We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,434)
Filter reviews
10,434 results
Traveller rating
7,190
2,113
756
224
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7,190
2,113
756
224
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club jazz bar el caribe a la carte restaurants butler service hour bistro tex mex seafood the caribbean restaurant buffet restaurant ice cream parlour beach restaurant main bar foam party personal butler beautiful beach entertainment team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,410 - 1,415 of 10,434 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2021

We had a wonderfull time at Royalton. The acomodation was excellent. The staff is amazing at the buffet. Rafael the manager, Hermes, Lázaro, Dairys and Regla. The butlers did a great job too. Dienys, Iliana, Verónica and Davis. All the staff in general. The food was very good too, specially the Caribean Restaurant.We Will comeback for shure.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank T8288XErafaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorenzo Rubio, Director General at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the Royalton Hicacos staff, we would like to thank you for sharing such a great review of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you liked our friendly, professional and efficient staff, I would like to thank you for your praise to them, that is the best award and the greatest incentive to continue working to provide a better service.
Thank you for choosing us and recommend our resort. We look forward to receiving you again.
Warm regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

The best in Varadero..very good hotel, special drinks and food...all my Friends know where to go on holidays. Royalton Hicacos is the right place ... If you are willing to make your dreams come true and experience a real hight standard of services thats the places.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeynib
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorenzo Rubio, Director General at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Dear Jeyni,
On behalf of the Royalton Hicacos staff, we would like to thank you for sharing such a great review of your stay with us. We are glad to know that we meet your expectations, thank you for choosing us and recommend our resort. We look forward to receiving you again.
Warm regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021

We have recently returned from a stay at the Royalton Hicacos to celebrate a birthday. Whilst the holiday wasn’t all bad, we absolutely would not return to this hotel.

Firstly, the pool was green and cloudy until it was cleaned 2 days before we went home to which it turned a lovely blue colour, as expected. As a result of this I suffered from a UTI and had to be prescribed antibiotics.

Secondly, the resort did not feel safe. There were many incidents of homophobic abuse which was shocking to witness, including an incident where a guest was in possession of a knife. I understand that the hotel can not be blamed for the behaviour of guests however this could have been handled better, the safety of guests should have been prioritised, this person with the knife should have been removed from the hotel immediately however was observed strolling through the Bistro the following day without a care in the world. Very worrying.

The hotel felt more like an 18-30’s resort with hostile groups of chavs rather than a luxury resort as claimed.

During our stay there was a Storm and everything closed down. Again, I understand this is protocol however there was genuinely nothing more than a bit of wind and rain. This was not communicated to guests at all and we did not get told everything was closed until we arrived at the Tex Mex restaurant to locked doors. The message of closures came from other guests.

On the plus side, the beach is incredible, the food in the restaurants was better than anticipated, the maids are excellent and Fernando in the buffet is the kindest man and his hospitality alone made up for the poor management of the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank BMJ0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorenzo Rubio, Director General at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear guest,
On behalf of myself and my collaborators, we appreciate your fair assessment of things that have nothing to do with the hotel. First and as you say, we cannot put surveillance on each of our clients, and after the incident the truth is that the client stayed in his room and the next day he was diverted to another hotel. We are not meteorologists and we only follow the instructions of the country during the tropical storm Elsa, myself held a meeting the day before in the theater to explain the services that would be operating in the hotel, apparently you did not attend.
It is true that due to the storm one of the two central pools of the hotel was somewhat cloudy, but with the appropriate PH and chlorine parameters, I understand that you ruled out bathing in the crystalline one.
Thank you for saying that you liked the rest.
We hope to see you here again and that you can enjoy our excellent services.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021

amaizing place to spend your honeymoon!! We were there last month and we still feel the vibes.Positive: first at all the staff, ocean, weather, buffet and services . Negative; mosquitos, do not forget to bring a spray with you, local guest were a little noise at the Pool and main bar day and night and the swimp up bar was close 😯☹️😭 . We pay extra services, not include, please Cuban pesos are not allowe to be use for foreing people , they are accept only for cubans, so exchange few of your currency at the front desk .
Room was very clean. Thank you Royalton Hicacos!!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank samanthafW2499ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorenzo Rubio, Director General at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Dear Samantha,
On behalf of the Royalton Hicacos staff, we would like to thank you for sharing such a great review of your stay with us. We are glad to know that you spend an amazing time in your honeymoon. We are pleased to hear that you liked our friendly, professional and efficient staff, I would like to thank you for your praise to them, that is the best award and the greatest incentive to continue working to provide a better service.
Thank you for choosing us and recommend our resort. We look forward to receiving you again.
Warm regards,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

Very clean, people always ready to help us! Big thanks to Mayor domos, Dieny, Ileana, Ronier, David and Veronica! The room cleaner are also very kind! Beautiful beach, great massages, TV in many langages we will come back for sure! ❤️

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank catherinelH581EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorenzo Rubio, Director General at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021
Google Translation

Dear Catherine,
On behalf of the Royalton Hicacos staff, we would like to thank you for sharing such a great review of your stay with us. We are glad to know that you see the hotel very clean, which is important in times of covid. We are pleased to hear that you were very well taken care of by our staff, I would like to thank you for your praise to them, that is the best award and the greatest incentive to continue working to provide a better service.
Thank you for choosing us and recommend our resort. We look forward to receiving you again.
Warm regards,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews