We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome place to visit and great hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
welcome to Birdwatchers
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to Birdwatchers
Rainwater Pool in the tree tops swimming pool with solar water heating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
welcome to Birdwatchers
Rainwater Pool in the tree tops
swimming pool with solar water heating
Spacious Sitting Room
Eat inside or out?
Futons for extra guests
curved breakfast bar with three stools
well equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom
Queensize bed
ensuite Shower room
Bedroom two
Bedroom three
Lots of outside seating
Bedroom two and three share a shower room
Gather around enjoy the wildlife
Outside dining easy
lovely hand made furnitue
hammock
Waitikubuli Trail just by the doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
703Roadle...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to visit and great hospitality”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I along with another couple rented Birdwatchers for six nights. We communicated with Tina prior to our trip and she offered several good suggestions for car rental, sites to see, and taxi from the airport (a must at night if you are not familiar). She even brought some groceries for us so we had dinner in the evening and breakfast the next morning. The house is spacious and has a beautiful view of the rainforest. For full disclosure, there is a house being built on an adjacent property that is rather close on one side, but cannot be seen from the main porch. The plumbing worked fine and the kitchen was sufficient. The windows are all screens, so we could open the shutters and have a nice flow of air. There were birds, though we did not see any parrots. There is a refreshing dip pool too! The cottage is eco-friendly and uses rainwater and solar power. We went on a boat trip with Tina's family and caught fish. This was a great local experience and gave us the opportunity to learn more about local life. We greatly enjoyed the stay and would return. Dominica is a beautiful, not very touristy island for those who like to hike, smell fresh air, and enjoy beautiful sunsets.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location in the rain forest.
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2014
These visitors were ideal for our cottage and we enjoyed the day out on the sea with them in my husbands fishing boat. We plan to plant bamboo and hummingbird attracting vegetation between us and the neighbour at the back and keep our forest ambiance. Now we have bought the land in front of us we are planning a walk bordered with more indigenous plants to encourage the birds and butterflies to come closer. The parrots are rather shy but can usually be heard and seen flying over mid afternoon. We are planting oranges to attract them to come and feed in full view of the balcony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P
Spencer, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Loved living in the rainforest”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We loved staying at Birdwatchers. The owners were very helpful and available. The town of Sylvania is charming and welcoming and we had a great time hanging out in the local grocery and bar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, remote location. Fantastic local community.
Liked least: Our itinerary kept us away from home in the afternoons, so we missed the parrots.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
thanks for coming....how about a return trip in 2015, we have made lots of improvements
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenweb
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation
5
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
We are very sorry that you were not able to enjoy the pool. It is now fixed and working ok. The showers and tap filters are also changed and should be fine. The intrusion was not a break in and will not happen without warning again. We welcome the feedback especially if the neighbours builders are a problem. We expect them to do most of their work whilst people are out, but it is a nuscience and we thank our guests for their tolerance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois...
Les Anses d'Arlet, Martinique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
We are trying to improve the cottage every month. Last month it was the parking and this month we have a dedicated heater for the pool. Our neighbours have finished building so we hope things will be even more peaceful and pleasant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuiCleclo...
Trois Rivieres, Guadeloupe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Do come back again , we have hummingbird feeders now and have more avian visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$75
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing