We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$132
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Morena Resort(Willemstad)
US$222
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
US$189
US$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$366
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B&B Sombre di Kabana(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
519
52
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
52
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonprivate beachthe banyan treebeachfront suiteasian nightcolonial roombeach butleroutdoor showertrue paradiseman made lagoonmoment you arrivethe entire staffincluded breakfastturn down servicewelcome drinkromantic getawayday pass
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We recently stayed at the Baoase Resort and unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. First I'd like to say that I have vacationed all over the world and have stayed at mostly 5 star resorts. This is not a 5 star resort. It may be a 5 star hotel by Curaco standards but not by overall standards. And while it is a beautiful facility it does not warrant the rates they are requesting. They are way overpriced.
Now my reasoning: First a true 5 star resort would never allow cruise passengers access to their facility. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 story villa. The villa was very nice with nice amenities but the first thing pointed out by our concierge was the powder room on the first floor was not functioning and had not been functioning for some time. They told us they hadn't had time to fix it. When shown our bathroom it had a beautiful jacuzzi type shower which was not functional since it wasn't hooked up correctly when installed. There was an 12 inch space to walk between the sink and the shower to get to the toilet. Hard to navigate in the middle of the night. Also the shower door was off its track and there was mold at its base. The bedroom itself was adequate but not much larger than the king bed inside. The bed and bedding was very comfortable and the air conditioners worked great. One morning we were awoken by barking dogs from the local street and another morning we woke up to loud children in the villa next to ours but for the most part we were able to get a good night sleep. Outside our villa with direct access was a beautiful public pool with a secluded jacuzzi which unfortunately did not work till our last day. When we tried the jacuzzi it blew bubbles but no warm water so it is unclear what the purpose was. The pool itself was a delight since our villa had a deck with chairs and couches which you could relax in and when it was too hot just walk a few steps for a dip in the pool. The man made lagoon also was delightful with comfortable gazebos situated around it. During the week days they had 2 "butlers" coming around getting drink orders but over the weekend we only saw one butler and in the 4 hours we played around the lagoon we saw him once and then he never came back. The breakfasts were great and plentiful and the dinners that we had were delicious, especially the Asian night. The service at times was painfully slow but their amply stocked bar made the time pass. I should mention that for a 5 star resort their wine selection was woefully inadequate.
All in all not a 5 star experience, more like a 4 star hotel. What made me give the hotel 3 stars was first the fact that my wife got a shard of glass in her foot from a broken glass. This happened at one of the lagoon side gazebos where, when we arrived, we noticed that there was a broken glass that had not been cleared away. Once swept up we proceeded to use the gazebo but unfortunately a small piece of glass was missed. I understand that accidents happen but the hotels assistance was minimal as was their concern. The second reason was that due to Hurricane Irma our return flight was canceled and we needed to spend an extra day. When asked for assistance in this regard, we were told that they had rooms available since many inbound flights were canceled and that they would give us a special price. We said we would be happy to change to any room in the resort. The price they gave us was the same price that I could get online. They didn't do anything to help us which I found insulting given that my party had just spent close to $10,000 on a 5 night stay. A 5 star hotel would never treat a guest in that manner. Hopefully by writing this review the hotel will upgrade its facility and its treatment of its clientele and someday may warrant a 5 star distinction

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
25  Thank 954Jointdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver Z, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear 954Jointdoc,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our resort. Your feedback is valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I am pleased to hear how much you loved the infinity pool as well as the delicious food at our Culinary Restaurant.

During your stay at our resort, you stayed in one of our beautiful villas for a nightly rate of $1325 per night. Due to hurricane Irma we offered you to extend your stay in the same villa for a special discounted rate of $517,70. This is a 60% discount on the normal rate. In our opinion this is a very generous offer, and it saddens us to read you write about us doing nothing to help in this situation. We were dealing with different cancelled flights and stranded guest and we did do our utmost to arrange everything as perfect as we could in this situation. We did not appreciate the threat to post a negative review on Tripadvisor to have us lower the nightly rate from $1325 to $300. We still are a 5 star luxury resort and in order for us to keep up a level of service, there are costs involved that we also have to pay.

Again we feel very sorry that you have left the resort feeling this way about our level of service. We hope you are willing to give it another chance and come back in the future!

With kind regards from the entire team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort
Traveller’s choice award 2017 & Certificate of Excellence 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

I haven't stayed in the hotel, I've booked one day pass to the beach. I very much liked the experience. The beach is small but cozy, very few people there, beach battlers are doing their best so you can feel yourself like in paradise - which I did. I also had my lunch in the restaurant - it really worth it, you should try ;)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Анна Е
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver Z, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Анна Е,

Thank you for writing this nice review about your Beach Day Pass at Baoase Luxury Resort. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your day at our resort and you felt like being in paradise!

Our hotel is indeed a small hideaway resort, we strive to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat.

It was our pleasure having you at our resort and we hope to welcoming you again in the future!
With kind regards from the entire team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort
Traveller’s choice award 2017 & Certificate of Excellence 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Greatest service I have experienced. At arrival, they were waiting at the gate for us with a fresh cool face cloth, and a welcome drink. Took us for a tour and then took us to our room and made sure we knew where everything was and how it worked. These people know how to make you feel fantastic. Room was absolutely beautiful. Stayed in a Superior Beachfront Suite. Had our own beach, pool, mini bar and everything else you could ever want. We will be going back for anniversaries in the future. I could live there!

Room Tip: Superior Beachfront Suites. They have four. Beautiful view of the ocean and sunset!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Shane Campbell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver Z, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Shane Campbell C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Baoase Luxury Resort! It makes me very proud to hear that our Baoase team has exceeded all your expectations. It is our greatest pleasure to hear you have enjoyed the Superior Beachfront Pool Suite complete with private beach and private plunge pool. We are very happy that we were able to be part of your honeymoon and we do hope we get to welcome you back in the future for your anniversary!

With kind regards from the entire team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort
Traveller’s choice award 2017 & Certificate of Excellence 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Where to begin?? I've been all over the world and this is by far the best resort experience I've ever had. The private beach at Baoase is simply spectacular, with a helipad and cove entrance from the ocean. The waters are turquoise blue and the pristine sense of splendor is all there, with Bali decor and the use of blue and amber lighting that nudge you from one tiny corner to another. ALL vilas are beyond excellent. The canopy beds are designed in a sensual sphere of lighting from the mirrored ceiling of the bed to the bottom. From the mirrored, well lit master walk-in closet to the incredibly ornate appointments throughout, to the indoor bath/concrete sinks -- this is paradise. The outdoor master bath is enclosed by a beautiful cedar fence with a canopy of mature palm trees, which sway in the wind while you indulge yourself in the rain shower or in the huge bathtub. Words do not describe this place. I tried at least 12 times to capture the beauty on video and could NOT capture its essence. They thought of everything! If it's peace and quiet you want, it's there. If it's music and great cuisine, the live entertainment is AMAZING (the singer was a cross between John Legend and Cuban samba), if it's shopping and water sports, you've got it. And ea villa has its own small pool. The resorts pool is something out of a Balinese dream. I can go on and on; do this just once in your life. I think perhaps because Baoase was conceived as a family retreat and then expanded out of the family's quest to make it truly spectacular, they have included EVERYTHING you'd ever think to ask for. The chef is amazing and so are the people. We plan on going back for a month, maybe longer. Nothing compares.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank aritatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver Z, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Aritaty,
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay at Baoase Luxury Resort. Our main goal is to exceed all expectations, and therefor it makes us very proud to hear you mentioning the resort being the best resort experience you have ever had! We strive to treat everyone as friends, and friends as family. It would be our honor to welcome you again in hopefully the near future!
With kind regards from the entire team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort
Traveller’s choice award 2017 & Certificate of Excellence 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We - a family of 6 - spent nearly 14 days at the resort. The welcome was both friendly and professional - as was the departure.
We had a very relaxing stay, and the staff and management contributed to making the stay a great experience by being attentive and friendly and very helpful.
The villa was great with lots of space and direct access to pool. The villa was cleaned perfectly twice a day. Only nuisance was the mosquitoes, which made it nearly impossible to sit outside on the patio at night.
The resort's private beach was also wonderful, beautiful and a great place to relax. Super friendly beach staff.
And saving the best for last: the restaurant: friendly and attentive waiters, fantastic breakfast (we have never had better croissants) and wonderful dinners.

All in all, this resort is highly recommendable and we would love to come back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver Z, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Kristine T,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review about your experience at Baoase Luxury Resort. We are very thankful for your family’s visit and I am very happy that our staff was able to give you excellent service! It is great to hear you also enjoyed our culinary offerings. Our wait staff work hard to give each guest an amazing night!

I am sorry to hear that the mosquitos were such a disruption to enjoy your patio at night. Because of the natural breeze with our property being beach front we are usually not experiencing a lot of disturbance from the mosquitos. At Baoase Luxury Resort we are spraying our grounds 3 times a week to prevent mosquito breeding. Additionally our housekeeping team preventively sprays all living quarters the rooms, suites and villas twice daily. In our guest rooms as well as in Baoase Culinary Restaurant complimentary bug repellant is provided.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at any time!

With kind regards from the entire team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort
Traveller’s choice award 2017 & Certificate of Excellence 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews