We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never AGAIN....Beware of bugs and no upkeep to units”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Let’s put this review in perspective. I have stayed at the Belmar at least 5 times in the past in the last few years. It was my preferred place to stay in Bonaire, I thought they kept the property up to ok levels...we know this is not a Four Seasons Resort. I have stayed in dive resorts all over the world so I understand that bugs can be an issue but that was only one part of the issues we experienced.

When we arrived the “usual” front desk staff were all different but still seemed to be Buddy dive people. We went to check the truck but it was a two door truck even though I asked them to confirm a four door (which they confirmed back the before the trip), I told him that there was no reason to “check” the truck because we needed a four door truck...even though he insisted three times. They did replace the truck a couple of hours later with the correct truck that worked ok, so not a big deal...Just shows a lack of detail.

We were told not to use the dishwasher until it was fixed but while we were there no information of a repair was given to us.

The building didn’t seem to have the same upkeep that I typically noticed the last few years but didn’t seem like a big deal at the time.
The AC piping in the master bedroom was dripping for some reason on the bed. We kept the unit at 22c not very cold like 17c. They checked it out and said it would be fine but it was still dripping on Tuesday, making one side of the bed unusable.

We encountered roaches each night in the unit. A couple in the kitchen, almost something you might think is normal for the area but when you encounter them in drawers in the bedrooms and the bathrooms that shows there is an issue that has gone unchecked for a period of time.

When I discreetly brought this to their attention for the second time, they said they could move us to another unit but that is all they could do. At this point my wife and I wanted nothing to do with staying in this resort. As expected, no refund of any type would be given but they did offer a dinner, which I refused.

All and all, this is not the same resort we were accustomed to when visiting the island and they have lost a long time visitor to the Harbor Village from now on. You should beware when staying at this resort or at least know what to expect. Maybe it is time to hire a exterminator!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Chitown962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapias H, General Manager at Belmar Oceanfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Family Jarmuth,

I’m so sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. That was truly not our intention. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you do give us the chance to make it right. At the moment we are solving the problems with this specific room. When you have a moment, please call me at +599 701 5080 and ask for Stefanie Blankers.

Thank you.
Best regards,
Stefanie Blankers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We'll be back. Belmar Oceanfront Apartments was the perfect accommodation for our family. Two bedrooms, two baths, full kitchen. The dock was a great launch for our morning snorkels and sunset swims. Beautifully maintained grounds, with a great pool and numerous lounge chairs. We ate out on our patio a few evenings and enjoyed the sunset from the oceanfront deck. Extremely welcoming and helpful staff. Housekeeping was very attentive, and the apartment was cleaned regularly. Provides a great flexibility for a family that needs more space than a hotel room, but still wants hotel amenities. We will return.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments provide easy dock and pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Apartments have a great location, right on the water, but there is no beach: it's a sea wall and a dock between you and the water. Apartments are very large and well-equipped, with air conditioning in the bedrooms (bathrooms and living areas are as hot and humid as it gets). Each apartment has its own balcony overlooking the water with seating so that you can enjoy the view. The property is very small, however, just limited to the apartments and a small pool area, and there is no restaurant (but there is one at the hotel across the street). Belmar is affiliated with Buddy Dive, so you can organize boat dives right from the Belmar Dock. The complex has run down a bit since the last time I stayed there, several years ago, but is still acceptable (for one example, exterior lighting on stairs outside our apartment was out). You definitely need a car if you stay there, but parking is limited so if you are the last one in at night you might have a hard time finding a place to park (the small lot fills up and there is limited street parking). Dive staff are really excellent; front office staff was surly at times.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Great place, nice staff. Especially good for diving. You can go directly there at yourself or as a group.The apartments are huge. Very nice ocean view. You need a car to be able to reach a restaurants or shops.
Only a few minutes from the airport, but not noise because of the planes.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We stayed for a week in room 20. If you have a party of at least six people this unit is a good choice. It has 3 bedrooms & 3 baths. The common area & balcony are very spacious and we enjoyed eating our meals at the outside table. The WiFi signal was very strong from our balcony. The kitchen really has everything you need for meal prep. This unit is on the south side of the complex, so it is very convenient for rinsing/storing your dive gear. Airport pickup, dive shop registration and rental car service are just steps away. We enjoyed our week and plan to return.

Room Tip: Ground floor units are all 2 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WeBDivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1 km away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.9 km away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
85 reviews
4.8 km away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
5.2 km away
Den Laman Condominium
Den Laman Condominium
#4 of 50 in Kralendijk
297 reviews
6.8 km away
Sorobon Beach, Wellness & Windsurf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Oceanfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Oceanfront Apartments

Address: EEG Boulevard 88, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range: RM1,013 - RM1,752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmar Oceanfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and intimate resort with a colorful garden and of course, spectacular ocean views wrapped around terraces and balconiesTake leave of your everyday stress and step into an exclusive resort that refreshes your body and soul!Now we have made it even easier, try our Drive, Dive and Stay packages and Surf Away Packages. Or any one of our three diving packages - unlimited shore diving, 1-tank boat dives, or 2-tank boat dives. Not to worry we have non-diver rates as well.Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Bonaire offering first class accommodations to scuba divers, sun-seekers, snorkelers, birdwatchers, nature lovers, and especially the "get away from it all" vacationer. Enjoy shore diving from our resort anytime of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmar Oceanfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Hotel Bonaire
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing