We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Personal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Catamaran Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2017

It was our hope to avoid the big impersonal All Inclusive Resorts of Antigua during our stay. After an exhaustive search I discovered the Catamaran. I can save you so much time. If what you are looking for is a family owned and operated small, quiet place right on the beach, this is it. Otherwise, keep looking. The adjacent restaurant filled in where the full kitchen in the room did not. I can put together an easy breakfast with a cup of coffee in the morning and snacks and lunch type items are easy but, I don't cook dinners while on vacation! A store is within easy walking distance to stock that kitchen and it is a local authentic experience all it's own. We stayed in the Presidential Suite which is huge! I loved being able to leave the curtains open, view the water from the bed, with no one seeing in or walking by. The deck overlooking the beach and the bay was wonderful. The water is a little cloudy so far in to the bay but absolutely worth an easy, refreshing and relaxing float. We did not rent a car since we have been to the island before but ask in the office because if you can snag the family member with a boat you are in for a fantastic tour of the harbor! Worth every penny. I caught the "Bus/Van" across the street from the Hotel to Nelson's Dockyard for access to a Bank and to do a little shopping. The best $1 US that I spent. Nothing fancy here. Basic, friendly and real. Slow down because nothing moves quickly here. Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for The Catamaran Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

A great place to stay. The rooms were very clean. We had rooms eight and nine right on the beach. Colin and all of the staff are wonderful. The food in the restaurant was excellent and we had uncle Jerry drive us around each day to where we want to go. Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimberwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

The Pros:
Beautiful View

The Cons:
Apathetic Staff
Rooms from 1970's
Water out front very cloudy- suspect bilge from marina a big issue- 100 m down the beach - water clear- hmmm
Wifi- very poor very intermittent
Restaurant- opens closer to 9am took 90mins for poached egg- waitress lovely but thats a long time for eggs lol

Overall not sure how this could get. 4 star rating... I have been reviewing on TA for over 10 years- this place ok- but holey moley not a 4 star

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank nolanbolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We needed to provision our boat, and chose the Catamaran purely on proximity to a local grocer. Happily surprised to find a wonderful staff and a sound night's sleep. Woke up to coffee on the balcony and a nice harbour view.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shawnmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We extended our 2 week stay in Antigua with a 3 night stay in the Catamaran. The views from the balconies were beautiful, so peaceful in this typically Antiguan hotel. The situation was perfect for visits to Falmouth Harbour, English Harbour and Nelson Dockyard.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank colinhurst263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilAntigua, Director of Sales at The Catamaran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear Colin,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Catamaran Hotel. We are so glad you appreciated your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.7 km away
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort
17.3 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
9.9 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
16.8 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
16.5 km away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 21 in St. John's
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Catamaran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catamaran Hotel

Address: Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: RM521 - RM1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Catamaran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Catamaran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catamaran Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing