We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I booked a single room at Fort Young during a recent visit and it was a good deal for the $98 per night cost.

The first room that I booked, room 523, unfortunately, was directly adjacent to where the kitchen staff works so I had the misfortune of hearing pots and pans banging about all evening and early in the morning. The hotel changed my room 405 and it was a very clean darling room with a small garden and sea view.

The hotel staff is wonderful -- professional and helpful and I didn't have a bad meal for the entire time that I was there.

Room Tip: Beware of standard rooms near to the kitchen, like room 523.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBDSBEAUTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Guest

We are happy that overall that you had a good time here. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback help us in continuously upgrading our products and services and ensuring that our guests expectations are met and exceeded.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marvlyn James
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Fort Young Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 657 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed at the Fort Young on the last night of a one week visit to this gorgeous island, specifically because it was convenient for the catamaran to Martinique the next day. I had found a good rate on the internet for a standard room...which ultimately was fair value for the money given the Hotel's location, facilities and ambiance. I was given an old and very worn ocean view (OK generally cruise ship view) room which was perfectly fine and comfortable, with the winning point being a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. Had I been paying more I would have found the mini-fridge sitting on the desk a real nuisance (particularly given the wired only internet, which meant having to get into awkward positions when using my computer or moving the fridge to the balcony, which I ultimately did). The decision to move was eased by the fact that the refrigerator was useless...sparkling new but with an American style plug -- the UK type outlet meant it needed a plug and voltage converter to be even remotely useful. It was there for show I suppose, and looked better on the balcony. The packet of ground coffee was not quite appropriate for the hot water kettle unless I wanted Turkish coffee I guess. I did not. I went in search of a place to eat, which in theory were plentiful in the Hotel but in reality were closed except when cruise ships were in port (i.e. during the day) -- the one restaurant open was the formal one which happened to be serving American Thanksgiving Dinner. The front desk did immediately suggest a nice local restaurant five minutes away (they have received this query frequently I assume), and I had an excellent local meal with great service at the informal Old Stone Cafe. In my wander in search of food, I did notice the gorgeous infinity pool. The place is fawlty, but not in a terribly irritating way and at least in my case, the price was right. Roseau is a lovely place for a day or two, but there are really many more interesting places to stay in Dominica if you are budfgeting more than US$100.

Room Tip: My standard room was fine for a short stay in Roseau...If I had to pay more I would stay at the many...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This hotel is in the heart of the capital of Dominica - Roseau, just down the street from the par aliment building, and adjacent to the cruise ship dock. It is also nestled at the edge of a cliff overlooking the Caribbean Sea and Pointe Michelle. The property is Dominica's premier business hotel.

The property has 71 rooms and at least the room we stayed in was more than roomy and spacious. All rooms are air-conditioned and the property is above the mosquitos lines so you don't have to worry about getting bitten.

When my wife and I arrived in the country we had a driver, Clem, there to drive us to the hotel. The drive to Roseau was harrowing as Dominica's roads are narrow and hang off cliffs; regardless, our driver was polite, professional and told us the history of this beautiful island nation.

Upon entering the hotel, the staff had two fresh squeezed pineapple juices sitting on the reception desk and checked us in. The bellhop, Priestly, got us to our room and then proceeded to show us around the property. When I mentioned we were interested in attending Sunday services, the bellhop showed us where the church in town was - walking us a couple blocks to show us where in town the church situated. He went above and beyond the call of duty to welcome us to Dominica.

We were excited to find our Oceanview room to be spacious with a large king sized bed and a patio deck which overlooked Port Michel. The trip was a honeymoon and the hotel had two glasses and a bottle champagne so my new wife and I could toast starting our new life together along with a fruit dish.

For being in a somewhat poor nation it was great to have a suite bathroom, cable TV and free wi-fi network. But when you are in Dominica you don't spend too much time in your room as the island is for exploration and connecting to nature. But each night after our adventures it was great to relax on our balcony listening to the splashing of the waves below as we uploaded our photos and videos to Facebook using the complimentary high speed internet access is exclusively available in the room.

The Fort Young Hotel also featured a wide range of facilities and amenities including an infinity pool, hot tubs, restaurant, dive shop, duty free shop, hotel bar called the Balas Club and a new workout facility. The pool had a waterfall like fountain that feed it. I original drafted this entry and review while sitting on the edge of the pool staring into the sea with a nice breeze keeping us cool while my wife reviews photos she took during one of our hikes in the rainforest.

One final note, the hotel is somehow connect with Khatts tour company who maintains a transfer and tour desk - they can arrange for guides, drivers, tours and dry land activities. They have great events and the dive shop can arrange for snorkeling, whale watching and water related activities. Ask for Martin (Transfer/Tour Desk) or Ken (Dive Shop), they both did good jobs assisting us on our exploration of Nature's Island.

Room Tip: The hotel had several room categories include the Standard Room, the comfortable and deluxe Oceanfro...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmaclachlan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I had booked a Standard Room and was upgraded to a Fort Room... talk about LUCK!!! The Fort Rooms are worth every penny of difference and next time I will not make the mistake of booking Standard. The view alone is worth it. Only complaint is the lack of wireless, I would have loved to been able to sit on the porch and work.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the extra money to get a Fort Room instead of a Standard Room!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

So my travels to Dominica started with trying to book Fort Young...booked solid to my disappointment. On arriving in Roseau I thought I would stop by and check availability..as luck would have it I got 3 day stay at the end of my trip Nov 2-5th..Great ambiance..especially the bar and restaurant...great breakfast and service..the view was spectacular specifically at nite. you could chill at the main bar relax with a Kubali beer...check in was smooth..our room was clean and was maintained that way everyday...it's also in the middle of town..near the Ruins Bar/Restaurant..great hangout...jacuzzi could have been warmer, but pool was relaxing, not alot of traffic... Security staff were also great made you feel safe. I have no complaints but gratitude for such hospitality and I have travelled to many caribbean hotels, but this one is a gem..we will return again and again..

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea..for sure..not by the central air fan...a little noisy which can spoil things a...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
29.4 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
29.7 km away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
27.9 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
33.5 km away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
1.6 km away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range: RM542 - RM962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel. Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing