We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb service and fantastic cooking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The property is in great location with views of the ocean and the sunset and you call walk to the beach in 10-15 minutes. You can also get to the main road within a few minutes to pick up a bus or taxi to go further afield. However, there are two things that make this an outstanding hotel: the service and the food.
Nothing is too much trouble for Jackie and her team (especially Ryan). Jackie arranged a boat trip around the island for us and also a taxi tour. Ryan took us to Shirley Heights for the traditional Sunday evening event and brought us home again (but at his insistence only when we were ready to leave - not at a fixed time).
The food is some of the best that I have tasted: a varied cuisine, beautifully prepared and presented with the kitchen door open if you want to see how it is done. It really is like dining at a different high quality restaurant each evening, but with a tremendous warmth and friendliness.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe standard room (#3 specifically) which has the advantage of opening onto the the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were very impressed with the reviews on Trip Advisor for the Villas at Sunset Lane, and decided to book a trip for our anniversary and my birthday in February. From the moment we arrived, it was apparent that we couldn't have made a better choice. The views are absolutely spectacular, and the layout of the property takes full advantage of that. Our room was beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. To say that Jackie spoiled us is an understatement. Her cooking really is that fantastic. She accommodates your preferences while introducing you to delicious local cuisine. Having flexibility with dining times, we were never on a schedule. There were so many touches that made our visit very special. Jackie went out of her way to make sure that our stay was incredible. We made her curry chicken the other day and were reminded of our romantic dinners on the patio!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My boyfriend and I showed up on Jackie's doorstep after having made a huge mistake on our choice of accommodation.... we literally ran out of that establishment and made our way just a few minutes up the road to Villas at Sunset Lane. The ocean provides a beautiful backdrop for the Villa, when you walk into the foyer all that blue ocean just pulls you out to the patio. Jackie, owner and chef is truly amazing and she's got great people to support her... Ms. Thomas and Ryan. On that first day she offered us lunch.... to relax and forget our initial bad start to our vacation and well.... her fishcakes did just that! We spent four nights in the standard room by the pool. Great pieces of furniture, fantastic bathroom, lovely crisp sheets, huge soft beach towels, robes ..... everything you need to be comfortable and not to mention....the entire place is absolutely spotless. Her breakfast was fantastic, when I asked for oatmeal instead of my boyfriend's eggs and bacon ... I got the best oatmeal I've ever had.... with hints of bayleaf, nutmeg and cinnamon ... unforgettable. On our last day she treated us to Guyanese "floats" and saltfish ... you've got to sample!The location of the Villa lends itself to easy access from the airport and to the rest of the island ... But a car rental is a must. We got a peak into some of the more luxurious rooms... wow! Lovely paintings, tastefully decorated and spacious. If you make it to Antigua you've got to go to Harmony Hall, the food at the Italian Restaurant is just a treat to your tastebuds! with a killer view to accompany your meal and if in Town... CC's winebar is a great place to visit...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Having been let down by Liat, we found ourselves needing to find overnight accomodation at short notice. Never having been to Antigua before we relied on a fellow travellers recommendation. We were welcomed late at night with offers of hot food and drink, the owner of the property (Jacqui) cooking up a fish meal for my husband which he highly praised. The bedroom was very well equipped and was delightful. We snatched a few hours good sleep, getting up to meet the taxi for 0330. To our amazement the owner got up especially and made us coffee and toast, wonderful lady! Sheree & Pete

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at The Villas at Sunset Lane on our vacation to Antigua. We could not have picked a more relaxing and accomodating place to stay.
We were first greeted by a breathtaking view of the island upon entry to the lobby and then Jackie emerged smiling ear to ear from the kitchen. She immediately offered us some ice-cold rum punch. She said she knew that we would be hungry after all the traveling and told us our lunch was ready when we were. After a tour of our room by Ryan, we went back to enjoy our lunch.
I am a picky eater and a vegetarian and my boyfriend will eat anything and is very carnivorous. Somehow, Jackie managed to pull off this dynamic exquisitely at every meal-time. I cannot express how amazing her cooking is and how much I miss it now that I am home. She had a pot of hot coffee ready every morning and there was always ice-cold water available. There was always rum-punch and wine available to us in the afternoon and evenings.
Jackie is very thorough and so when we weren't always completely prepared, she was! She let us borrow some bugspray to use about the island. (We didn't have too much trouble with bugs, just a few mosquitos) She also let us borrow a travel guide for Antigua as well as a map which proved to be incredibly helpful since we rented a car and wanted to do various activities around the island. She recommended taking a catamaran ride on the "Excellence" which circumnavigated the island. We enjoyed this immensely and Jackie set the whole trip up for us at a much discounted price. She also dropped us off and picked us up!
I highly recommend staying with Jackie at The Villas At Sunset Lane. You won't find a better value for the price or feel as pampered anywhere else.
The island of Antigua is an incredible place to visit. We enjoyed soft white sand beaches, warm sun and ocean, snorkeling, diving, horse-back riding, catamaran cruising and feeding stingrays at Stingray City. Please visit this enchanting place.

***Our favorite beach destination was Half Moon Bay Beach. We enjoyed Smiling Harry's Bar here for lunch as well as drinks for the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
2.1 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,883 reviews
12.4 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,318 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
9.1 km away
Jumby Bay Island
Jumby Bay Island
#1 of 16 in St. John's
635 reviews
0.6 km away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 16 in St. John's
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Address: Sunset Lane | Paradise View, McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: RM1,601 - RM1,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 room boutique hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing