5 and found the owner, Fiona, and her staff to be wonderful! The room was nice, although the kitchen wasn't as equipped as we would have liked ,but when we requested items they got them to us quickly. They were quick to help us with getting around, places to eat and sharing information on the island.
Although we had a car, you could get around easily using the bus service on the island.
It's a very small beach but had plenty of seating.
It's a secluded area so if you are into partying this is not the place for you. It's quiet and peaceful!

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which I felt was better as it gave you a better view and you didn't have...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleLynn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.7 km away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
17.3 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
9.9 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
16.8 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
16.5 km away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 21 in St. John's
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Catamaran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catamaran Hotel

Address: Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: RM521 - RM1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Catamaran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Catamaran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catamaran Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing