We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tropical Digs(Oranjestad)
US$180
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wonders Boutique Hotel(Oranjestad)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bubali Villa & Apartments(Oranjestad)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juanedu Suites(Oranjestad)(Great Value!)
US$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
A1 Apartments Aruba(Oranjestad)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camacuri Apartments Aruba(Oranjestad)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$630
US$504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,522)
Filter reviews
5,522 results
Traveller rating
2,601
1,856
636
243
186
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,601
1,856
636
243
186
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandmarina sideblue barboat ridewater taxipink flamingosfamily beachadult beachocean suitelg steakhouseisland viewseafood buffetdutch pancake househappy hourmovie theaterpalm beachque pasa
Filter
Updating list...
4,354 - 4,359 of 5,522 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2007

just spend a week at the Ocean Suites side. Our suite had a great pool/ocean view. it was large enough for our family of 2 adults + 2 toddlers who shared the fold out sofa. Having a kitchenette was great (coffee maker/toaster/fridge etc). The hotel and the property were VERY clean. the staff was helpful and friendly. The location offered a lot of distractions for our toddlers...

This property has improved tremendously since its Sonesta days.
All Sonesta based reviews should be ignored. Non ocean front rooms do have views of either parking lot... The food at the hotel is decent but very expensive. The plaza offers a better selection...

questions? email paspar22 -at- gmail.com

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

We stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort, do not mistake with the Marina Resort. The Marina is adults only and is located above a shopping mall as well as a casino. We loved the resort. Our room was of good size and very clean. The food was good but very expensive. The private island was very nice also. Try not to buy from the surf shop, forgot the sunscreen one day and had to purchase it there, $ 21.00 US for a small bottle. Anyway, I highly suggest this resort. We were treated great by the staff and really enjoyed our stay in Aruba.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank momoftwoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

Let me set the record straight! What a great place to stay for adults. Stayed on the marina side 2/18-2/25.Enjoyed the infinity type pool..overloking the marina..straight across from cruise ships. From my perch on the pool step, with my book..all i saw was beautiful sea and sky. It was clean,relaxing,comfortable and i loved every minute of it.
The island is so relxing..was too nervous about the flamingos to stay on the adult side. The "family" side was not crowded.peaceful.hammocks to lay on.clean,comfortable restaurant,bathrooms..enjoyed the squwking of parrots in cages. The planes were not a problem.
Room were small..quiet(6th floor),clean,bed very comfortable.
Concierge very helpful..One day there were not enough chaises at the pool..concierge ordered 10 more to be brought over from the island..no problem!
this is clearly a marriott property..same high standards and quality. Staff was nothing but friendly.And i forgot to mention that i felt safe AT ALL TIMES. Security guard posted by steps leading to pool.
Will definetly stay here again......I have nothing negative to report!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sharimsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Stayed here in 2001 when it was called the Sonesta Marina resort. It was in average condition, a block off the ocean, and was uncomfortable/creepy enough that I piled furniture up in front of the door the one night we were there as a security precaution.

My wife woke up screaming in the middle of the night with some kind of apparition apparently standing next to her. We stayed up all night with the lights on, left the next day and will never return there or to Aruba.

Haunted? I don't know, but she has never seen things like that before or after.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank occasionalnon-revver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

If you're going to Aruba for a quiet beach vacation, think twice betore you stay here. The hotel is in the city, not on the beach. There are no good views -- you're either overlooking a bustling street or a bustling harbor. Although we asked for a quiet room there was no such thing -- you can clearly hear people living it up at the bar from many of the rooms, and the sounds of the street from others. Not to mention the people in the next room through the too-thin walls. The rooms themselves are fine -- incredibly comfy plush beds, in-room coffee maker, in room fridge, in room safe, plenty of storage space and good-sized bathrooms with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water and plenty of towels (I would have liked a chair and lamp for reading but the room was too small for that..) (Also, our night side table was infested with tiny little bugs, who'd go after any food that we left out.) The room was cleaned and supplies replenished early everyday and there was turn down service with chocolates.

Hotel staff was terrific -- everyone was pleasant and helpful without exception.

The pool -- an infinity pool, outside, above the street and near the bar, was wonderful. Very clean, usually empty, and large enough for lap swimming. Not for serious lap swimming (no lanes, irregular shape) but perfect for enjoying a pleasant swim.

The reason to stay here is the hotel's private island, which was magical. A motorboat leaves from inside the lobby (!!) and takes you there in a jiffy. The boat trip across the water to the island is a blast and the boat shuttles back and forth often. The island is idylic and uncrowded. There are two small but lovely beaches with white sand and clear shallow water. And a flock of flamingos!! As well as pelicans, doves, parrots (in cages), tropical fish, lizards and iguanas. The flamingos wander the beach and you never get over how incredibly cool they are. There's an open air restaurant on the private island with good, reasonably priced food. The island is very close to the airport. so you hear the roar of jets taking off and landing, and if you enjoy watching planes there are benches provided for that purpose with good airport views. The two beaches on the private island are too small for beach walking.

If you want to hang out on a "real" beach, take the bus (for only two dollars round trip) from the bus station near the hotel to tPalm Beach, which is where the high rise hotels are. Palm Beach is gorgeous (white sand, turqouise water) and open to the public but INCREDIBLY CROWDED. A wonderful beach for walking. When you get tired of walking on the beach you can explore the hotels on the beach, which are beautifully landscaped with fountains and gardens, or have a bite to eat at one of the hotel restaurants.

Another thing to mention is that there are plenty of excellent, reasonably priced places to eat near the Renaisance (including a great Pizza Hut).

We're planning on returning to Aruba next year. We'll probably divide our stay between the Renaissance (because of the island) and one of the high rise hotels on Palm Beach (probably the Radisson).

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RosW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews