We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a wonderful time, relaxing, sights to see, wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed 4 June 2017

I have to say Radella at the front desk was very helpful. She told me about restaurants, Thursday night fireworks over the pontoon bridge, safety tips, and was just very friendly. I enjoyed chatting with her every day that I passed by the front desk on my way to wherever. I have been to 5 star hotels and also motels. I thought this property was very comfortable. I would have liked to have more restaurant choices close by. Rif Fort was only about a 10 minute walk away. The downtown is very colorful...and very walkable. I would like if they would update their gym. They have a really good Caesar salad at the restaurant by the lagoon. I am craving it now.

Room Tip: I liked the pool view, I chose that over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank O5952DYdeborahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

You get what you pay for !
Bed makes squicky noise, old fashioned tv, dirty bathrooms and the bathroom doors doesn't lock , very old elevator, But they do have a friendly staff and Dennys is really close.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SeliKrozendijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I stayed in here for 3 months on business. Not the best hotel to stay on the island by any means. The pictures are very misleading, the rooms and hotel amenities look nothing like what is advertised. The hotel is very outdated, poor upkeep, rats, mold, slow wifi. I had no issues with the hotel staff, they all seemed pleasant during my interactions with them. This hotel is in a prime location with a lot of potential, but unfortunately the maintenance and upkeep of the hotel has been neglected. This hotel needs a total overhaul and major renovations to revive it. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sent4rmheaven83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I had to stay here for work for five weeks. Don't let the pictures fool you. This place is a real dump. Ants, rats, and lizards IN YOUR ROOM. Ants in your bed. The bed is bowl shaped by the way. The mattresses should have been tossed out 20 years ago. There is mold everywhere. The furniture is not only old and worn out, it's also terrible to sit in. The door to my balcony was rusted shut. I never went out there in five weeks. If there was a fire, my plan was to throw the 30 year old tube TV through the glass. The shower water would go from freezing cold to melting your skin off in about two seconds. The toilet would flush sometimes. The toilet paper was in a lock box making it difficult to get any out. The internet is nonexistent. They could care less about getting it fixed. They don't care about anything here it seems. The maids would just toss the comforter back on the bed. The hallway is creepy and dark as well. Also, the air conditioner in my room made a lot of noise all night long. Kept the temperature about 75 to 80 degrees. Staff could care less.

The lobby is barely any better. The staff is rude and they could care less about your basic needs. Like, "I need to not have this giant rat in my room any more". They don't care. One of my co-workers was bitten by a rat while he was here. He was sleeping and the rat was in bed with him and bit him. He had to go to the hospital and is taking a bunch of meds for it still. The pool is pretty gross too. Lots of stuff floating around in there.

The beach is pretty sad too. The sand is just crushed up coral. There is broken glass in the water. Don't get in the water barefoot. Half of the beach is eroded out and hasn't seen any sort of maintenance in years. There is trash everywhere.

The Tanga Bar is a joke. It's like they hate making money. They will avoid eye contact with you and let you sit there all day without ever coming to check on you. The food there was actually pretty decent. The service is abysmal though. They regularly tried to over charge or do the dollars to gilders conversion wrong. There are ants crawling all over the bar. Bird poop is everywhere too. They have zero pride in the appearance of this place.

The casino is pretty sad. Lots of drunk locals. They move over to Dennys later on and it's just as sad. Service is pathetic there as is the food.

This hotel is one of the worst places I've ever stayed. Motel 6 is leaps and bounds better than the HBH. Rooms here are about $50 to $70 a night and you're definitely over paying. Rent a car and sleep in the car instead.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I walked through the hotel lobby so that I could scuba dive with Goby Divers which is located on the hotel grounds. I had the most incredible, perfect diving experience with Goby Divers and highly recommend Goby Divers for all of your Curacao diving needs.

As we were leaving I stopped by the front desk of the hotel, thinking we would talk to someone about possibly booking a future trip. I started the conversation with the front desk employee by just asking for a hotel business card. The woman looked up at me and said "no business cards" and then looked back down at what she was working on. She seemed indifferent to the fact that I was still standing there and seemed to have no interest in continuing to talk to me about anything.

The hotel has a small beach that is protected from the ocean surf by jetties. The outside beach / dive shop is one of the best things about this hotel. As we walked around the grounds we noticed the rooms looked a bit dated which isn't always a huge issue, as long as they are maintained and clean. Since we didn't go inside any of the rooms we can't personally attest to the cleanliness of the rooms, but there are plenty of other reviews that can give details about that.

Now that I'm back home, I'm not at all surprised at all of the 1 star reviews I see for this hotel. I'll be taking my future Curacao hotel/resort business to a different hotel. The hotel is at the perfect location and has a ton of potential. Unfortunately it doesn't appear that it's being managed or maintained properly, which is very sad. A 2 cent business card and a positive, friendly front desk clerk probably could have sold me on a future week long stay with the possibility of me bringing a group of divers down at the same time.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Diver836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
5.0 km away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#20 of 32 in Willemstad
72 reviews
1.1 km away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
203 reviews
1.6 km away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#17 of 32 in Willemstad
333 reviews
1.2 km away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
99 reviews
2.3 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino

Address: 31 Pater Euwensweg, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: RM275 - RM570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private beach, this Otrobanda resort is within a 15-minute walk of Curacao Museum, Renaissance Shopping Mall, and Rif Fort. Riffort Village and Queen Emma Bridge are also within 1 mi (2 km). Resort Features Spend the day relaxing on Holiday Beach Resort and Casino's private sand beach or at a casino before returning for a meal at one of the resort's 2 restaurants. Room Amenities All 108 rooms offer WiFi, balconies or patios, and TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find refrigerators, hair dryers, and safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Willemstad
Holiday Beach Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing