We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$495
US$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sand Dollar Condominiums(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GOOOD Resort(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Club Bonaire(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buddy Dive(Kralendijk)
US$166
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Paradise Resort(Kralendijk)
US$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
285
46
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
46
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssenior suiteprivate piervip divingnice dockstayed in a junior suitefishliving roomabsolutely stay here againfull kitchenice makerclose to the airportdinner reservationsbottle of champagnelounge chairslocked storagerental carsnorkel trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We learnt about this little hotel, directly at the sea, via TripAdvisor. Ratings was very good. Almost to good to believe.

All through the booking process the employees at the hotel was extremely serviceminded and took care of all our special requests in a timely fashion. Once we arrived, very tired after one day involuntary delay, we immediately felt very welcome and was very pleased with the senior suite we got (205). The entire apartment was both clean and well equipped, especially the kitchen. The big balcony, facing the sea, was our favourite for breakfast and dinner.
There were suffient with comfortable sunchairs for everyone in the garden and at the pier . Excellent snorkling directly from the pier as well.
The front office people offered to take care of our dinner reservation and managed to get us the best table everywhere.
A big thank you to everyone at Bellafonte who helped us have a marvellous vacation.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank GustavKjell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

It's right on the approach path for the airport so it's slightly noisy but there really aren't many planes taking off and landing, and none at night. The ocean in front of the hotel is teeming with marine life. As with most of the island you can just jump in and swim about 50 metres to the drop-off where the marine life is incredible. You almost don't need to go scuba diving. The staff are friendly and very helpful. You have to make reservations for almost every activity on the island and the front desk staff are only too happy to share their expertise and make the phone calls for you.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dangerus_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

This was a very pleasant hotel and is good for SCUBA divers. Our room was upgraded to a senior suite which was huge. It was a two bedroom suite with a large living room and a nice kitchen on the first floor (sapphire suite 102). There is a good bar/restaurant (Wind Sock) right next door that is very convenient. There is a pleasant hot tub, but no swimming pool. There is a nice pier extending out from the property with a water-entry stairway for sunning or swimming entry. You can gear-up for scuba diving on your patio, walk out to the pier and jump in to start a very nice dive on the nearby reef. There is no dive shop on site, but there is a place for VIP diving to swap out air (but not Nitrox) filled tanks, but we did not use that. There are several dive shops nearby, but not in walking distance. There are two gear rinse stations and outdoor showers. On the south side of the property, there is a large locked shed where you can store your gear after rinsing. The staff was very helpful and nice. The room had good air-conditioning and cleanliness. This is near the airport, but there are no flights at night. We were never disturbed in any way by airplanes flying over and even enjoyed watching a few on landing approach while enjoying cocktails on our patio.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChessHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Over the past ten years we have returned to the Bellafonte five times. It’s a well run , beautiful building with a really nice dock/ deck right on the water. Surprisingly decent snorkeling ,too. In my opinion, the term hotel implies some features that are not present here. This is more of a condo building with daily maid service and complimentary coffee pods . There is no restaurant or spa. The office staff will make restaurant reservations for you and are available for other questions. Keep in mind that each unit is privately owned so there is a range of amenities and furnishings. This penthouse unit, 401, is the most spacious and comfortably furnished. It is, unfortunately, on the noisy side of the building.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mcguyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

This was our second stay at the Bellafonte. We stayed in a Junior Suite. What an amazing view! All staff was friendly and attentive. Thanks to Lesley, Shari, and Cindy for all your help and for making our stay enjoyable. I love that the Bellafonte never feels crowded due to having a small number of rooms, so you never have to fight for a chair by the water as you do at larger resorts. Great location on the island and easy to find since it is close to the airport. The only downsides you should be aware of if you are thinking of renting a Junior Suite is that there is
1. very little space for your clothing and toiletry items (If I were staying longer than a week, I would get a Senior Suite)
2. a super small hot water heater. (I’m not sure if the Senior Suites have a larger hot water heater or not.) You will have to turn off the water when soaping up, washing hair, conditioning hair, shaving, etc. or you will not have enough hot water to rinse. It gets really annoying, but I understand water is expensive on Bonaire.
On our last visit, we had to go out and buy our own paper towels, coffee for brewing, and coffee filters. This time they were all provided. The cleaning staff did a great job of keeping the unit spotless, making sure we had plenty of bath linens, and providing clean kitchen towels after we used them for washing our dishes. The only small suggestion I would make for a future visit is that the Bellafonte provide a different type of body soap. The bars provided are so small that it is hard to keep a hold of them while soaping your washcloth. (I would guess about 1” by 2” by ¼” thick) Last time they had nicer bath products, but it is easy to just bring your own. For divers, the property does have an outdoor shower, rinse tank, locked storage, and bench for suiting up and heading out straight from the Bellafonte dock. Another new addition to the property is that VIP Diving keeps a supply of tanks onsite for easy guest pick up; however, we did not use this service since we have had such good experiences using Dive Friends Bonaire when on the island. Dive Friends has a location very close to the north at Port Bonaire and fairly close to the south at Delfins resort. Delfins is a new location that just opened a few months ago, so now it is easy to pick up a tank no matter which direction you are heading out to dive. We love Bonaire, and we love the Bellafonte.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wbl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews