We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,437)
Filter reviews
4,437 results
Traveller rating
2,745
1,119
319
143
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,745
1,119
319
143
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beatles bar colonial section juan pablo lobby bar facing the street public relations main building pool guy havana club beautiful beach josone park cuban restaurant small resort downtown varadero the general manager night life buffet staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 4,437 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2020

Cuatro Palmas is the jewel of Varadero.
We have had 15 visits in 11 years.
We've watched it transform from a diamond in the rough to the jewel of Varadero,with many upgrades and renovations that have been done.
It is located in the heart of the Varadero strip. You are surrounded by all the fine restaurants, night clubs and many souvenir markets, which are all in walking distance.
The rooms are exceptionally clean with comfortable beds, hot water, new ACs and new fridges. Based on it's unique layout you can be anywhere on the resort from your room in under two minutes. Whether its the front lobby or the beautiful pristine beach. They have recently installed many new palapas (beach umbrella's) on the beach as well, so there is more than enough for all the guests.

The entire staff are warm and friendly, from the front desk, to the housekeepers, buffet staff, A La carte staff, bartenders, groundskeepers, pool staff, public relations and the Resort Manager. As well the bell hop, Alberto, my Cuban brother.

We have traveled all through the caribbean but always return to Cuatro Palmas at least once a year and some times twice, seeing we are so well treated by who we consider our second familia as well our second home.
We are hoping we can get back there this year to not only enjoy this wonderful resort but to visit with our Cuban Familia.
If you plan to visit Varadero, this resort is a "must go to" place. I guarantee you'll return!

Room tip: All rooms are good .
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ldepa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2020

Dear Guest, 

On behalf of all Starfish Cuatro Palmas staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our resort with the TripAdvisor readers. Trust me when I say your review made us really happy. It was a pleasure to have you again at home and we are already missing you and looking forward to receiving you again. We work hard every day to give our usual excellent service and your review is the proof we succeeded in reaching our goals. Moreover, it is very nice for us to see our guests appreciate the renovations of the resort. Your words are the reward of it.  Last but not least, we are very proud to know our staff has been always so attentive with you and that they are the main reason why our guests keep coming back.
Thank you very much for choosing us once again and we hope to see you again at your home in paradise for another amazing experience. 

Warm regards, 

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2020

Right in the heart of Varadero!! Close to many amenities. Nightlife is great, from calle 62 to Beatles Bar! Many excellent restaurants and flea markets. The hotel is in a perfect location. Some great renovations have been done. Lobby bar is nice and bright. Bar staff are fun and friendly. Front desk staff are helpful! We have been coming here for 12 years. Our awesome bellhop, Alberto is knowlegable about the different attractions around Cuba. Pool staff Mario and Mikel keep that area in tip top shape!! Entertainment staff, what can I say!! Great dancers, fitness is a must with Frankie and the animation team! Restaurant staff are always ready with a smile as you enter the diningroom! The A La Carte restaurants are fabulous! Andres at the Italian restaurant is great!!
Of course the whole complex is under the direction of Juan Pablo Fortun! He is a great person and has everything under control which is why the hotel runs very well!
We were last here September 2019 and we so hope that when it is safe to do so, we can return to the gem of a hotel!

Room tip: All rooms are great! If you end up facing the street it can be a big noisy
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2020

Dear Guest, 

On behalf of all Starfish Cuatro Palmas staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our resort with the TripAdvisor readers. Trust me when I say your review made us really happy. It was a pleasure to have you again at home and we are already missing you and looking forward to receiving you again. We work hard every day to give our usual excellent service and your review is the proof we succeeded in reaching our goals. Moreover, it is very nice for us to see our guests appreciate the renovations of the resort. Your words are the reward of it.  Last but not least, we are very proud to know our staff has been always so attentive with you. We will forward your message to all the people you have mentioned. We are sure they are going to be very happy to hear your words. 
Thank you very much for choosing us once again and we hope to see you again at your home in paradise for another amazing experience. 

Warm regards, 

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2020 via mobile

We had a great week at the hotel, we booked a slightly superior room which was fine.

The staff were all very good. Particularly shout out to the event team *** Ivan, Joseu and Frank *** are brilliant guys. They made the stay very enjoyable and always happy to chat or play volley ball Also two young waiters in the buffet restaurant were top notch Brandy and Alberto!!

The food was good, there is a great chef from Spain on site, but make sure you book some nights into the 2 a la carte restaurants. Great location and beach side setting!

I would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WillXOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2020

Dear Guest, 

First of all, we would like to thank you for providing part of your time on writing a review about your experience with us. We are glad to hear our food reached your expectations and that you enjoyed our beautiful beach. Moreover, we are pleased to know our staff was so kind and nice to you since customer services is our mail goal. We will forward your message to Ivan, Joseu, Frank, Brandy and Alberto. We are sure they are going to be very happy to hear about your words.
Thank you very much for choosing Starfish Cuatro Palmas for your holidays and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards, 

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2020

We booked this hotel on an all-inclusive basis for the last 3 days of our holiday.The hotel was very smart. The pool area was very clean with plenty of sunbeds. The staff were very pleasant, especially in the dining room, though some of the bar staff were a bit grumpy and didn't seem to understand good customer service.

The bedroom was in the old colonial part of the hotel and was quite a walk to the main facilities. It was rather disappointing compared to the rest of the hotel.

Drinks were of a high quality. However, the food in the restaurant was, at best, only adequate. There was always something we could find to eat but very little to tempt the palate and it was often only tepid. Previous meals throughout our 3 week stay in Cuba easily surpassed anything served at Cuatro Palmas. They need to up their game if they are to maintain a reasonable reputation.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

Dear Jeff, 

We would like to give you a thank you for providing part of your time to share your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to see overall our staff was very attentive with you and you enjoyed the pool area as well as our drinks. However, we regret to know we could not reach your expectations. As we are continually improving, we will take all your insights with a profound sense of responsibility to improve these issues and address them properly. Your comment has been sent to each department in order to give the attention required.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to prove ourselves.
Thank you for choosing us.

Best regards, 

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

I had to read these reviews again having returned home to make sure I read them right first time.

Room: average. Shower curtain repeatedly fell down so ended up leaving it on the floor. Tap splutters so we always soak you. No water pressure in the shower. Rooms are tired.

Beach: fantastic. The selling point of the property.

Noise: there is constant music here so don't expect to relax. Music played for activities during the day, music played by guests who bring their own speakers, music at night for the entertainment.

Alcohol: the drinks are fine.However the problem with all inclusive is that some people can't handle their drink. Which then leads to domestic arguments or idiots. Both of which I would rather not be around and both of which were at this resort.

Food: dreadful. In fact, if it was in the UK I suspect it would be closed down. Dead flies in the food seen on more than one occasion. The problem being the cream on the cakes is too sticky so they get stuck in the cakes and die (no joke). All food is uncovered. Buffet is bland. You can choose to book at one of the al a carte restaurants but that was equally as poor.

Plastic: All drinks are served in plastic cups with a plastic straw. I don't like to think of the environmental impact of this place in terms of its waste.

Wifi: only available near reception. Wont work if too many people are logged on. Costs £1 per hour.

Staff: Wonderful people.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend staying in this property or Varadero. My advice to management to improve things very quickly:

1. Cover all the food,
2. Prohibit people bringing their own speakers and playing them on your property,
3. Give staff training on when to stop serving alcohol to drunk people,
4. Stop using single use plastic.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank pacmybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rrssBDcuba, Director General at Starfish Cuatro Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2020

Dear guest, 

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We are very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you might encountered during your stay at the resort. We strive to provide the best experience that satisfies all guests and we regret to know you found some issues that caused you discomfort. Your kind observations have been shared with our departments and allow me to say we are already making some changes.
We hope you give us a second opportunity to prove ourselves in the future.

Best regards, 

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews