We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$186
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Antonio & Yamiley Varadero(Varadero)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
US$114
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,144)
Filter reviews
2,144 results
Traveller rating
363
824
545
239
173
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
824
545
239
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzaquiet resortthree barsbeach barmojito barfriesmagic showitalian restaurantporksmaller resorta la cartelots of hot watergreat beachcleaned dailybottle of rumresort staffpeanut butter
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 2,144 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We had to change rooms three times in order to get a decent room. One that had a good mattress, furniture, and then actual space to walk around in the room. We had no safe for three days but we’re still charged for it.There are no face cloths in the whole resort. There is not enough cleaning people to clean rooms. Sometimes it’s done in the morning and some days when you want to go to your room for a rest around 4 o’clock they’re just starting to do your room. The food leaves a lot to be desired, there is no pop! Nothing that we would classify as pop if you mix it with their rum it’s not bad, but those of us who do not drink found it with no bubbles and so sweet it was sickly!! The beach is beautiful. Service staff were very nice.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We met up with our 3 adult children at Turquesa. Interesting week. The resort itself is very nice, the rooms we had as part of a Sunwing package were subpar, but I believe that was expected. Interesting that one of our daughters paid 50% more than we did and got a similar substandard room as her sister who paid significantly less. The mattress was old fashioned but very comfortable. We had fluffy pillows available. Linens were old but clean, second set even starched???? First world problems really. Room was clean. We opted for a room upgrade in our package and the room was slightly less rundown than the other rooms in our party. All things considered, it was a restful week. The air conditioner was newer and we only used at night. Didn't want to open the windows, which we did during the day, because of night bugs. But we spent little to no time in our rooms anyway.

Front desk ladies were curt and businesslike, some people say grumpy, but I guess that's their job - they are the gate keepers of the resort. The system is obviously different here than in other parts of the world. The resort staff were fabulous, very friendly, helpful, enthusiastic, loved all of them. We tipped 147CUC's over the week (that was just us - the others in our party also tipped). We didn't mind at all as the staff worked very hard on our behalf and we felt the price for an all inclusive was deeply discounted so someone was losing money somewhere and I don't think it was Sunwing.

The food got better and better as the week progressed and was overall very good. Loved all the squashes and vegetable dishes. The pork dishes were very good as was the fish ceviche. Great doughnuts - all I ate for breakfast was doughnuts - don't judge me.

The resort was well maintained, clean if not for the slobby tourists dropping their garbage everywhere. The beach was great. Great swimming, kayaks, catamarans available. No snorkelling on the Varadero beach, nor paddle boards available. There were highly shows at the Siboney Bar and a cuban day with roast pig, crushed sugar cane, a cuban parade. There are lots of antique cars lined up beside the resort to hire for day trips to anywhere.

We travel 4 months of the year and never stay in the same place twice. We always do a la carte and I still prefer this to an all inclusive, but maybe staying put for a week with a group of people works on some level. I find you drink and eat way more than necessary at an all inclusive.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are bigger and less run down. Fourplex units 11 - 16 are on the resort road and there is bus traffic 24/7.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RockyMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Slightly better than average resort (third time to Varadero). Keep expectations in check and you wont be disappointed. Place was clean, nicely laid out and maintence staff could be seen continously tweaking things. This is a smaller, quiet resort...reception, pool, buffet and beach was less than 5 min walking distance of each other. Our room (533) was basic but everything was in working order. We were on first floor with small wrap around balcony. Room was stocked with one 1L bottle of water only on our first day. TIP: Found out on last day that we could have paid extra 6-12 CUC to have water/pop/beer stocked in fridge for the week. This hotel is 10 CUC taxi ride to downtown Varadero. Option to use hop on/off bus stop (5 CUC p.p/day) is 5 min walk on the highway. We tried one morning and two full up buses passed us by. Ended up sharing a taxi with another couple. Check out time was 12:00 noon. There is an option to extend room stay til 4:00pm for an extra 30 CUC depending on availability. We opted to store our things in the luggage room and used washroom in gym to change into our travel clothes on our last day. Currently the hotel exchange rate is 0.69 Cdn/$1CUC. At bank in Varadero it was 0.75Cdn/$1CUC. The bank had an ATM machine. There seemed to be many tourists/locals using it. There is moped rental place around the corner from Hotel. You must be 18 to rent. (Didnt ask how much). We didnt go see Air Canada Rep presentation. TIP: travel supplier binders near reception will tell you what time your departure bus is scheduled to pick you up for airport for return trip home.

Food was very good for Cuba. As other reviews have said they really know how to make their bread! Some days food was recycled from lunch but we always looked forward to meals. My son loved the ceviche and bbq chicken. There is always pork dishes and fresh fish being grilled at dinner. Some nights had shrimp (camarones). At breakfast omlettes and crepes were best. Snack bar ran out of hot dogs every night but there were always sandwiches to be had. My favourite was Chef's special (pork sandwich). At the beach restaurant, continential breakfast could be had if you miss the morning buffet that closes at 10:00am. Lunch buffet starts relatively late at 12:45pm. Then closes at 2:45 til Dinner. We generally got ready for Dinner at 7:00pm after the pool closed. Ate at 8:00pm which coincided with live band at 8:30pm. The evening show would begin at 9:30pm and last until 10:30-11:00. DJ would play until midnight. Most people dispersed for bed after that. No disco/night life here! We enjoyed the shows. Check the schedule for the evening's entertainment. The Rock and Roll band was especially good. Cuban Day is on Thursday and not to be missed-- spit roast pig and great enterainment. We only reserved one a la carte (Cuban). Surprised to find it had buffet style salad bar and dessert bar. A la carte's could only be booked at 10:00am on the day of. Didnt bother to try the Mexican or Italian.

Best part of our trip was all people we met from different parts of Canada. Resort had 75% Canadians I'd guess. Some of resort staff really stood out for us. I especially liked Lazarita at the main buffet. Jeny and Lazarus (?), the animators, were great. Gilberto the beach guy was helpful as well. As long as we got to the beach just after breakfast, he'd manage to find us a palapas or beach umbrella. The beds by the pool were more comfortable but wasnt always enough shade. Depending on red/green flag days we alternated between beach/poolside. Volleyball didnt happen everyday :( My son enjoyed the snorkeling off the beachside catamaran $20CUC/pp. He also enjoyed feeding the lizards cold cuts from buffet. TIP: Bring a thermos or Bubba to get your drinks otherwise you'll have to deal with small disposible cups. It will save you repeat trips to bar, keep your drinks cold and sand out!

We didnt travel with younger children but didnt notice any entertainment geared towards them. There was a small park, kids club (didnt go in) and shallow area of pool roped off for little ones. Resort had ramps and signs depicting being wheelchair accessible. Since there is no ramp or stairs/railings into the pool I think access would be limited. Ditto for beach--there is a boardwalk with stairs just as you arrive to the beach.

Would I come back? If the price was right, maybe. I would have preferred to be closer to downtown Varadero to enjoy the nightlife and shopping at the many souvenir markets.

Stayed: March 2018
13  Thank msottawaeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Our very first trip to Cuba was at this resort. Have you ever experienced being taken care of to the point where nothing is forgotten. This was our experience in this resort. Very clean, hardworking staff, room was always clea n, grounds and beach well maintained and supervised. I would go back every month if I could afford the money. The food is good. Plenty. Great evening entertainment in evening. We tried Cuban and Mexican al la carte. Amazing. A small, quiet resort that I will return to again and again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
10  Thank bevfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed this small hotel. All the staff are friendly and made us all feel like at home. The food was good and plenty of choices. The best part of this hotel is the beach. They have plenty of beds for everyone, clean and good music.
We would go back to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
8  Thank Esperanza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews