We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$183
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Antonio & Yamiley Varadero(Varadero)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
US$111
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,884)
Filter reviews
2,884 results
Traveller rating
624
912
675
374
299
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
912
675
374
299
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscuban barsuperior roommain poolcubanoswim up barstayed in buildingmichael jackson showbig resortfoam partya la cartesactivity poolcleaning ladybeautiful beachmain buffetbeefgreat entertainmentseafood restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 2,884 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Grand Memories buffet is excellent. The resort is clean and the night shows were great. However, housekeeping needs attention. The first day there was no toilet paper roll. Out of four days of our stay, the washroom was cleaned and the beds were made only two days. Towels were not replaced.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. We are very happy to achieve that you enjoyed the buffet as well as the night shows. We also take note of your suggestion regarding the housekeeping and we will share your comments with the person in charge.

We hope we could welcome you again very soon in the future,

Best wishes,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks vacation to Cuba. What an incredible experience, especially meeting such wonderful people. To name those we met :

- Roberto : BEST omelette maker
- Tania : BEST waitress of her group
- Lettie : great waitress
- Beatriz : great waitress
- Adir : OUTSTANDING barman with such personality
- Joel : wonderful waiter with such heart
- Misleydis : excellent waitress for the bar
- Manuel : superb youngster left his studies of dentistry to be a waiter at the bar
- Lady Landa : exceptional receptionist
- Natchos : New from Spain, to manage the F&B operations. Amazing person
- Julio : hotel manager helping out in the dining area was so helpful.

Now the review you're waiting for ....
The hotel is very well maintained. We upgraded to a superior suite in building 20. Excellent location, room okay. You don't spend too much time there anyway. Clean and neat. Always had towels towards end of day. Thanks to Alexandro who maintained our room.

We took an excursion to Havana. Santos was our super amazing guide. The beach was wonderful, and thanks to Raul there for bringing our drinks.

When we arrived on Thursday night 22nd Dec, check in was CRAZY. We waited in line for an hour. Only got to our room at 1:45AM. That needs attention.

The morning buffet restaurant Bouganvilla is much too crowded as everyone arrives simultaneously. Definitely need two morning buffet areas.

Our Xmas eve dinner was SUPERB.

We chose the Oriental and Gourmet restaurants for a la carte. The sushi at Oriental was shocking, but the dessert delicious. The Gourmet was okay, perhaps we should have chosen Italian.

I would certainly recommend this resort to everyone.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Meldoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words after your recent stay at Grand Memories Varadero. We are very happy to read the comments about our staff and the excellent location of your room. We are pleased to achieve that you enjoyed a lot your vacation and especially your Xmas Eve dinner.

We hope we could welcome you again in the near future in Varadero,

Best wishes,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

From the minute we arrived to our room things were off. No water no mini bar. Then for the next six days I had no toilet paper. I tipped the housekeeper everyday and still received no service. No towels, no water no mini bar. So lets get to the restaurants i dinned at all three the Italian, Creole, and the gourmet restaurant. All of them had slow service and all of them were out of something every night we ate there. no chicken at the creole, no meat at the gourmet and no veal at the Italian. Wow !! Then in the lobby bar did not matter how many times I tipped service was slow and they were more interested in having their own drink. Only one buffet was open the while week i was there and it caused us to wait in line to go eat. Then when we were finally sat down all the food inserts were empty and it took forever to refill. The pasta and chicken stations always had twenty people in line and they were always running out. Why the other buffet was not open made no sense to me. All I can say that this place used to be the old R.I.U and it was great. This is one Sunwing vacation I would not recommend. I will also ? any further Sunwing vacations.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noon7033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear guest,

We are very sad to read that you haven't had a good experience at our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We will share your comments with the food and beverage manager in order to take the necessary adjustments to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Warm regards,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

I returned today from Grand Memories. Let me start with the positives . The staff in the restaurants and all public areas were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were always clean with toiletries. The hotel grounds are beautiful. The evening entertainment was the best I have seen in the Caribbean and the staff daytime entertainment was always good fun and lively. Now for the bad news, the hotel food was very poor . Christmas Day evening we ate in the creole restaurant ,it was a set menu the chicken was so dry and shrivelled we could not eat it and left. It was almost impossible to book a reataurant and the main restaurant is nothing more than a very noisy canteen, which you had to cue up to get in. There is 23 hour snack bar so we went there they had no pasta or pizza and no orange juice or tomato ketchup.we ate at the Bar B Q they were using their fingers to put the pork into your rolls and my chicken was raw in the middle. My daughter had a dress taken from her room and her friend had her shoes taken. Also most evenings there was no hot water. The TUI rep appoligised on the coach on the way to the airport because he had so many complaints. Cuba is an amazing place and the people are lovely but I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Maureen,

We are very sad to read that you haven't met your expectations regarding the food at our hotel. We want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at the creole restaurant. Moreover, we regret the issues you mentioned at the snack bar. We are going to share your comments and suggestions with the departments involved as we are always working to improve our service,

We hope you could give us a second chance in the future,

Warm regards,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Overall, the resort and facilities were what you would expect for an all inclusive holiday.
The food in the communal restaurant was always cold and this was the theme throughout our holiday, despite mentioning it to the restaurant management and the TUI guides who seemed not to be interested. A leaking sewer pipe outside the restaurant took a week to fix.
We would go back to Veradaro and Havana but NOT to this complex!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank chrisnkay2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Chris,

Thank you for letting us know your opinion after your stay at our resort. We apologize for the problems with the temperature of food at the main buffet. We are already working to fix the equipment. We want to point out that we care about that and we are doing all in our hands to improve the experience of our guests.

We hope you could give us a second chance to change your opinion about our hotel,

Sincerely,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews