We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!”
Review of Emerald Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Beach
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in #5 in mid November and had a fantastic vacation. We generally go on two beach vacations a year (lucky us) and more often than not stay in 5 star all inclusive resorts. We are in our mid 30's and stay active, but also like to relax on vacation. Emerald Beach was the best of both worlds.

The Villa itself is very luxurious. All the rooms are well decorated, and modern and really well maintained. It's a house, but feels like a small boutique hotel.

The Villa has a cook and maid, Udele and Saileen, who were both very welcoming and accomodating. They both seemed to be having a great laugh every day. We went out for dinner at one of the better restaurants in Barbados one night, and Udele's cooking and presentation was as good or better. There is tons of fresh seafood in Barbados, but we weren't sure about going to the fish market, so Udele picked it up for us and it was always very good and quite reasonable. Her flourless chocolate cake is one of the best desserts I have ever had. She also makes a very good rum punch! Overall, all of the meals we had were top notch.

The beach was one of the nicest we've been on. We spent tons of time in the ocean. The beach itself is nice and sandy, great for swimming and relatively calm. To the left of the Villa there is a small reef, with a surprising variety of fish. Every day we seemed to see something new. A bit down the beach there was a small break and we went boogie boarding a couple of times which was fun as well. They had masks and snorkles and boogie boards for us which was nice. We brought our own masks and snorkles just in case.

One day we took a catamaran/snorkling cruise along the West coast and swam with turtles, and saw a couple of wrecks. The tour company picked us up and dropped us off, which made for an easy and excellent day trip. Otherwise we were pretty happy to hang out around the villa.

Overall, it was a great trip. We generally like to try new places, but we would go back to Emerald Beach in a second.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JasonJ_Brown76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

This is my favorite Caribbean vacation spot, quite possibly my favorite vacation spot period.
I've been to villa #5 many times and honestly don't want to go anywhere else!
It is a beautiful villa and the staff Udele and Salieen are amazing, so warm and pleasant, Udele is an amazing chef, her meals are always something to look forward to.
The location can't be beat, the beach is unbelievable and the grounds are beautiful.
It is the most relaxing vacation you could go on, I love love love this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alessandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

The villas are on one of the nicest beaches on the west coast. Lovely sandy bottom with some coral off to the side of the beach with plenty of space for lounging on the sand. The only problem is that the villas do not allow you to take the sun beds onto the beach, therefore the only option is to sit on a towel, not a big problem, but if you are elderly it might be an issue.

The villa I stayed at is well furnished with comfortable beds and seating areas with one on the patio overlooking the pool and gardens. The only part of the villa that was run down was the shower of the master bedroom and the entire bathroom of the smallest bedroom. Both really need to redone.

Staff were very pleasant. The cook did quite a good job but never came up with any menu suggestions, even when you asked her, so it really was up to you. I also found the quality of the food at the supermarkets quite poor. Next time I will pre order from a website I came across that imports all their meat and chicken from the US. The maid was wonderfull and did a splendid job and washed any clothes she found in the hamper.

These villas are a wonderful option for a family who don't want to book several rooms at a hotel. Pool is quite a good size and only a few feet from the villa, the beach is just beyond that.

Security is on duty from 6pm to 6am and I saw them often walking the grounds. All the doors and windows have bars/grills for safety.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2008
4  Thank gingerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2006

We stayed at villa number 1. Fantastic, we went to a wedding in August ,planning to go back in Feb. The staff Pam and Maisie were welcoming and had a wicked sense of humour. Pam was a great cook. The pool was fab, the beach on the doorstep and just a short drive to shops and cocktails at Scarlets Bar and also not far from Suga Suga.
Well worth a visit...

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank flyme2themoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.0 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
625 reviews
0.0 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,079 reviews
0.0 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
0.0 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,578 reviews
0.0 km away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach

Address: Gibbs Bay | Barbados, 22222, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Saint James Parish
Price Range: RM799 - RM1,986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is a three bedroom, 3.5 Bathroom beachfront home,set on Gibbes Bay one of Barbados' best beaches, NO HOTELS. The house has 3 air conditioned bedrooms as well as ceiling fans throughout.There is both indoor and outdoor dining and living areas. We always eat al fresco! The house comes with staff, both a cook and housekeeper.Eudelle our chef will cook you 3 meals a day,Saileen our housekeeper keeps the home spotless , makes the beds, changes towels and does all your laundry.They both have Sundays off. You choose the menu she will do the rest.Try her flying fish delicious.The best flour-less chocolate cake you've ever had. The amenities include wireless internet, cable tv, full stereo with i-pod dock, beach towels daily, chaises, shared saltwater pool,all you need to do is relax. Holetown only 4km away, has a supermarket, gourmet shops,niteclubs,top restaurants as well as the upscale duty free Lime Grove Mall.We can provide airport pickup and drop off. We recommend the following restaurants The Cliff The tides The Lone Star ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerald Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing