We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

The Restaurant at Paynes Bay Barbados
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The menu, based on classic Italian favourites, boasts the inspired epicurean signature of Milan-born Chef Michele Blasi in an assortment of island-inspired seasonal dishes for even the most discerning of tastes. This is complemented by an extensive list of Italian, New World and classical French wines. For a fabulous seaside dinner, try one of our artisanal pastas paired with a cold bottle of chablis. Management and staff, all excellent hosts, will welcome you to this elegant beachside eatery that offers al fresco and covered dining in an amiable atmosphere.
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Had a really lovely dinner and experience last night. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar area - 2 beers for 1 as it was still happy hour. We went though to a great table spot overlooking the beach. Waiters were attentive but not over the top. They took our daughters order first whilst we were still deciding which is always a good thing for a 5 year old (nothing worse than the child's dinner coming last which happens in so many restaurants in Europe).
Menu was interesting and both starters and mains were absolutely delicious. The children's food was also good.
Plenty of other diners in the restaurant leading to a nice atmosphere.
This was the second visit this week and both well with it. No idea why there are so many recent bad reviews!!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 547 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Having visited Daphnes and enjoyed it on several occasions we were really disappointed on this visit. Menu choice was poor and food combinations were weird. Unlikely to return ... not in the same league as lone star and fish pot !!! Given the quality of food the price is outrageous ...

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank steveb805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Sadly I haven't got anything good to say about Daphne's, the service and waiting staff were very poor, grumpy and unhelpful and the food was not only cold but inedible. I had the calamari on a bed of red cabbage and leeks... Awful!! Stay away wouid be my advice.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank mariaj415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We looked forward to this place as we toured the best restaurants on the island
But this was an awful experience
Limited menu (we had one dish paid and left)
Dull decor and no atmosphere, definitely not upmarket.
The owners should visit Lonestar or Tides to see how its done - would it hurt to put some lights on the beach at night?

As we spoke to others at our hotel our view was shared by many including taxi drivers.

There are too many great even good restaurants at this price in Barbados to give this a second look. The owners need to revisit their whole offering.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank banus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We booked with the expectation of something very special however we were greatly disappointed. We arrived at 7.30 and shown to our table, the menu wasn't as extensive as the website led us to believe however the menu had a reasonable selection of dishes. Whilst the waiters were extremely friendly the service of the starter and main course was far too quick, 40 minutes from being seated, having our starter and main served and empty plates cleared. We asked if we could have a break before the desert course which appeared no problem, however we were still approached twice by different waiters to ask if we were ready to order. No idea what the rush was as the restaurant was not busy and on looking around we could only see 5-6 tables occupied. The food itself was well presented however we found it somewhat bland in flavour.
If seemed that we may have been in the company of some 'notable' guests who clearly were far more important than the other regular guests judging by the personal attention and visit to their table by the chef. Surely, however, all paying guests should receive the same treatment.
Compared to the service, attention to detail and level of service we received within the restaurant from the Tamarind which Daphnes is part of) we found our overall experience at Daphnes at best average.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank wendyh1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Paynes Bay Barbados also viewed

Paynes Bay, Saint James Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Durants, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Restaurant at Paynes Bay Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.