We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
468
90
8
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
90
8
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswizzle partyfront porchafternoon teathe main housesandwicheselbow beachtuesday eveningeach morningheated poolother guestsfree taxiferry terminalluxury roomthe general managerhonesty barrum swizzlefront street
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited Bermuda for the first time and stayed at the Rosedon. The hotel is charming, the staff warm and helpful, the location ideal for bus and ferry transportation and walking to Hamilton shops and restaurants. We enjoyed breakfast in the intimate dining room, chatting with other guests at the pool or on the wide hotel porch, and relaxing on our balcony in the evenings. Our room had everything we needed and the bed was superbly comfortable. Overall the hotel had an intimate feel and the service was very personable. When we return we will stay at the Rosedon again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Journey525121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, Marketing Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you found our rooms comfortable and our atmosphere hospitable and intimate. Our hotel team continues to strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience and we are happy to hear we met that expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rosedon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The Rosedon has been our home on Bermuda for over 20 years. During that time the level of service and value for the dollar has been consistently high. We have been guests there seven times and look forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: Private, quiet and close to Hamilton with daily included shuttle to Elbow Beach.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelingcyclist47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, Marketing Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you so much for your patronage over the past 20 years. The Rosedon team continues to strive to offer our guests a high level of service and a valued experience. We are delighted to hear our efforts have been recognized. It was a pleasure having you as our guests once again and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Bermuda is well known for its "surly" service... not so here. Every single person - from the room cleaners to the waiters to the reception staff... just plain friendly and helpful. WIFI Was free and fantastic - no limit to the number of devices. Worked throughout the hotel and grounds. The grounds are very pretty and the pool area is calm and relaxing (great for breakfast). Our rooms were functional - no view and felt a bit like being in a basement, but the bathroom was clean, fresh and had an abundance of fluffy white towels which were replaced regularly. Location is great, being right in Hamilton. 20 minutes to airport. Easy to get a taxi. Free shuttle service to Elbow Beach. All in all, a great stay with a friendly smile. Would definitely choose to stay there again but maybe up-grade the room (the rooms are very expensive - but so is Bermuda...).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janjanvanman059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and choosing Rosedon Hotel for your recent stay in Bermuda. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our Uniquely Bermudian hospitality, along with the serenity of our gardens, pool area and prime location. Our Reservations Department will be more than happy to assist you in choosing the perfect room for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We came to the Rosedan based largely on the overwhelming number of excellent reviews it received on TripAdvisor. We've been to Bermuda more than a dozen times and enjoyed delightful stays at the Hamilton Princess, the Elbow Beach, Pink Beach, and even at cottage colony when our son was small, I don't think my expecations of Bermuda hotels are unrealistic.

First of all, the Rosedon is not afraid to charge more than $500 per night for a perfectly adequate but hardly impressive room not in the main house. Bermuda is not Manhattan or Las Vegas, so most hotels and resorts compensate for a lack of modernity and sizzle with traditional and elegant furnishings and service. If it's to your taste, it's wonderful.

The Rosedon, however, misses that mark. The small but pleasant pool isn't cleaned often enough, and the dirty dishes resulting from poolside food and beverage service are left on the tables for hours, immediately attracting flocks of birds which are the best witnesses that our experence wasn't an exception. Used towels are left on the chaise lounges by some guests, and remain for hours.

In our room, the bathroom door didn't close because the door hardware was not aligned with the doorframe. A champagne glass wasn't picked up by the cleaning staff for three days. Our bathmat disappeared after the first housekeeping service. I mention these small omissions only because they indicate a level of training, and regular management inspection that other hotels in its class make a fetish of.

Far and away, though, the Rosedan falls furthest behind in dining. As others have mentioned, the inside dining room is quite small and is more converted conference room than restaurant. The charming and welcoming front porch is perfect for an afternoon cocktail, but not well-suited to serving the sort of dinner served at Bermuda's many fine dining restaurants or top tier resorts and hotels. Where the Rosedon does match those alternatives is in the pricing,

If you are considering having dinner at the Rosedon, we'd suggest you look at the menus first. Again, there are dinners worth every cent of what the Rosedon charges, but the expectaion is that you can choose to have a common dish prepared perfectly, or to try an interesting variation conceived by a creative chef. The menu changes, and perhaps at other times the menu would be more enticing.

The main house is beautiful, and the lady at reception is friendly and helpful. The staff is welcoming and happy to answer questions and to make recommendations, and it's painful to point out Rosedon's weaknesses. We hope our experience was the exception, and that if it isn't, management will bring the Rosedon to its full potential.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Cartaphilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a comprehensive review of Rosedon.
We want to also thank you for your loyalty to Bermuda, having visited us over twelve times.
We were very disappointed and crushed to learn that we fell behind our normal standard in so many areas during your stay. We value this input as it points out clear areas for improvement that will get our immediate attention.
We are fully committed to ensuring that our guests have an excellent stay and would like the opportunity to discuss with you personally your Rosedon experience. Please contact me at carol@rosedon.com
We look forward to hearing from you directly.
Kind Regards,
Carol Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Did not disappoint! Beautiful hotel. Felt like we were a name and not a number. Everyone was wonderfully nice! The champagne that was waiting for us was outstanding! And the greeters/bellhops that met us? Super nice! Definitely will be back and for more than a weekend! (Oh and my husband was super excited to meet Owen, the house cat!). The tea time was delicious too! Short walk to town. Only ate breakfast (on the porch) but it was delicious too. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cjc207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for this excellent review! We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us for this special anniversary celebration!
How gratifying to know that we lived up to our great reputation and you were not disappointed.
We wish you many more anniversaries and hope you return to celebrate again with us at Rosedon.

Kind Regards,
Carol Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews