We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
359
191
64
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
191
64
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel mango bay sister hotel other guests pebbles beach packed lunch met some lovely people all inclusive hotel rum store lovely little hotel courtyard area superior poolside minute walk superior garden room cool bag meal times buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Having been here a few times now and it never changes, well it does because you get to meet some fantastic people every time.

It's not to everyone's liking as it's small, entertainment is only 3 nights per week but hey that gives you time to get to know the other guests, food is not to my liking but that's just a personal thing. Could do with a bit of maintenance, where the hell have the ight curtain nets gone, they were a bit tatty but replace them don't remove them and some umbrellas to provide a bit of shade apart from that it's a cushty place to go.

In response to Moosie2015, your party of 3 really do need to get a life if you confuse inconsiderate with having fun, you were the only ones to complain so that says something. The party you refer to excluded no one, everyone was welcome to join in celebrating so many 50th birthdays, that's why they were there. Chill out, relax and go to Mango Bay.....

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nutterathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

This small hotel is a delightful place to stay. Set around an historic courtyard, sheltered by tropical plants,with a fresh water pool and just 5 minutes from a great beach.
The staff are genuinely pleasant and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Our large, air conditioned room was clean and comfortable. All rooms are on the ground floor.
No complaints about the food either.
There was none of the hustle or noise that is found in the large all inclusive hotels, the atmosphere was one of total calm and competence.
Wifi is available in the public areas including the courtyard.
We would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thelmap211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We have visited Island Inn for many years but this year was very unfortunate due to inconsiderate other guests which affected our holiday so much that we stayed out of the hotel as much as possible until they left. Being a very small and intimate hotel, it is difficult if the hotel management do not remind unruly guests to be respectful of others who want a relaxing holiday when they break fundamental hotel rules daily. 9 of the 15 days of our holiday were very unpleasant because our room was surrounded by a large party of noisy, rude and disrespectful English people. The hotel management just ignored the situation which proved to be intimidating.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Moosie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I'm just back from a week at the Island Inn. This was my first visit to Barbados and, I suspect, will be the first of many! I chose this hotel over many others on the island for 2 main reasons - it's small and intimate (although that may put some people off), and it has a great location.
I stayed in a superior garden view room, made up as a twin as I was with a friend. Admittedly I originally expected the garden I was viewing to be bigger, but it's such a small hotel there isn't much garden space available! The room itself reminded me more of a private cabana than a hotel room, just the right size and not just another room off an endless corridor that you get in so many hotels.
It's the staff that really make this hotel special and the genuinely warm welcome and laughter that you get from them. And, for such a small hotel, I was impressed with the variety of food on offer.
Who wouldn't like this hotel? Well, if you prefer the 'anonymity' of staying in big hotels then you may not like the intimacy of a small, boutique venue like this. Let's face it, with only 24 rooms, you very quickly get to know virtually everybody else who is staying there; and that's something only you will know if you like or not.
Whilst this isn't an adults only hotel, there's virtually nothing for children to do, which is great if you want a holiday without screaming children in the restaurant or by the pool, but not great if you choose this venue with children. My advice would be not to stay here if you're travelling with kids.
The free wifi is only available in the lobby/bar area, which is great if you want to be out of reach most of the time but want to dip into real-life occasionally!
Oh, and one piece of advice - the dreaded mosquito can be a problem! I was there toward the end of the rainy season, but I understand the little critters can be a problem all year round, so I'd suggest taking a DEET based repellant as well as antihistamines and something like hydrocortisone cream to treat the inevitable mossie nibbles.
In summary - the Island Inn is great and it's on a fantastic island. I will be returning again as soon as possible. Go soak up the sun and hospitality and enjoy!

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are probably a bit quieter if the hotel is busy as the pool view rooms, unsurprisingly, are right by the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DCL_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Spent a week in this hotel and had a fantastic holiday our room was a junior suite just off the pool it was spacious and kept very clean by the staff the food was good server's were all characters and lovely. There was always enough drink to sink even the biggest battle ship served by happy nice staff especially John and Erol. The Hotel is low key and not party centre no banging noise or tunes no vollyball in the pool guests enjoy peace quiet and relaxing. It is a place to relax and it's only a minutes walk from the beach. We loved our time here and would go again. If you want massive buffet style dining it may not be the place for you but if you want quaint charm and a great base to explore the island then give it a try. The other guests while we were there were all great company so if you don't mind a bit of light friendly chat then again it's the perfect location. As with all hot destinations take insect repellent.Island inn thank you for a great vacation James and jo

Room Tip: Have a suite if your budget allows
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jamespgrundonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews