We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families and couples - Elizabeth, NJ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2007

This was my first vacation with my boyfriend and the hotel was absolutely beautiful! This hotel was definately more for couples and families. So if you are more interested in the nightlife and partying, this hotel is NOT for you. We went during the off-season (beginning of August), so the weather was cloudy off and on with some occassional rain showers that didn't last very long before the sun came back out. (I wanted to post pictures but sorry, I'm on my work computer!)

We stayed on the Marina side and had a city view. Although I prefer an ocean view, this was just fine. It was interesting to see the activity of the city (if you like that kind of thing). The reviews are right however, that It can be a little noisy at night b/c of clubs and just a lot of overall night activity.

Anyway, the food WAS expensive and not exactly the best. Definately try to venture off the resort to find places to eat.

The private beach was nice and the whole idea of the boat trip to the private island was lovely as well. I just hate how they had 7 am -7pm operating hours for the private island because I think it would be quite beautiful at night. But note, the beach is not a real beach and very man made like. If you're a beach buff, try to travel out to a different beach to get that oceanic feel.

Also, I brought the snuba package. The snuba diving was quite an experience and can be kind of scary for all you chickens out there like me. But once you're out there its cool. FYI though... there weren't many fish to look at while snuba diving. There were actually more fish on the coast b/c humans tend to feed them so they migrate were the food is. So if you go on a tour, just purchase the snorkeling package b/c you'll probably see more. Also the food on the island tour was TERRIBLE!!!!! So try to eat before you go. Also, DON'T bother going on the submarine tour. Once again, we saw more while snorkeling on the coast then we did in the submarine. Big waste of time and money.

Overall, the service was great and the people are EXTREMELY friendly. Beautiful hotel and beautiful island. Would definately go again for a honeymoon or romantic get away.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank jhovee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,758)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,731 - 3,735 of 4,759 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2007

just spend a week at the Ocean Suites side. Our suite had a great pool/ocean view. it was large enough for our family of 2 adults + 2 toddlers who shared the fold out sofa. Having a kitchenette was great (coffee maker/toaster/fridge etc). The hotel and the property were VERY clean. the staff was helpful and friendly. The location offered a lot of distractions for our toddlers...

This property has improved tremendously since its Sonesta days.
All Sonesta based reviews should be ignored. Non ocean front rooms do have views of either parking lot... The food at the hotel is decent but very expensive. The plaza offers a better selection...

questions? email paspar22 -at- gmail.com

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

We stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort, do not mistake with the Marina Resort. The Marina is adults only and is located above a shopping mall as well as a casino. We loved the resort. Our room was of good size and very clean. The food was good but very expensive. The private island was very nice also. Try not to buy from the surf shop, forgot the sunscreen one day and had to purchase it there, $ 21.00 US for a small bottle. Anyway, I highly suggest this resort. We were treated great by the staff and really enjoyed our stay in Aruba.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank momoftwoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

Let me set the record straight! What a great place to stay for adults. Stayed on the marina side 2/18-2/25.Enjoyed the infinity type pool..overloking the marina..straight across from cruise ships. From my perch on the pool step, with my book..all i saw was beautiful sea and sky. It was clean,relaxing,comfortable and i loved every minute of it.
The island is so relxing..was too nervous about the flamingos to stay on the adult side. The "family" side was not crowded.peaceful.hammocks to lay on.clean,comfortable restaurant,bathrooms..enjoyed the squwking of parrots in cages. The planes were not a problem.
Room were small..quiet(6th floor),clean,bed very comfortable.
Concierge very helpful..One day there were not enough chaises at the pool..concierge ordered 10 more to be brought over from the island..no problem!
this is clearly a marriott property..same high standards and quality. Staff was nothing but friendly.And i forgot to mention that i felt safe AT ALL TIMES. Security guard posted by steps leading to pool.
Will definetly stay here again......I have nothing negative to report!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sharimsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Stayed here in 2001 when it was called the Sonesta Marina resort. It was in average condition, a block off the ocean, and was uncomfortable/creepy enough that I piled furniture up in front of the door the one night we were there as a security precaution.

My wife woke up screaming in the middle of the night with some kind of apparition apparently standing next to her. We stayed up all night with the lights on, left the next day and will never return there or to Aruba.

Haunted? I don't know, but she has never seen things like that before or after.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank occasionalnon-revver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
6.6 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,885 reviews
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,177 reviews
5.3 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,533 reviews
2.7 km away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#3 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,819 reviews
3.7 km away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range: RM822 - RM2,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing