We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,929)
Filter reviews
3,929 results
Traveller rating
1,878
1,196
489
188
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,878
1,196
489
188
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina viewlevel restaurantdon ernestolatin restauranta la carte restaurantsmarina bareuropean planstudio apartmentpizza manwashing machinelevel guestspool sidefishthe general managersnack barall inclusive packagepool restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 3,929 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed 4 days in this resort as our second time(first time was back in Jan 2016). We had good experience here with kids. Location: farther end from the airport, it took over an hour to reach to hotel because the shuttle bus had to drop off people to other resorts first; Food:nothing fancy but still okay, fair amount of varieties; Room: clean , door key required one time reprogramming but front desk turned around quickly; Beach: really in love with it, clean and shallow water, kids friendly Customer service: Very friendly staff, especially the shuttle driver who give us ride to the beach, always cheerful and friendly; Entertainment: not as good as 2 years ago but they do have shows every night; hopefully they can bring more entertainments/ shows for kids as the main reason we returned to this place is because this is a kid friendly place

Stayed: February 2018
3  Thank Jesselyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUIS T, Director General at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Jesselyn L,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff.
We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

We hope we have the chance to meet you soon in our hotel.

Sincerely.

Luis De Sousa
General Manager
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

First off—this is a review of the Melia Marina Varadero All-Inclusive Resort. Do not confuse this with the Melia Marina Apartments (non-inclusive). We visited from January 29-February 4, 2018 (Room 1621).

You know how some people write their negative reviews saying, “I can’t believe why so many people gave this place a good review”? Well, I can’t believe how any person could give this place a bad review.

Cuba is a special, wonderful place filled with kind, generous, hard-working people. Despite any reviews that you may read from some negative people who misunderstand the point, the charm of Cuba is its allure.

We have been to Cuba 3 times over the past 10 years. We have always had a wonderful time. This resort, however was the best!

I should start by saying that we opted for “The Level” service—and we HIGHLY recommend that. It truly is only marginally more expensive than a regular booking.

We were greeted in the lobby, by name, and whisked up to the 7th floor reception (“The Level” service) immediately upon arriving at the main lobby desk.

On the 7th floor, we were comfortably seated at the reception desk and were checked-in quickly.

We were given a tour of the exclusive restaurant/bar (with its view-worthy terraces), and informed that it was our (the “Level” clients’) exclusive a-la-carte breakfast, lunch, and dinner restaurant and, it is open 24-hours for drinks and snacks any time (of course we also could book any of the other 4 a-la-carte restaurants, and also drop by the buffet and pool and beach bars/restaurants anytime—all of which were fantastic in their own right). Did I mention that “The Level” service also includes free 24-Hour room service?.

Our room (on the 6th floor) was perfect. Big soaker tub, huge walk-in shower, separate room with the toilet (be forewarned that the bathroom is not completely private due to semi-frosted glass that is open to the rest of the main room), and a big living space with a small dining table and lovely balcony which overlooked the pool.

Smokers, and non-smokers rejoice! No smoking in the room, but the balcony is completely smoker-friendly and very comfortable with ashtrays provided! Have a cigar!

The food. Again, this is a review for people who have been to Cuba. This country has had to deal with approximately 60 years of repression from the USA. Their ability to obtain foodstuffs is limited. Well, I will tell you that given that, this resort has done an exceptional job! The food was incredible!

If you are a picky eater, or if you have health/religious/dietary restrictions, you may want to pick another country to visit. They do the best with what they have. There is inconsistency. So, sometimes the seafood soup may just have fish, other times it may have mussels, other times it may have lobster. They make the most delicious version from day-to-day based on what is available. Steak may be a real steak, other times it may be stewed beef. But always prepared with integrity, and always delicious.

And, my friends, TIP, TIP, TIP!!! I don’t care what country you come from, and I don’t care if you don’t tip in your country, or you don’t feel like you should (because it’s “all-inclusive”). Tipping is how it’s done in most of the world, so build that into your budget! If you want to be cheap and disgraceful, stay at home! Tip in Cuba (and elsewhere)! And if you don’t, don’t complain that the majority of us who do tip get better service. Be kind to your fellow man! That being said, the staff at this resort provide great service and are wonderful, even if you are not wonderful to them.

The grounds are well maintained, the staff are EXCEPTIONALLY friendly and accommodating. This is a fantastic place to visit, and worthy of the 5-star rating for Cuba.

We will definitely come back. It was such a lovely holiday!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
10  Thank SnozWrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUIS T, Director General at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear SnozWrap,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Marina Varadero! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities at THE LEVEL and our staff.

We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated by you.


We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely.

Luis De Sousa
General Manager
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Depends what your looking for? Great for 50 plus couples. Wife's 52nd birthday gift and we loved it. We upgraded to the Level based on reviews. Booked 2 days prior on red tag for $1100 per person.
Definitely worth the $175/pp upgrade as mentioned in other Reviews. Pool side room was great, no complaints, robes, slippers, turn down service every night and towel exchange by the same maid...all week.
The Level restaurant on the 7th floor was awesome and the service even better. Great team here with snacks 24 hours(smoked salmon,olives, sushi, cheeses etc..) and top shelf drinks! Red wine was excellent and you could order a bottle to and take it to your room with a top notch pizza if you wanted..Superbowl party night! Can't say enough about the service of the team and quality of the food...definitely treated like 5 star. Probably best place to watch sunset and sunrise outside on the rooftop deck. The doors locked but the concierge will open anytime you ask. Great bartenders that will try and make any drink you can think of. Double Grand Marina on the rocks sunsets!!

We ate at the buffet twice for breakfast and it was fine, great service and the same as level except the bacon. Never tried lunch or dinner. We had lunch at the pool side snack bar and service was again great and burger and fries/ Calamari most days and was good and quick...A la cartes were great but again, as level privilege we could book as many as often as we like through our concierge..Can't say enough about the level service and the free WIFI cards and overall accommodating attitude.

Pools are great and we tried all of them. Main pools were great, a lot of space, many chairs and 2 bars close by to replenish your drinks. Shallow pool just off the breach grill(washrooms) was great for sun lounging, frisbee, tossing a ball or wading in the water to cool down, Swim up bar in the deeper pool was nice too but had traditional Cuban music loop playing over and over so we sat out in the shallow pool with our Bose speaker and loved it. Another rooftop(2nd floor) Rectangular pool between the condos that was quiet and relaxed, nice breeze and overlooks the marina.

Beach was great, nice restaurant for lunch and beach bar. Unfortunately the beach BBQ grill wasn't open.

Marina was always busy at night with activities, shows, lobby bar was happening and a little loud but if you wanted peace and quiet, there was space for that. Many Europeans vacationers here which was interesting to observe. Not a lot of interaction between guests like other resorts we've been at, everyone kept to themselves as many couples seemed to be travelling in groups.
Bottom line, I'll be going back. :-)

Room Tip: Pool view - #1604 was great for us. No sun but great view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ctuna2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUIS T, Director General at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear ctuna2017,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post a comment and in this way to share with other Trip advisor’s users about your experience in Meliá Marina Varadero.

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that you have experienced during your stay with us.

We will share your comments with all the team of Melia Marina Varadero.

We hope we have the chance to meet you soon in our hotel.

Sincerely.

Luis De Sousa
General Manager
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We returned to this property with another couple and their 2 children . we didn't know if it was still well-managed. we were surprised at the cleanliness and level of service . needless to say our friends were also impressed.
Where do i start the attentive staff , the great food, the excellent management.

Where do I start: Genis the asst manager , or jamil the main bar tender or julio the pescadero resto, Eliana our chamber maid, I am afraid to mention some and leave others all were super staff kudos to management

I cannot understand some of the negative reviews I see about this property the staff was great even when we didnt tiup them.
This property will be # 1 soon in varadero.

Room Tip: all rooms are great , try higher levels on marina or pool your fancy
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Slamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUIS T, Director General at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Slamish,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Marina Varadero! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed.We very much appreciate your kind feedback and your lovely words used to describe our Hotel.

We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Luis De Sousa
General Manager
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

a pleasant enough hotel in good location but badly let down by food.the quality is poor choice the same every meal and always not hot.we suffered ill health because of this culminating in an expensive trip to the doctors.went on a 2 day trip to havannah and was fine untill we came back and was ill once again.from previous reports a lot of people have stated the same.nothing appears to be done about this.I would not recommend this hotel on this basis alone.here is a serious issue which appears to be ignored and all you see is a standard reply.well I dont think this is good enough and intend to take this further

Room Tip: dont think you could be in a poor room unless you are on the ground floor
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daveandjaneWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews