We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christine M
Toronto, Canada
Solid 3 star
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jan 2024via mobile
A solid 3 star resort. Very small, easy to get around. Food at the buffet was actually quite good, but repetitive. About a 25 minute walk into Varadero if you want to get a lobster dinner.

Pool was never busy and I never saw the pool bar open. The beach is absolutely wonderful. Definitely take advantage of a catamaran ride offered by the resort. We never had an issue with finding a chair on the beach.

Our room was small, clean and a little dated. But that didn't bother us at all, we were on the 4th floor and had a corner balcony.

Definitely pack some snacks if you're hungry in the afternoon or evening. Lunch stops at 2:30 and dinner doesn't start again until 6:30. There is a snack bar that usually just has sandwiches, but sometimes they don't, or you're waiting an hour just for a little something.

Date of stay: January 2024
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
RM 280
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
5.2 km from Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Expedia.com
RM 229
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
8.8 km from Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
RM 306
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
5.9 km from Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Expedia.com
RM 202
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
5.5 km from Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Expedia.com
RM 134
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    RM 134
9.9 km from Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Free parking
Restaurant
Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
6.3 km from Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Beachfront
View more hotels in Varadero
Reviews (3,019)
Filter reviews
3,019 results
Traveller rating
1,000
784
593
338
304
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,000
784
593
338
304
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la bamba lobby bar second home smaller resort public relations plenty of hot water nightly shows great beach cleaned daily beach chairs a great vacation entertainment staff seafood tucan canada gifts rum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 3,019 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2024

My Hotel Tuxpan, Varadero for my stay January 5-12 2024.

Ledais at front desk…..extremely helpful, courteous and took great care for my very comfortable stay at resort. Definitely, a superstar amongst the staff.

2. Lis , public relations at the resort is a shining star and always willing to go extra distance in providing excellent customer service and was always available for any assistance needed. Definitely, winner of 5 star ⭐️ service.

Big thank you for making our stay very enjoyable and we will be back soon.

3. All the staff is very friendly including Emilio at the bar!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travel65641209089
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yelena Gómez, Director General at Hotel Tuxpan Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario. Nos alegra que su estancia haya sido placentera y que nuestro personal le haya atendido con esos detalles. Le esperamos en su próxima visita. Agradecemos su elección.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

I just got back for 10 amazing days at this resort. It's my third time there and I will be back as soon as I can. Food was better this time. Staff and service was amazing as always. I went snorkeling at the Nautical point and I can not recommend that enough! Yariel (aka chino) is my favorite sailor but honestly they are all great! Beautiful fish, and lots of them! The beach is one of the best in the world. One of the things I love most about this place is how small it is. Since the guests all see each other every day, they get friendly. I have made friends every time I go!

Room tip: Go to the Nautical point at 9 am, when the first open. It's the calmest sea.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yelena Gómez, Director General at Hotel Tuxpan Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024
Google Translation

Nos complace mucho su comentario y le agradecemos su fidelidad. Continuaremos mejorando nuestros servicios para seguir cumpliendo sus expectativas. Le esperamos en su próxima visita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2024

We booked for December 8th - 15th. Came home to the cold and booked again from January 5th - 13th.....yes 3 weeks later. Arrived to their beautiful newly renovated lobby and reception area. Easy check-in by welcoming friendly desk staff. Our room overlooked the expansive pools and view of the ocean. Rooms all have a fridge and coffee maker (no coffee provided, so bring your own). Large closet with hangers, desk, chair, tv, remote, 2 beds (I found comfortable), bathroom, hairdryer, shampoo, soap, bodywash, large deep bathtub. It would be nice to have a little more drawer space for clothing but there were a few shelves that worked for that just fine. I loved their new pillows and wished I had those at home!

The beach is amazing! The hotel is one 4-storey building so not a giant property that takes forever to get around. (not a fan of huge resorts - too impersonal). Everything you need is right there. 24-hour bar and snacks. Very nice a la carte restaurant. Buffet food was very repetitive. Loved their soup and tasty ice cream! My wish list would be to have french fries available. We always could find something to eat....we didn't starve. There is no complaining on vacation!

The most amazing feature of this resort is the kind, fun, dedicated staff! Each and everyone of them from Yelena the General Manager right on down to every other staff member. We were treated like gold.....always!!! Every one of them (too many to mention by name) work so hard to make your vacation special. They all need to be treated with respect and kindness for all they do!

I love this resort! Lots of Canadians and have met friends that will be lifelong friends. I would not return 5 times if I didn't love it here (I have been to many other resorts) and I will certainly be booking again. I feel like I'm going back to my happy place the minute I step foot on the property.

Remember:
1)Treat staff with respect.
2)Tip
3)There is no complaining on vacation

Thank you Hotel Tuxpan for everything you do to make my vacations memorable and fun! Love you all.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yelena Gómez, Director General at Hotel Tuxpan Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024
Google Translation

Sus palabras nos llenan de gran satisfacción y nos exhorta a continuar perfeccionando la calidad de nuestros servicios. Le agradecemos calurosamente su comentario y esperamos verle pronto. Muchas gracias por su preferencia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Arrived dec 31/23 I have been to resort before in 2014 lots have changed since then
Reno are looking wonderful
Food: is repeat every day, not a huge variety but it is there slow season never starved
El Rancho a La carte is nice to go to for little change of food.
Pool is cold but again it’s winter the sun doesn’t warm it up as much
Rooms are rooms beds could use new mattress but I wouldn’t let that ruin my holiday
They celebrate repeat clientele which is great the new owner is really trying her best at improving a lot in the resort and you can see that
Would I go again yes

The staff are all amazing.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank akela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yelena Gómez, Director General at Hotel Tuxpan Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario, sus sugerencias son útiles para continuar perfeccionando la calidad de nuestros servicios. Agradecemos también por su preferencia y recomendación.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2024

Arrived at this resort on Jan 6th. Purchased the VIP package and was told upon arrival that VIP portion was not paid by Air Transat. Wasted 3 days on trying to get issue resolved to no avail. Same food served every day for lunch and supper, front desk staff rude and not helpful nor is the manager. Airline reps there are useless. Rooms are in need of new mattresses and a good clean. water pressure needs help and electrical wiring flashes in outlets...scary!!! The pool was ice cold most days. Hallways smelled foul and your room always smelled musty. If you have high expectations this isn't the resort for you. On the plus side the booze was plentiful which came in handy to make it through the week.
Trying to wrap my head around why people are repeat customers there only thing i can think of is the price point. Will never go back

Room tip: Double and triple check your trip before leaving because they clam money hasnt been paid when it in fact has been. Feeling ripped off,
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank caribbeantravel0897
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yelena Gómez, Director General at Hotel Tuxpan Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024
Google Translation

Agradecemos su opinión, la cual, aunque no nos da satisfacción porque demuestra que debemos seguir perfeccionando la calidad de nuestros servicios es útil para saber hacia dónde dirigir nuestras prioridades. En relación al servicio especial que nos comenta ya fue solucionado por las partes involucradas. Sin embargo, aun cuando usted no da buen criterio del personal que lo atendió en ese sentido, su comportamiento para con ellos no fue adecuado. Sentimos mucho no haber cumplido sus expectativas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews