We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Harbour Village Beach Club(Kralendijk)
US$354
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oasis Guesthouse Bonaire(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GOOOD Resort(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Dollar Condominiums(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buddy Dive Resort(Kralendijk)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Den Laman Condominium(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Paradise Resort(Kralendijk)
US$189
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
393
500
232
101
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
500
232
101
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoucan divingtipsy seagullgrand suitethe coconut crash barbeach barfishlagoon viewseagull restaurantdive shopfloating dockall inclusive packagecoconut crushbuffet styledive mastershore diveclose to the airportrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We flew to Plaza Beach Resort on January 28 from Toronto, Canada, with Sunwing. We appreciated the direct flight to Bonaire. From the beginning, we felt well received and accommodated. Our room was excellent, having been updated a while ago, with lots of space, a very modern washroom, good bed, several closets, and a good view of the laguna area. We enjoyed the food at the buffet and found the staff very pleasant and helpful. We did a good deal of snorkeling on the house reef and always found interesting marine life there. We did not make much use of he entertainment provide by the hotel as we either had dinner late or were tired by the evenings. We found the resort very clean, environmentally conscious, and a good base from which to explore the many delights of Bonaire. We enjoyed the 25 minute walk into town a number of times and having only a three minute ride to the airport. In terms of suggestions, we would have appreciated more specific orientation on our first day of the resort, in particular, and Bonaire in general. It would be helpful to tell guests that the best snorkeling is around Klein Bonaire and that there are at least two main companies that offer excellent trips to these snorkel locations. We also did not meet the management of the hotel and did not feel very connected to how the hotel is operated. Our Sunwing representative could have been more specific in her orientation to the hotel and to Bonaire. We left wondering if anyone in charge really knew we were there. We are used to meeting the manager, or, at least, the manager of customer service at resorts where we have stayed in the Caribbean. It would also be helpful if the resort would consider developing an a la carte restaurant to offer variety from the buffet. We really liked Bonaire and the many trip, tours, and opportunities we chose to introduce us to this very interesting island. On several of our snorkeling excursions, we experienced the best and most alive coral we have seen so far in the Caribbean. This resort greatly contributed to an overall extremely satisfying two weeks this winter in Bonaire.

Room Tip: We liked our Grand Suite Laguna; purchasing a Grand Suite did open us up to a wider variety of beverages and got us an updated room.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank bolster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar_PBRB, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Bolyster_11,

Thank you for your time to write a review about us.
We are very happy to read that you have had a nice stay with us.

Thank you very much for al the complimets. We are always happy to read positive reviews like this.
We will take your feedback with us in or next meeting.

We are happy you enjoyed your holiday so much!

We hope to welcome you again at our resort.

Kind regards,


Emma | Plaza Beach & Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 12 February 2018

This resort is very clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The reef on the resort is great for both snorkeling and diving. You can do an introductory snorkel with the beach staff which will familiarize you with the reef which is very close to shore. Food was very good with lots of choice. Rent a scooter and travel around this small island ! And do go to Klein Bonaire on a water taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar_PBRB, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time to write a review about our resort.
I’m very happy to read that you have had a very nice time with us.
Thank you for your compliments. We really appriciate it.

We hope to welcome you again at Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire.

Kind regards,



Emma | Plaza Beach & Dive Resort Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

very good experience at plaza resort really didn't expect for a such cheap cost!!!
we had all inclusive option you could have everything with your blue bracelet
never found such positive treatment in other places i visited all around the world
besides i can assure the house reef (called 18 balls i think) is very rich and full of fishes
as far as meal i can say expect for lunch it was all ok
personnel staff waiter very kind and professional
thumbs up for the dive in site the toucan i had 8 dive boat with them taking me the best underwater sites everytime different and in total safety
at the end i highly recommend this place

Stayed: January 2018
Thank hiachemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar_PBRB, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Hiachemi,

Thank you very much to write a review about us.

We are happy to read you have had a nice time with us.
We will thank you fro the compliments about our staff and about the toucan dive.

We hope to welcome you again at Plaza Beach resort Bonaire.

Kind regards,


Emma | Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Another wonderful Diving Social Event, ScubaBoard SURGE 2018, is in the books! Here’s my trip report.

Our Travel Agent
Bay Adventures was the choice for our Caribbean travel agent for the 8th year now. They were there to take care of all the bookings for the group, answer questions, and assist with travel insurance and airfares for our crew of 75. All of the SURGE Crew just loves Bay Adventures! Al and Felix always do an exceptional job, which makes our planning so much easier.
We can’t thank Al and Felix from Bay Adventures enough for helping with another successful ScubaBoard Event!

Our Resort
Our accommodations for the week were The Plaza Resort in Bonaire. We held the ScubaBoard Invasion 2013 event here with difficulties, but now that the Plaza is under new management, we had quite a different experience this time. Our transports were outside the airport waiting for us and once on property, the resort staff welcomed us with a drink and a smile while helping us check in. Our room was ready, clean and with a nice layout as a home away from home for the week. The rooms are also very spacious, which is nice! And we just loved our porch overlooking the pool and water.
The group of 75 Crew members had plenty of room to spread out at the resort and the grounds were well maintained. You could sit, swim and relax by the pool, enjoy drinks at the bar, or lounge on the beach listening to the water lap the shore. If you chose to be more private, there was more than enough room and seating to do so. They even provided chairs on the outside patios of each room if you chose to relax there.
The main bar located on the beach was a fun and happening area throughout the week, to say the least. I do feel we could have used a little more staff there as I think our numbers overwhelmed them a bit.
The food and serving staff were friendly and worked hard to take care of us. They assigned a special seating area for the ScubaBoard SURGE group so we could dine at our leisure. There are normally 2 different dinner times for the guests. All meals were buffet style. They did cook eggs to order or an omelet for breakfast in addition to the buffet. At dinner, there was usually a special item or 2 prepared in the dining room such as steak, shrimp, etc.
The Plaza provided our group with a special server during dinner, Quincey, who was so charming and entertaining. We really appreciated his exceptional service during our stay.
For an alternative, there was the Scuba Bar, located next to the dive shop.
They served sandwiches, pizza, and other fares along with beverages throughout the day.
The staff did a fantastic job with the set-up, décor, and service for our welcome and farewell parties we hold for the event. They really made a great impression!
The Plaza Resort Management and Staff did an outstanding job of taking care of our group for the whole week! Kudos to General manager Sander and his excellent staff! We cannot thank everyone enough for all their hospitality and efforts!!!

Our Dive Operator
The Plaza Resort has its own Dive Operation on site, Toucan Diving to host our diving and snorkeling. The manager, Hagen worked with us in advance with information on the boats and preplanning. The 1st morning was a little rough loading the boats as to be expected, but everything went pretty smooth after that. We had 62 divers and they handled us efficiently boarding the boats all week long. Toucan Diving did have an issue with their Nitrox fills and was waiting on a part which unfortunately wasn’t scheduled to arrive until after we would have left.
Most of the dive sites were very nice and absolutely beautiful. We did get to do some of the more famous dives like The Hilma Hooker, Salt Pier, 1000 Steps and Karpata which was just gorgeous! An up swelling of cooler waters before our arrival seemed to affect the abundance and variety of sea life we normally see there.
One of the wonderful features of the Plaza Resort is the house reef, 18 Palms. It was a joy to the divers and snorkels as well. And who wouldn’t love a night dive with your very own escort of Tarpon?
Some of the group rented trucks for the week and enjoyed the shore diving freedom and adventure aspect of Bonaire.
At the end of the week, the dive opt throws a get together for the guests and staff. They take a group picture and present a rock for the memories garden. A very nice way to end the stay!
The ScubaBoard SURGE and our vision of diving social is not your normal dive group, but the staff of Toucan Diving took us in stride and made for a fantastic week of diving and snorkeling!

Our philosophy is that the people and experiences make life priceless! We love Diving Social and wouldn't want it any other way.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar_PBRB, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Mary H,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about us.
On behalf of the whole staff we will thank you for all the nice words.
We would like to thank you for the amazing week we had with you guys!

The diving was amazing and we loved your company we can’t wait to welcoming you again (Hopefully) very soon.

Kind regards,


Emma | Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We visited Plaza Resort for 1 week on Jan.28 flying non stop (~5 hrs) with Sunwing. This is towards the end of their rainy season and we had two cloudy days with rain showers. But most days were sunny around 30C / 86F and a pleasant breeze. Ocean temperature was 81F - a degree or two higher than past average.
The resort is within 5 minutes from the airport on the beach / South end of Kralendijk town. The island is pretty neat and clean and one can walk to town center in 15-20 minutes. However, 5 out of 7 days there are cruise ships anchoring downtown and it's best to avoid those days for many activities.
The Plaza Resort is clean, accommodations are roomy and air conditioners are quiet. The resort and Bonaire island with it's 19,000 inhabitants is scuba and snorkeling oriented, that's not to say that you can't enjoy a 'dry' beach / sightseeing holiday. The low rise hotel buildings are spread around an artificial harbor from which yachts and dive boats leave for the ocean. It's a pretty, spacious site with plush landscaping. Some people complained about mosquitos but none of us 4 visitors had any bites. The tap water is clean / drinkable.
The open air restaurant by the water serves tasty meals, good beer, wine and deserts. Beef dishes were tasty but not tender and we had no fish dishes while visiting. Restaurant personnel was very friendly and accommodating. There is a beach bar which serves a good variety of drinks. The beach / waterfront is spacious but there is no easy sandy beach access to the water - not ideal for small kids or non-swimmers. There is a floating dock and a concrete dock from which one can go for a swim, snorkel or shore dive. The resort has good WiFi everywhere, has mostly 110V outlets and features hair dryers in the bathrooms. Nighttime entertainment was a bit sparse: we had a pleasant night with a steel band, an outdoor movie night and a guitar player by the campfire on the beach. Snorkeling off the hotel beach was fairly good: there was coral and plenty of colorful reef fish right off the dock. A nicer snorkel spot is on the nearby Klein-Bonaire island, reachable by water taxi (15$) from downtown Kralendijk. Scuba diving is the big thing on Bonaire. I did 4 dives with the hotel's Tucan dive shop by boat. Dives were good but somewhat pricey. Shore dives at the hotel are free, especially if you have your own equipment. A short drive (by car, scooter or golf-cart) takes you to the Cargil salt flats, Flamingo pools, Kite-surfing and Lac-Bay windsurfing. The north end of the island is dry desert with many cacti, wild donkeys and iguanas. There is a park accessible by tour bus or 4-wheel drive vehicle.
There is a 10 $ US charge for ocean preservation if you snorkel and a 25$ US tag if you scuba dive.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fishynator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar_PBRB, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear fishynator,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire.
I think I can say you have had a great time on Bonaire.

We hope to welcome you again at Plaza Beach resort Bonaire.

Kind regards,


Emma | Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews