We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A heavenly place”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
226 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 226 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shona H
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A heavenly place”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed for a relaxing four nights self-catering in The Old Bike Shed, which was perfect a break for me and my Beagle. Beautiful accommodation with everything you needed and views to die for. Lovely hosts who provided invaluable local information about dog-friendly pubs, forest walks, beaches and places which shaped our daily adventures. And useful facilities to hose down a naughty dog after exploring the wild! Definitely hope to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, quiet and friendliness
Liked least: That we had to go home!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Delighted The Old Bike Shed ticked all the right boxes! Hoping you'll return soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsmithawe...
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2nd Visit - Excellent”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second stay at the Barns, however this time we stayed in the Hay Barn, larger than the Old Bike Shed, equally beautiful in its interior with everything you could ask for a weeks stay. We enjoyed Nikkis excellent cooking, it really made the holiday for us having the food prepared as we didn't need to think about shopping and packing lots of stuff, everything we had was fantastic and huge portion sizes so you may want to skip the diet that week! We took our eight dogs with us, not all well behaved as they are young and excitable but we were made to feel really comfortable and welcome. The walks are fantastic, we visited Pembry Country Park which was brilliant, lovely and quiet dog friendly beach and surrounding forest walks, that was approximately a 30 min drive away and well worth the trip out, that said the immediate walks near the barns are also fantastic. This was yet again a great holiday, good food, super relaxing and we will definitely be going back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home Cooked Food & Local Walks
Liked least: Fencing not quite high enough to keep dogs secure but they are big dogs, sheep in surrounding fields so we had to be extra careful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
We're loving the number of repeat visitors we are getting - thank you for returning and for your very kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces5...
1 review
“Fantastic!! ”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a 3 night stay in the Bay Tree Barn with our beagle, which was fantastic. Nikki was so welcoming and helpful. She advised us on all the good places to visit and her cooking is delicious!! Breathtaking views with such a relaxed atmosphere. Came back feeling refreshed and will definitely be returning. Perfect!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you so much! We really appreciate your review and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalHorn
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Welcoming to All-including Sammie the ferret”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a long weekends stay at Bay Tree Barn, just us and Sammie the house ferret. We all had a lovely time. The views are breath taking and we can highly recommend the food prepared by Nikky. We were cosy and well looked after at all points, from initial enquiry to goodbyes. Beds were comfy, well equipped and beautiful Wales on the doorstep. Even in the worst weather you could hole up here and be very happy, luckily we had very good weather. Coast within easy reach and so much to do locally as well, highly recommend the Roman Gold Mine! Thanks again for being so welcoming to all of us

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
You and Sammie the house ferret are very welcome Caroline - a first for us here! Thank you for your kind review and I'm delighted you enjoyed my cooking. Hoping you'll return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellen e
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday away from it all,with fabulous views ! Perfect .”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed Monday to Friday in bay tree barn with our three dogs.

The cottage has everything you need and is warm ,welcoming and very cosy. The dogs had a lovely time exploring the beautiful beaches and the forest ,as did we .It was topped off by the lovely sunny weather ,an added bonus.

Nikkis meals are wonderful ,I can recommend her chilli con carne and her bacon baguettes ,we also had her chocolate cake ,which was to die for !
All in all a gem of a holiday home and one we hope to return to.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Delighted, as always, to hear our guests had a great time. Yes, the weather was certainly on your side! Thank you Ellen for your kind words. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing