We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

This is a fabulous hotel in Hamilton with beautiful gardens. The bedroom was very comfortable and cosy, the breakfasts are brilliant and the staff were very helpful. We like to eat out at different restaurants but did have one evening meal which was beautiful. Cannot find any fault with this hotel and can certainly recommend anybody to stay here.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for this great review! We are happy to learn that you found all aspects of the Hotel and its services to be excellent.

Our central location makes dining in different restaurants very accessible. So glad you got to try and loved our new restaurant Huckleberry.

Thanks again for this recommendation.

Kind Regards,
Carol Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

Pros:
-Most beautiful grounds, landscaping, and charming decor
-Professional greeting and very friendly staff
-Room was spotlessly clean
-Walkable to all of downtown Hamilton, close to the Ferry terminal

Cons:

-Toilet clogged and flooded onto the floor (they did fix it within an hour or so)
-Bedroom area didn't get cool even at lowest AC setting
-Shower got hot/cold and could not maintain temperature
-No beverage service at pool. If you want a drink, you have to go to main house and ask for one, or try to catch someone as they pass by.
-Outdoor lighting noticeably shines into bedroom at night

Overall:
Good for a couple who doesn't mind a room on the warmer side, and doesn't need pitch black for sleep, won't be having many drinks by the pool, and wants a quiet setting walkable to downtown Hamilton.

Tip:
When we checked out they told us to book directly through Rosedon instead of through 3rd party - booking directly puts the 3rd party surcharge directly to breakfast credit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank ninnyninny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share the pros and cons of your stay with us.
We sincerely apologize for the air conditioning not cooling efficiently. Once you brought this to our attention, despite being almost completely full, we were disappointed that you did not take our offer of moving to another room, as you would not have had to endure a room not perfectly cooled.
Your comments regarding our pool service are duly noted. We are pleased to share that we plan to institute full pool service this summer.
Your feedback has been most valuable and allows us to improve on areas that need attention..
We hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Carol Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Rosedon is right across the street from the Hamilton Princess, a 1/2 block from Miles Grocery Store and a short to medium walk to all there is to see in Hamilton. The staff were absolutely lovely, the room was very clean and the bathroom had a window as well as a ceiling fan AND wonderful eco-friendly cleansing products. You needn't bring shampoo, conditioner or body wash because there is a great dispenser in the shower!

They offer a continental breakfast in the main part of the hotel, but we ordered breakfast in our room. We were in a luxury room which meant that we had the old-fashioned high beds with portable wooden steps to reach the top. LED tv with mostly American channels, a large tray basket with many snacks and a few souvenirs which one has to pay for, and a large small fridge where my husband and I kept wine, cheese, and other edibles which we bought at Miles. They have robes and slippers (which you can purchase) and plenty of hangars (all loose). Iron and good blow dryer.

Even though we were there in March, we took their free shuttle to Elbow Beach only so that we would be closer to Southhampton for the bus.

My biggest advice would be to purchase a 7 day pass that works for the ferries and buses (if you're going to be there that long). We used it every day and only took a taxi from and to the airport. Also avail yourself of Bermuda.com.

Bermuda is quite expensive for the majority of Americans, compared to the Carribbean islands. So it pays to buy some groceries to keep in the fridge for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

I wasn't sure if we should stay at a resort or in Hamilton. Now, I am very happy we decided to stay in town. We could walk to dinner, to the grocery store, to shops and to the ferry and bus stops. We had a really fabulous time.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the second floor; it's just a little more private, even though there are no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for this wonderful review.

You have included lots of practical information about how to navigate Bermuda, have a good time and eat reasonably. We have small fridges in all rooms, which make it easy to keep drinks and edibles.

Our location really does afford quick access to the transportation, shops and restaurants.

Thanks so much for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Carol Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

The Rosedon Hotel is located in Hamilton and a walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. We took public transportation to the rest of the island which worked out fine.
This is our 9th trip to this beautiful island and I must say that the Rosedon Hotel is the best place to stay - very clean - the staff, Lesiline, Kenny and Gerald, are outstanding and helpful. Chef Lucy is remarkable - the breakfasts were wonderful. The dinners were amazing!
It's a "10" in my book and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ktmcgarvie722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We appreciate your recommendation and giving us a vote of "10". Fantastic.

Thanks also for your loyalty to Bermuda. We are thrilled that your 9th visit was to Rosedon and this is the best in your experience.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your 10th visit to the island.

Kind Regards,
Carol Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

The Rosedon Hotel was our little piece of heaven because of the gorgeous place, friendly staff and fabulous food. We came to Bermuda with our friends to celebrate our 49th Wedding Anniversary. Words cannot describe what a fantastic trip it was. When we arrived both Kenny and Gerald greet us with open arms followed by Lesiline Williams (their Reservation Manager) a very warm and charming lady. She went out of her way to make sure all our needs were met. In addition, the food was absolutely fabulous and the presentation is outstanding. Hands down to Chef Lucy. My suggestion is try the Rack of Lamb. It is to die for. Hope to celebrate our 50th there next year. If you thinking about staying @ the Princess Hotel, think twice way too COMMERICALIZED.

Room Tip: We stayed in two very elegant rooms #52 & #53. We loved the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for this amazing review! We were excited to play a special part in the celebration of your 49th anniversary. Congratulations!

Part of the magic of Rosedon are the phenomenal staff. Gerald, Kenny and Lesiline are true hospitality professionals with years of experience. We treasure them. Words can't begin to express our joy in having Chef Lucy Collins lead the team of the new restaurant! Lucy has worked in Michelin star restaurants alongside some of the best chefs in the industry. No wonder the Rack of lamb was so good!

It would be our great honor to welcome you back next year to celebrate your 50th anniversary!

Kind Regards,
Carol Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.4 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
844 reviews
10.1 km away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
703 reviews
1 km away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,144 reviews
5.4 km away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,088 reviews
6.6 km away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: RM1,777 - RM2,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, Rosedon Hotel is a charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. The main house is surrounded by lush tropical gardens with heated swimming pool and fountains offers a quiet place to relax. Each room features it’s own covered porch and private sitting area to take in the view. Rosedon renovated the entire main house inside and out in early 2017 and introduced a new restaurant called ‘Huckleberry’; a nod to Mark Twain. Some of our Hotel amenities include ‘Triple Filtered’ in room drinking water, a heated outdoor swimming pool, traditional afternoon tea and a Bermuda Rum Swizzle party every Tuesday evening by the pool. Guests are also offered daily transportation and access to a pink sand beach located on the South Shore. Our Rooms are individually decorated with European fabrics and feature different furniture and bed sizes. Some of our rooms feature baths while others have showers. We are also committed to being environmentally conscious through solar hot water, LED lights inside and out, waste reduction and recycling. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available in our new restaurant ‘Huckleberry’, located in the main house and front porch. Room service is also available, served to the room, patio / balcony or at Pool side. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing