We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,700)
Filter reviews
8,700 results
Traveller rating
3,916
2,111
1,241
778
654
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,916
2,111
1,241
778
654
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tryp peninsula kids pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants walk in closet fish pasta main buffet kids club buffet restaurant main pool fries beef the double decker bus recommend this resort other resorts beach restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 8,700 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2023

We had our best resort trip here. Staff was great at the restaurant's and bar's. Roberto in the main buffet and Donalla and Yaimi were standouts at the beach buffet, as were all the others. Rooms were cleaned well and smelt great. Food was good, not a lot of variety but excellent for Cuba standards. Even the guys at the beach would go search out chairs for us. Nightlife entertainment was excellent and lots of it.
We had 1 bad situation that occurred on our last night unfortunately we encountered 2 drunk staff who refused to serve us, we had stopped by the restaurant by the pool for a sandwich and night cap like we did every night, we had a Spanish speaking friend with us who de-escalated the situation and we went to front desk and had the night manager come back with us who got us our drinks and food but seemed he didn't believe us. If this happens to you leave and complain at front desk because I feel if it got physical we would be in jail not the staff. Cuba is going through a tough time so don't take more than you can eat and don't be wasteful as many Cubans are suffering.
The grounds could be kept up better, I only give that a 2 out 5 and reception upon arrival was very slow which is usually the case in the Caribbean.

Room tip: Be safe, more hassling for money and to buy stuff going on.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2024

Dear : rdb65

Thank you very much for choosing us as your travel destination. We deeply regret that your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. We will analyze each of the details that you tell us with the departments involved to improve the quality of our services.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

This place is amazing. The staff are incredibly friendly and kind. Always smiling and happy to help in anyway they can. The food is good the pool is and grounds are very well kept. This is our third time here this year and we will definitely back again.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear: Mark E

Thank you very much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are pleased to receive such positive feedback about our facilities and service staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023

You expect quite a lot from a resort when it brandishes the Meliá name, but I cannot express how disappointed I was with this old, dated, and hygienically flawed hotel in Varadero.

I will start with the handful of somewhat decent things that just barely saved the resort from being a 0 or 1 star review:
- The Japanese restaurant was alright (it was a Benihana knockoff oddly serving papaya sushi, but it was edible enough).
- The beds were large and comfy.
- The shower was pretty good.
- The beach was divine.

Now, for the rest... there's no salvation. This was a terrible hotel.
- The food served as the buffet was atrocious, lacking in taste, variety (there were days in which there wasn't even a protein to be had), full of flies and birds flying near them.
- No joke, we found a chewing gum under one of the plates. There is no sense of hygiene in this place.
- The Wifi barely worked. For some reason, it almost refuses to work on iOS phones.
- It takes too long to go from the pool to the lobby to your room to the beach and so on. Everything is too far away.
- There is a phone in the room, but it doesn't work. It's there just for show. If you need something from the lobby, you need to physically walk towards it, and deal with lobby workers who weren't always kind or helpful.
- The drinks are free, but they weren't very good. At times, the pool bar didn't even have non alcoholics, or just one option for a cocktail.
- The italian restaurant available at the resort served some of the worst pasta I've ever eaten, and to make matters worse, they didn't even offer any kind of parmesan or other cheese to help mask the poor taste.
- Whilst the beach was lovely, the guests constantly threw cigarettes or trash on it. There was no one to take a look at those things. How can you offer such a nice Caribbean beach and not take proper care of it?

TLDR: Just stay away from this resort. It is Melia in name only. It was a stressful experience which wasn't worth our money. Whether this is something that happens in all Varadero resorts or not is beyond my knowledge, but that did leave a poor impression on what should have otherwise been a gorgeous and memorable place to visit.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank LeoFaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2024

Dear : LeoFaria

Thank you very much for choosing us as your travel destination. We deeply regret that your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. We will analyze each of the details that you tell us with the departments involved to improve the quality of our services.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2023 via mobile

We were transferred from Melia Marina on day 3, after I made a point to the customer rep at Melia Marina that thé no hot water situation unresolved for two days.
The layout is very different in Marina Peninsula, expect a lot of walking. Food selection is way better than Melia Marina.
Beach is close proximity.
Only one thing was the AC didn’t work first night but it was fixed the following day.
Tried the Japanese cuisine and it wasn’t as great. As Asian, didn’t expect to have a papaya sushi and the fried rice was too salty, we didn’t even finish the rice. We ended up eating more at the buffet

Room tip: Bring your own towel if you are picky with cleanliness
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dindin-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2024

Dear : Dindin-13

Thank you very much for choosing us as your travel destination. We deeply regret that your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. We will analyze each of the details that you tell us with the departments involved to improve the quality of our services.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2023

The staff at Melia Peninsula are top notch! They make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
In particular, the entertainment group, Yamilka, Carmen, Choko, Christian and Jim are amazing. Kind and generous! They helped me celebrate my 45th birthday in style with a special Cuba dance! My family and I have enjoyed getting to know them and can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Safari02165318556
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Department Melia Peninsula Varadero, Ventas at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear: Safari02165318556

Thank you very much for choosing us as your travel destination. We are pleased to receive such positive feedback about our facilities and service staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews