We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Catamaran Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Inn La Galleria(St. John's)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dickenson Bay Cottages(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
US$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,175
Jumby Bay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
85
55
15
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
55
15
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfalmouth harbourenglish harbourcaptain's quarterssmall private beachpigeon beachpresidential suitenelson's dockyardour ground floor roomcooking facilitiessuperior view roomantigua yacht clubexpensive yachtsnice balconiesa lovely small hotelself cateringbasic facilitieslarge fridge
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I just returned from a week in Antigua and really enjoyed my stay. The Catamaran Hotel is a very relaxing and quiet place to spend your vacation if you want to get away from it all. It is pretty basic as far as amenities go, but Feona and her staff will attend to any request you have promptly. My wife celebrated her birthday while we were there and I emailed a couple of weeks in advance to see about getting a cake made. It was perfect and the birthday went off without a hitch! If you want to take excursions or tours, the hotel has plenty to choose from and will arrange it all for you. They have a taxi service available for your convenience as well.
I should note that the restaurant is closed in summer, but there is a nearby supermarket and a little fast food shack within walking distance. If you are going to Antigua for the first time I would suggest a stay closer to the capital as most excursions are in and around that area, but if you just want to relax and already know the island, then the Catamaran is a nice place for you.
The only drawback from our stay was that little ants got into our room a few times. It's the tropics so fighting insects is a constant battle, but they were easily taken care of.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story room so you won't have any problems with ants or other things wandering into your room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emale73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you want onsite bars and retaurants, gym and spa, this is not the place for you. If however, you want to relax in complete peace and quiet sitting on your own private beach, then the Catamaran is a must.

Feona and her team are fantasitc- nothing is too much for them. We stayed in the 'presidential suite' - the room facilties are relatively basic but perfectly adequate and it was always spotlessly clean after room service. All rooms have cable tv and free wireless, as well as cooker, fridge and freezer. The presidential suite had a bath whereas, I think, most of the other rooms had showers only.

The small private beach is kept very clean and there are kayaks and sailing boats for the use of clients. It is backed a small but beautifllu kept garden.

There is a small supermarket about 2 minutes walk from the hotels, but all the restaurants and bars are a short taxi or bus trip away in Enlish Harbour ( EC$20 for the taxi and EC$2.75 for the bus). The one mistake we made was coming in the low season, and onlu 3 of the 30+ restaurants in English Harbour were open.

A delight was the humming bird we saw every day as well as the pelicans diving for fish off of the beach.

Room Tip: The mosquitos at night are varacious- make sure you have a deet spray.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irg141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We recently returned from an amazing stay at The Catamaran Hotel. We read all reviews before making our choice and with the exception of a few everyone is right. No, the boats aren't falling apart, and there aren't pieces of wood holding the refrigirator closed, and who really cares what angle you can watch tv from anyway? You're on Vacation!!!
The flight into Antigua was great. Airport is very organized. When we drove in to the hotel the first thing you see is the most beautiful shades of blue right at your doorstep. Feona greeted us us very warmly and made us feel right at home. We were shown to our room and the decorations are simple and very islandish. There is a kitchenette available stocked with the basics, plates, utensils, frying pans and pots. wine and bottle openers all you need to make basic meals.
And then there's the view.....Oh the view!!! We were ocean front and we could see the turquoise waters and actually hear the gentle waves from our room.
This is the perfect place for relaxing and recharging your batteries. Whenever we went to the beach we were by ourselves...you can close your eyes and sleep to the sounds of the waves and birds. Very relaxing. For lunch we walked across the street to Sweet T's. They sell burgers and fries. At night we took a cab and went to English harbor. They have pretty good restaurants. The next day we took the bus down to redcliff square for some duty free shopping (take your passport to recive the discount).
Everyone here is so friendly it's so refreshing. We do recommend renting a car because there is so much more to see.
This place is not for partying...It is very tranquil and secluded. This place is for relaxing, taking it easy and disconnecting from the hectic life. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Anything ocean front.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hunnybabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the Catamaran 2/26 to 3/5 and found the owner, Fiona, and her staff to be wonderful! The room was nice, although the kitchen wasn't as equipped as we would have liked ,but when we requested items they got them to us quickly. They were quick to help us with getting around, places to eat and sharing information on the island.
Although we had a car, you could get around easily using the bus service on the island.
It's a very small beach but had plenty of seating.
It's a secluded area so if you are into partying this is not the place for you. It's quiet and peaceful!

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which I felt was better as it gave you a better view and you didn't have people walking right by the room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleLynn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed nine nights at Catamaran and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our visit. The weather was perfect and consistent, the hotel beach uncrowded, and the water clear and clean. Falmouth Harbour provided constant interest with ever-changing vessels (from kayaks and catamarans to yachts of all sizes and even a five-masted cruise ship!) to watch, as well as the natural seascape. We enjoyed sightseeing: Nelson's Dockyard especially warrants repeated visits, but Shirley Heights and Harmony Hall were also highlights. Feona went out of her way to accommodate our needs, always responding helpfully to our queries and even picking us up at Bailey's market when we needed help with groceries. The hotel staff is professional, yet friendly. This boutique hotel is nearly perfect if you are seeking a quiet and restful getaway.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the beach with a veranda.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happytravellers46654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews