We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$137
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$125
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Antonio & Yamiley Varadero(Varadero)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
US$427
US$182
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$114
US$96
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$97
US$92
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,368)
Filter reviews
7,368 results
Traveller rating
4,712
1,921
543
119
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,712
1,921
543
119
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantstar friendsspa poollobby barlobsterwater poloa la carte restaurantssurf and turfjunior suiteevening entertainmententertainment staffmain buffetmain poolkids clubother resortswedding coordinatorfantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 7,368 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Large clean rooms, private beach, three pools, good food, friendly staff, entertainment.

If you’re looking for a very comfortable all inclusive place to stay then this is a good choice.

Only downside is that WiFi is a little patchy.

It is a little secluded so there is almost nothing to do outside the resort.

Stayed: February 2018
5  Thank LondonTown_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of IBEROSTAR Varadero we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience at our resort and to inform you that your positive comments are very inspiring for us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Loved this hotel in terms of the food, facilities, grounds and staff. I would definitely stay there again when I return to Cuba. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The surrounding grounds were well kept. Nice variety of food and the entertainment each evening was well worth watching. Performers were very professionally trained and talented. Good variety of performers also.

Room Tip: All views around hotel are lovely because of the grounds surrounding the hotel
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank jacksons564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at IBEROSTAR Varadero. It was a pleasure to host your holidays, and we are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your holiday. We will certainly share your kind words with our team. We would like to welcome you back anytime soon at our resort.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager, IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We stayed the week of Jan. 29th - Feb, 5th Long Review with Details

I truly feel we stayed in the best Hotel complex in Varadero area with the top reason being the warm, caring, wonderful staff team. They must have an awesome management group that works with their employees and look after their needs to consistently have those positive attitudes. Kudos to the whole Iberostar, Varadero Team!

CHECK IN: was easy; TIP: ensure you get your wrist band & if it is dark out, have bell man take you to your block.
ROOM: was on ground floor in block12 facing the beautiful grounds.
It was very clean, had 2 large beds and one small, mini bar fridge, robes, slippers, 2 umbrellas, safe, ironing board, lots of hangers & two Beach Towels: Bathroom; Hair blower, 2 soap bars, shampoo/conditioner, shower caps, lotion, 2 large towels, 2 hand towels, 2 wash cloths, big deep tub with hand held shower, separate shower stall with shampoo & body wash dispensers, toilet and bidet.
Pros: we always had hot water, air conditioning/temperature was consistent, maid Avis made sure everything was clean & filled daily.
We both found the beds comfortable and had extra pillow choices in closet.
Cons: could use a re-paint/refresh and missed having a110 plug in. If from Canada, bring convertor/adapter for hair devices.
CURRENCY EXCHANGE DESK: very good rate and only a fraction of a percent more than Bank in Varadero; we wasted time doing this. Every other day we would go to desk and get smaller bills & coin.
For tipping bus driver on way from Airport, they will take Canadian dollars.
FOOD: lovely looking displays and a fair bit of variety with the ingredients that are available at the time. We found that most combination salad foods did need dressings on even if they looked dressed; made them better. Rice and bean combos were always tasty as were many of the hot cooked meats/seafood but the very best by far is their amazing butter, breads, pastries and pizzas! Morning juice selection was very good and had some tasty unusual ones.
The Lobster is always overcooked; would be interesting to see it steamed/boiled or just quickly broiled; shrimps lovely though. No thick yogurt but there is a liquid one somewhat like Kefir.
One of our favourite lunch Buffets was the small one by the pool; not as much selection but lunchtime entertainment with locals and superb super attentive staff.
RESERVATIONS: Make them on your first morning at desk located next to money exchange; those guy were always a ray sunshine & very helpful.
We did the Japanese and Mediterranean Restaurants; both excellent. Javier was an amazing entertaining Chef and so personable to all; the children at our table were so entranced! Maydelis in the Med. was outstanding.
So many wonderful people to mention and too many names we did not catch...here is a few we did: Yaima, Fernando, Gerlin, & Paul
ENTERTAINMENT: another brilliant team of people; there is something for everyone. The costume changes are phenomenal, the talent top notch; again, well done Iberostar, Varadero!!
Our favs was the Water Ballet and the 80's Night
STAR FRIENDS: Energetic, everywhere, amazing! Susanna and Chocolate were a blast, we really enjoyed both & missed seeing them on our last day for thanks and hugs.
BEACH: It's all about the stunning long, wonderful clean, sandy beach. We are walkers and never did make it as far as we could go. Lots of Tiki style shade available at one part and umbrellas by other entrance. The Beach chairs guys are the ones to look after you finding or setting up a chair; great group!
Good number of Hobies, sit on Kayaks, peddle boats, a couple of paddle style boards but no boogie boards. We saw some families had brought big blow up rings that seemed to work well for boogie surfing.
POOL: clean, fresh, sun heated.
BARS: best ever Mint Mojitos but so are all their rum drinks; service always good. Note: Sparkling wine is self serve in Lobby/Bar entrance and Buffet; if it is out or needs opened, just ask...the staff is tops!
TIPS: We did not find any of the staff waiting for tips or just doing things for tips; we did observe too many people not tipping but still received excellent service. Please tip reasonably, don't be flashy about it and most of all greet and chat with the people looking after your needs.
TOURS: there is a tour desk around the corner of Lobby; they can arrange anything for you and it will be the same price or a few CUC lower that what you can find on-line.
PACKAGE VACATIONS: Just past the tour desk there is a book shelf with many binders covering different companies and has a wealth of information regarding your needs, departures and times that your rep will be present daily.
CHECK OUT DAY: the worst day because you've decided you really do not want to go home!! Leave your beach towels in your room; call Front desk for luggage pick up and have it put in storage if your flight is later in the day. Pick up more beach towels from Money Exchange Desk [leaving some ID] and enjoy Beach/pool etc. until you have to almost leave. There are showers and bathrooms just past the Tour Desk, down the side where your luggage has been stored. Savour those last few minutes of Iberostar, Varadero :-)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
19  Thank Ladyfrost2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your sincere comments about IBEROSTAR Varadero. Thank you for choosing us as your destination and for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the time spent at our hotel and approved our services. We sincerely hope to have you back in the near future! Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

My partner and I were there for 4 days in the first week of Feb.

Food- The food was good! This was our first time in Cuba and we were very skeptical about the food quality at first given the bad rep that it has gotten. The buffet was great. There were a lot of veggie options, the food was warm and there were at two fresh food stations at every meal. Breakfast- there were two egg or omelette stations.
Lunch and Dinner: there were three stations: 1 for fresh grilled beef or chicken, 1 for two types of fresh fish and 1 for fresh pasta. We ate at the buffet everyday and it had good variety. We did not experience any stomach upset, but we were also very cautious and only ate warm food + deserts. i.e no cold cuts, cheese, cold salads. I'm sure that eating these would be fine, we just have sensitive stomachs so we played it safe.

Drinks- Delicious. Only filtered water is used for drinks, and the ice cubes are made from filtered water as well.

Beach- DIVINE. Clean and well kept. There are helpful attendants on site who will make sure that you get an umbrella.

Guests- Were lovely. No party-hard obnoxious folks. It was a mix of couples, seniors and families. Everyone was super chill and we didn't see any debacherous behaviour. Just nice people having a nice time.

Entertainment- Was amazing. Great rotating shows on a nightly basis.

Staff- Wonderful. Very pleasant, upbeat, and always wanting to assist. They spoke excellent English and I would say that they are a real draw of the place. I would say this is one of the best customer service experiences I have ever had.

Room- Spacious and clean. No complaints- and we are meticulous about cleanliness. Cleaning lady Lourdes was wonderful.

Tips:

Beach: there are some tiny patches of rocks along some parts of the beach (and we walked to the neighbouring resorts on both end Royalton Hicacos and Paradisus and the same is true there) so I would recommend water shoes or just be a bit cautious when running into the water. Rocks are only present about a 1 meter into the water so you'll be fine w/o the water shoes as well. 99% of people did not have water shoes and were fine so this is totally not necessary.

Food: Try the fish at the buffet! It is delicious.

Rooms: Try to get a room looking inwards at the resort instead of outwards onto the street. Just makes for a nicer view.

Misc: I got about 10 mosquito bites in 4 days. Not much, but I'm allergic so this was a very itchy situation for me! If you are like me, bring some bug spray.

Nighttime was a bit breezy so I would recommend bringing a sweater.

Final: Highly highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank JQ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your sincere comments about IBEROSTAR Varadero. Thank you for choosing us as your destination and for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the time spent at our hotel and approved our services. We sincerely hope to have you back in the near future! Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

We traveled to Varadero the last week of January. This is are second time in Cuba and I must say that this resort is one of the best that Varadero has to offer.
The size is perfect not to big yet not to small, it is easy to get around and well laid out, from stamped concrete side walks to the tiled hallways all well maintained and very clean. The landscaping crew does a awesome job maintaining the grounds, they’ll even cut a fresh coconut for u to drink or make a hat out of palm leaves for you.
The house keeping crew does an amazing job,very clean , even smells clean no musty smells at all, I have stayed in 5 star resorts in Mexico that aren’t kept up this well, are house keeper was Judith, amazing, friendly and couldn’t do enough for us, everyday there was a different towel animal folded on the bed and bathroom sink.
The entrainment crew is one of the hardest working crews I’ve seen they are all over the resort making sure you are having a good time. The nightly entertainment is fantastic from saxophones playing to live bands, piano music in the lobby bar and all the music in the shows are done by a live band which sounds awesome.
This resort has a really nice beach bar with a daily lunch barbecue, bathrooms, and a deck with chairs and tables. The bartenders at the beach are fantastic, fun and will even come down to the beach to visit and make sure everything is ok and sometimes even come back with another round if they notice your low. The beach it self is awesome, large, and has lots of chairs, umbrellas, palapa’s and you can walk for Km in each direction. There’s no rocks or coral when you enter the ocean just sand.
Now to the food, the last resort we went to in Varadero all we basically ate was pizza and ice cream. However this resort exceeded my expectations, as good as the 5 stars I’ve eat at in Mexico, the al carts where all really good( book them your first day they fill up fast) but remember you are in Cuba there are no name brand condiments such as Heinz. But overall the food is very tasty not bland like you hear about Cuba we actually looked forward to dinner which I can’t say about the last resort we stayed at in Cuba.
After talking to many other people on excursions about other resorts this one seems to have the best food and cleanest rooms and has the best up keep of all the ones we saw or heard about I am looking forward to returning to this resort in the future.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank beachbum3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room Division M, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Cuba at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your sincere comments about IBEROSTAR Varadero. Thank you for choosing us as your destination and for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the time spent at our hotel and approved the quality and presentation of our food and activities. We sincerely hope to have you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews