We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Island”
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Gracious food and accomodations. Our every wish was catered to and they were terrific with our 12 year old son. Close to all the sites and attractions. They even prepared a list of the local restaurants offering macaroni and cheese which is our son's favorite meal.

Room Tip: Choose a lower level room. Great access to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 361maryellend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and sharing your experience. So glad to hear our staff were attentive to your son and he was able to enjoy his favorite cuisine during his stay on the island. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rosedon to create more wonderful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 544 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
112
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited Bermuda for the first time and stayed at the Rosedon. The hotel is charming, the staff warm and helpful, the location ideal for bus and ferry transportation and walking to Hamilton shops and restaurants. We enjoyed breakfast in the intimate dining room, chatting with other guests at the pool or on the wide hotel porch, and relaxing on our balcony in the evenings. Our room had everything we needed and the bed was superbly comfortable. Overall the hotel had an intimate feel and the service was very personable. When we return we will stay at the Rosedon again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, Marketing Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you found our rooms comfortable and our atmosphere hospitable and intimate. Our hotel team continues to strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience and we are happy to hear we met that expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rosedon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The Rosedon has been our home on Bermuda for over 20 years. During that time the level of service and value for the dollar has been consistently high. We have been guests there seven times and look forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: Private, quiet and close to Hamilton with daily included shuttle to Elbow Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelingcyclist47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, Marketing Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your patronage over the past 20 years. The Rosedon team continues to strive to offer our guests a high level of service and a valued experience. We are delighted to hear our efforts have been recognized. It was a pleasure having you as our guests once again and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Bermuda is well known for its "surly" service... not so here. Every single person - from the room cleaners to the waiters to the reception staff... just plain friendly and helpful. WIFI Was free and fantastic - no limit to the number of devices. Worked throughout the hotel and grounds. The grounds are very pretty and the pool area is calm and relaxing (great for breakfast). Our rooms were functional - no view and felt a bit like being in a basement, but the bathroom was clean, fresh and had an abundance of fluffy white towels which were replaced regularly. Location is great, being right in Hamilton. 20 minutes to airport. Easy to get a taxi. Free shuttle service to Elbow Beach. All in all, a great stay with a friendly smile. Would definitely choose to stay there again but maybe up-grade the room (the rooms are very expensive - but so is Bermuda...).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janjanvanman059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and choosing Rosedon Hotel for your recent stay in Bermuda. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our Uniquely Bermudian hospitality, along with the serenity of our gardens, pool area and prime location. Our Reservations Department will be more than happy to assist you in choosing the perfect room for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We came to the Rosedan based largely on the overwhelming number of excellent reviews it received on TripAdvisor. We've been to Bermuda more than a dozen times and enjoyed delightful stays at the Hamilton Princess, the Elbow Beach, Pink Beach, and even at cottage colony when our son was small, I don't think my expecations of Bermuda hotels are unrealistic.

First of all, the Rosedon is not afraid to charge more than $500 per night for a perfectly adequate but hardly impressive room not in the main house. Bermuda is not Manhattan or Las Vegas, so most hotels and resorts compensate for a lack of modernity and sizzle with traditional and elegant furnishings and service. If it's to your taste, it's wonderful.

The Rosedon, however, misses that mark. The small but pleasant pool isn't cleaned often enough, and the dirty dishes resulting from poolside food and beverage service are left on the tables for hours, immediately attracting flocks of birds which are the best witnesses that our experence wasn't an exception. Used towels are left on the chaise lounges by some guests, and remain for hours.

In our room, the bathroom door didn't close because the door hardware was not aligned with the doorframe. A champagne glass wasn't picked up by the cleaning staff for three days. Our bathmat disappeared after the first housekeeping service. I mention these small omissions only because they indicate a level of training, and regular management inspection that other hotels in its class make a fetish of.

Far and away, though, the Rosedan falls furthest behind in dining. As others have mentioned, the inside dining room is quite small and is more converted conference room than restaurant. The charming and welcoming front porch is perfect for an afternoon cocktail, but not well-suited to serving the sort of dinner served at Bermuda's many fine dining restaurants or top tier resorts and hotels. Where the Rosedon does match those alternatives is in the pricing,

If you are considering having dinner at the Rosedon, we'd suggest you look at the menus first. Again, there are dinners worth every cent of what the Rosedon charges, but the expectaion is that you can choose to have a common dish prepared perfectly, or to try an interesting variation conceived by a creative chef. The menu changes, and perhaps at other times the menu would be more enticing.

The main house is beautiful, and the lady at reception is friendly and helpful. The staff is welcoming and happy to answer questions and to make recommendations, and it's painful to point out Rosedon's weaknesses. We hope our experience was the exception, and that if it isn't, management will bring the Rosedon to its full potential.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Cartaphilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedon_Hotel, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a comprehensive review of Rosedon.
We want to also thank you for your loyalty to Bermuda, having visited us over twelve times.
We were very disappointed and crushed to learn that we fell behind our normal standard in so many areas during your stay. We value this input as it points out clear areas for improvement that will get our immediate attention.
We are fully committed to ensuring that our guests have an excellent stay and would like the opportunity to discuss with you personally your Rosedon experience. Please contact me at carol@rosedon.com
We look forward to hearing from you directly.
Kind Regards,
Carol Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.4 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
844 reviews
10.1 km away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
703 reviews
1 km away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,144 reviews
5.4 km away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,089 reviews
6.6 km away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: RM1,815 - RM2,648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, Rosedon Hotel is a charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. The main house is surrounded by lush tropical gardens with heated swimming pool and fountains offers a quiet place to relax. Each room features it’s own covered porch and private sitting area to take in the view. Rosedon renovated the entire main house inside and out in early 2017 and introduced a new restaurant called ‘Huckleberry’; a nod to Mark Twain. Some of our Hotel amenities include ‘Triple Filtered’ in room drinking water, a heated outdoor swimming pool, traditional afternoon tea and a Bermuda Rum Swizzle party every Tuesday evening by the pool. Guests are also offered daily transportation and access to a pink sand beach located on the South Shore. Our Rooms are individually decorated with European fabrics and feature different furniture and bed sizes. Some of our rooms feature baths while others have showers. We are also committed to being environmentally conscious through solar hot water, LED lights inside and out, waste reduction and recycling. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is available in our new restaurant ‘Huckleberry’, located in the main house and front porch. Room service is also available, served to the room, patio / balcony or at Pool side. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing