We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a Destination Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently attended a great wedding in Aruba. All of the guests enjoyed their stay at the either the Renaissance Aruba Resort Ocean Suites or the Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino -- both beautiful Marriott resorts located across the street from each other. Wedding guests were also offered a discounted room rate because a room block was set up in advance of the wedding. The uniqueness of this property is that the wedding reception was actually held on a private island for hotel guests and special events. The island is accessible by a short water shuttle which runs every 15 minutes conveniently located in the hotel lobby. The food and beverage at the hotel was excellent and added to the ambiance and uniqueness of this special event. The hotel did a fantastic job in handling the reception and dinner and made this wedding a very memorable event. If anyone is looking for a site for a destination wedding, I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Each hotel has ocean front rooms with beautiful views which add to the the quality and memorability...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,759)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,956 - 2,960 of 4,759 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Before visiting Aruba it was hard to determine where we wanted to be a) Oranjestad b) mid way on Eagle Beach or c) the highrise area with all the night fun. After reading hundreds of reviews we picked this hotel for being in Oranjestad, near everything we wanted (restaurants nearby, shops), with a big plus: private island, no race for a palapa or space on the beach.

After a 7 hour flight delay our first impression of the hotel was a huge relief, what a lovely place! We were dropped from the airport by our taxi driver in the adults tower, which is within the Renaissance Mall, with a bunch of fancy stores, restaurants and a very convenient Starbucks cafe. Check in was nice and quick, rooms with a tropical look, bathrooms could do with an upgrade but nothing terrible. Our room did not have a great view but we just planned to come back there for showers and sleep, no time to waste! The staff is very nice, quick on please our requirements, multilingual to make it even better!

Next day early in the morning, after a fantastic buffet breakfast ( with pretty much every single option you can imagine, including champagne) we headed to take the boat to the beach on the renaissance island, after a few mins journey we arrived to heaven! Gorgeous beach with hamacas, chairs, towels, a spa, restaurant, tennis court...!!!!!! The island has, as many other reviewers had mention, an area adults friendly and a family friendly one, we tried both, Flamingo beach ( adults) bit more rocky but with the beautiful flamingos hanging around the place and more quite , Iguana beach ( family) nicer to swim , both stunning!!!

Aruba is a fantastic island, no matter where you stay is awesome, in our last night we took the bus to Palm beach for a sightseeing, bus was big, clean, cheap and with air conditioner! Never felt insecure, journey was nice and got to see all the hotels i've so much read about it, the area was lovely, with tons of restaurants, shops and even a night show at the Hacienda mall, so much people tho.

Once in the bus to Oranjestad we knew we took the right decesion, although the highrise area is great, what we were looking forward was a nice relaxing holiday, with the option of paying a visit to the busy palm beach whenever we felt like being into the crowd....

Being there, done that? Not in Aruba, we can't wait to return to the Island, beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 24Sabrina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband at I were there during March break. This was our second time staying at this hotel. We stayed at Marina Tower. It is adult only, so we loved that there are no kids running around. The hotel itself needs some true renovations. The management needs to get started on that. The rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff tries to do a good job. However, the bathrooms need renovating. You could see rusty spots in the bathtub, around the door frame where the hardware is. Anyhow, you don't spend much time in the room, so even that I would have loved to see a better maintained bathroom, I didn't mind it much. The bed was very comfortable and that makes a difference to me. The hotel staff is very friendly and they do anything to make you happy. I would like to mention some great people who work there and who they go out of their way to make you happy; Sujeiry, Lina, Betty, Dorothy, Peter, Washington, Geordino, Sidney, Andrey and of course the mangager of the LG SMith's Steakhouse Heidi. We were all Inclusive, but we ate every night at the LG Smith's Steakhouse which is an a la' carte restaurant. Even if you are all inclusive, you can still eat there every night if you like. I love the private beach that this hotel has. What is great is that the waiters come to your lounge and you can order the food and they can bring the food and drinks there if you don't want to eat at the private island's restaurant. All you need is to tip them a little, they work hard and it is hot there. They don't expect tips, they work hard if you give them tips or not, but it feels great when you are appreciated, right? So, a little tip will not hurt you. We tipped everyone from the maid to the waiters. One suggestion, I would want some music in the island or some shows, some kind of entertainment. There is nothing going on at the island, It is very quiet, which is great in one way, but we are used to having some kind of entertainment going on whereever we have gone. It is vacation, so why not have some fun. There is some music that they play in the afternoons and evenings at the Marina Tower, but kind of boring. The managment should think about it. Maybe a show, or some live/disco music, so people can dance. When you go on vacation, you would like to dance or listen to some great singers or see people dance. When we were there in the summer, they had a singer, but boy, she was so boring, and not a good singer. I think the management should go to Cancun to get some ideas. That is why people love the entertainment there. It feels like you are on vacation. Anyway, I would say the overall experience was great ans I would go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

we've been going to Aruba for over 10 years and we stayed at the same hotel each time!We prefer the suites which are oceanfront and equiped with a kitchen,laundry room and located in a quiet area of the city.The hotel has a private island which is a 10min boat ride away and that is paradise! The small beach and natural pool on the hotel property are a bonus.I 've always had a very relaxing stay at this place ,either alone, with my husband or at times with our sons.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a relaxing time either alone or with family.The spa is something that shouldn't be missed!

Room Tip: ask for an oceanfront suite if possible; less noise and more romantic, and try to get a higher floo...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strattera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We re-visited Aruba during the last week of March 2012, staying this time at the Renaissance Aruba Resort, Ocean Suites. The resort is located in downtown Oranjestad, with the Ocean Suites located on a point overlooking the Caribbean sea and the city harbor, and a short (~5 minutes or less) walk to dining, shopping etc., including a recently opened Starbucks right next door! Our 3rd floor Oceanfront Suite was 50 feet from the water, very relaxing. The property is around 25 year old, but has been maintained to a high standard. Only (minor) downside is that the bedroom does not have a view outside, we prefer a view/the sounds of the ocean when we can get one.

Our favorite aspect of the Renaissance is Renaissance Island ("RI"), a private island for hotel guests, that is a short (<10 minutes) water shuttle ride from the hotel. Water shuttles run approx. every 15 minutes from 7-7. RI is peaceful and offers a very relaxing atmosphere with a good restaurant and polite beachside service. Only substantive recommendation for the island would be the provision of more Palapas for shade, . if you need to escape the sun for a while, the restaurant and bar offer shade, along with cold drinks and nice selection of food and snacks.

Room Tip: Oceanfront/oceanview rooms are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERACINGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
6.6 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,893 reviews
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,181 reviews
5.3 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,544 reviews
2.7 km away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#3 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,827 reviews
3.7 km away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range: RM822 - RM2,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing