We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf and Beach Vacation!”
Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Golf and Beach Vacation!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel was fantastic, the service was way above and beyond our expectations. We knew that the Cuban people were nice, and they amazed us on the level of service they brought forward. They have shows every night, and one of the people that MC the events is a great person to talk to as he can help you plan your week to get as much as you can out of your stay. Jordan or Yordan was THE GUY to help make your stay over the top! The jeep tour we booked was awesome as well, bring a bunch of dollar store items to give to the people along the way, they have very little and are waiting for the jeeps to bring goodies, they stand on the dirt roads and smile and wave. We were prepared and brough lots of t shirts and candies and toys and made alot of people happy. Also bring dollar store earings and nail polish and female products to leave for tips, i was under the impression that the gifts are personal and they keep those, but the money gets split up. At the piano bar are 3 of the friendliest bartenders ever, Yussi, Lesley and Rosannna were great, If you say "YOU see, I see" to yussi you will definately get a huge smile, as this was our claim ti fame while we were there!!! They had a great time with us albertans!! The golf course was, yes you guessed it fantastic!!!! The language barrier was evident with the green keepers, but one of them was a person i will never forget. Gehovanni was the guy who asked us about our ball caps, sounded like a ball cap would be a great item to own, so we hooked him up with some new camo hats on the day of our departure and filled them with gifts, he almost cried, and so did i. It was a fantastic moment! A trip to Havanna is a must do, just talk to Jordan and he can guide you in the right direction. Tell him Levon from Alberta sent you, that will get you an instant smile! The food was a little on the bland side, this was the only part that was hard to get used to, but i did find a sauce that helped with that, but most of the days the bottle was empty. There is a fantastic Pizzaria just down the street at the next Hotel, in the plaza, a must try. At Las Americas there is a bunch of a la carte restaurants, the trick is to book the day that you arrive cause the food there is alot better, but they are always full, so book a reservation at each of them on the nights of your choice. I would rate this resort 9/10 losing one point to the food, which is easily fixed by bring a bag of spices with you. Also the snorkeling which is done on the jeep tour has porr equipment, if you want to do this, bring your own mask and snorkel, use their fins and it will be way more enjoyable!


We totally would return here in a heartbeat, but a 2 week stay would be better!

Room Tip: Ocean view is on my prority list, i recommend asking for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coconut2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,096
    1,527
    443
    166
    71
See reviews for
640
2,917
345
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had 2 weeks at the Melia in February/March and just loved Cuba. Great hotel, food in the buffet was better than we had hoped (lots of choice) and the food at the other bookable hotels was great - the International by far the best, make sure you book for this one in particular. Rooms good (we didn't have a balcony so this was the only gripe with us), the beach was lovely and the entertainment some of the best we have seen. Great dancers and good choreography. We travelled with Virgin and the rep was awful - the welcome meeting should have taken 20 minutes and he took 50 and then kept telling the 4 couples that he had to leave in 10 minutes to get to another hotel, so we were all very rushed in making reservations! However, I would advise not to make them with Virgin - you can go upstairs in the hotel and book the self same reservations for exactly the same price. Havana was a must - we would have liked 3 or 4 days there but only managed 2. Tropicana was good but our seats could have been better - there was no option to buy better seats. My husband is a diver - went with Barracuda once - not very good, but he found a small private one just on the beach - Blue Ocean Dive Centre. Great chap, little more expensive but much better service. I accompanied him on a dive to Giron and had a great day - he arranged for us to eat locally which was superb and very cheap. Moral - if you are a diver find Blue Ocean over Barracuda (Virgin recommends Barracuda). Children and Cubans like it if you take pens and pencils with you (Havana especially) and if you have any old mobile phones, you would be very popular. Loved Cuba and would go again, and to this hotel too but next time would have 3 or 4 days in Havana and then go to Varadero.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony - we didn't and there were not many hotels without a balcony - we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryDave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at Melia Las Americas from 23rd Feb to 4th March and had a wonderful time:

We arrived at 2pm, an hour before you can check in. We were asked to take a seat in the spacious lobby so that we could fill in our check in details in comfort. We were then issued with our wrist bands and told to make ourselves at home until we could check in. The porter took care of our bags so we didn't need to sit and look after them. We went to the lobby bar to enjoy a nice cold beer and start the relaxation. From where we sat we could see the check in desk and as 3pm approached the world and his wife descended upon them to check in, but we're on holiday, we've got a nice beer in our hand and we're in no rush so we waited until the queue died down.

Check in was uneventful but swift and a porter was called to collect our bags from the storage area and take them to our room which was on the 4th floor in the main building. We had chosen not to upgrade to a sea view room and when we looked out we had views across the golf course and out onto the sea, all we didn't have was the beach to look at but the sun rises more than made up for that. Plus we're on holiday if we want to look at the beach we would just walk out onto it.

After stashing our bags in the room we went to explore our home for the next 10 days. From the lobby you walk straight out onto the small flight of steps and then you are on the beach. Lovely white sandy beach with beautiful blue sea. We then took a walk through the grounds to scope out the pools.

We had been warned before going to Cuba that the food wasn’t going to be great but we never had a problem with any of it. The buffet had a wide variety of choice each evening and our favourite was the stirfry which would be cooked to order whilst you waited. Wine and water readily available during lunch and dinner, if you want a beer or cocktail you might find it quicker to order it at the lobby bar and take it into the buffet yourself. Breakfasts covered everything we needed and the freshly cooked omelettes were lovely. The temperature control was a little off, the food in the heated trays would sometimes be cooler than the plates and the glasses for the variety of juices were always very hot to touch. We went to 3 out of the 4 specialty restaurants. The Japanese and Italian ones were set menu and especially at the Italian we felt it was a race to get us through our courses and out the door. The International restaurant is a la carte and delicious. Not being fans of seafood we gave the seafood restaurant a miss but it was a firm favourite of ours for lunch instead where it was a BBQ. If you wanted to have something to eat outside of the restaurant hours the Cascada bar served sandwiches, chips and snacks 24 hours a day or you could order room service.

During the day we would alternate between spending time on the beach or by one of the 4 pools. We were always able to get a space under a Palapa on the beach and found the 3rd and 4th pools to always be quieter. At the 3rd pool they also have the swim up bar where Yanet did a fantastic job of serving drinks and food to everyone all by herself.

The lobby bar is often crowded and may take a while to get a drink, Cascada bar was often much quieter and easier to get served so we would spend our afternoons and evenings in here.
Our maid Julia was wonderful leaving us towel art each day, everytime she saw us she would greet us with a big smile and would have a quick chat with us.
The resort is over 18’s only but being in our early 30’s it did feel like we were the youngest there, but we were there to relax not to party so it suited us down to the ground.

If you want to go to Cuba to see the real Cuba you need to spend time away from Varadero, we’d spent 4 nights in Havana prior to going to Varadero so all we wanted from the time spent here was pure relaxation which is exactly what we got.

The 10 days spent here flew by and we didn’t want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picks80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed her January 28th to February 4th 2012. The resort is well kept and clean. The rooms are a little small (but really you're never really in them with the beautiful beach steps away. The housekeeping staff was great, our room was refreshed everyday, our mini fridge stocked with Soda and beer each night. The coffee is instant, and there are no coffee makers in the room, so I would recommend bringing some Starbucks via if you need your coffee fix before you leave your room.

The wait staff in the buffet was wonderful, a little slow, but hey, you're on vacation...relax a little. My only critique is that the bartenders weren't very friendly. I rarely saw a smile, they did not look like they were having fun. However, they do pour a mean mojito!

The food was also very good. We never wanted for anything, there was a nice variety and quality. The Gourmet Al La Carte was AMAZING, complete with 4 piece quartet! The wait staff in the Al La Cartes were amazing! Be sure to tip well and for an added bonus maybe bring them some gum.

If you go to Havana I recommend going through Cubanacan and getting a private tour, there were 5 of us and it worked out to be about $85 each (plus any additional activities and food while on the road). We had a private Van, driver and guide! It beats going from hotel to hotel and wasting time picking up tourists along the way.

The beach was beautiful, white sand. I only wish they would rake it and clean it more, there were a lot of cigarette and cigar butts in the sand.

The rooms were a little loud, it seems there were some folks arguing in the wee early hours of the morning in the hallway, and due to the marble floors the sound really carried.

Room Tip: The bungalow suites are in a more tranquil area, but you cannot get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had a wonderful time at Melia Las Americas, I am a true fan of the Sol Melia, but Varadero hotels and their people are just amazing! While on vacation my husband noticed he had forgotten his backpack with his wallet and very expensive camera, we had been to the beach and other areas at the hotel and we couldn't remember where...amazingly it was returned to us and the money was intact!, I was very surprised, and the Director of Security, Mr. Geonel Naranjo was so professional and attentive, with such a level of service I will make sure I return and I will pass the word among my friends

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.6 km away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
8.4 km away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
2.0 km away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,218 reviews
5.5 km away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Property: Melia Las Americas
Address: | Playa de Las Américas, Varadero, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price range (per night): RM970 - RM1,961
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing