We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$136
BlueBay
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$133
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$268
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$344
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$340
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$193
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VH Atmosphere - Adults Only - All Inclusive(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tubagua Plantation Eco Lodge(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,659)
Filter reviews
3,659 results
Traveller rating
1,312
1,129
652
318
248
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,312
1,129
652
318
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya doradaentertainment staffbeach vendorssnack barchickendominican republica la cartenightly entertainmentorange marketpicky eaterlobsterrecommend this resortgreat triphave a good timeno graciassmall resorthorseback riding
Filter
Updating list...
2,259 - 2,264 of 3,659 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2004

The hotel is ok, the food is average. The pool is not supervised at all, which can be problematic for little kids. The staff is courteous and helpful. The biggest problem i had was when i went scuba diving with the SeaPro divers who are located on the premises. Unfortunately my equipment was not ready when i left so i had to rent from them. BIG MISTAKE !!!! On almost every dive i had some problem including both regulators failing while i was 60 feet down. The other divers were constantly bumping into one another and wandering off on their own, against standard scuba practices. The dive center was disorganized and often left newcomers wondering what was going on. Their boats were small and crowded and equipment tossed all over. Whoever is running the dive center needs a lesson in customer service and equipment maintenance. BEWARE !!

2  Thank gb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow, Scotland
114
Reviewed 21 August 2004

Recently stayed at the Paradise Beach hotel in Playa Dorada 03 Aug - 17 Aug. Myself and my girlfriend and two other couples. I can honestly say that each and everyone of us loved it.

Many people have complained about the rooms on this site but all of the rooms we slept in where spotless. The bathroom fittings were slightly grimey but who goes on holiday to examine the fixtures and fittings in there room (well obviously some people, have a beer and chill).

All of the staff (except head waiter in michaelangelos) were excellent. If you are going there soon you will be missing the pleasure of a real entertainer known as Mickey Mouse unfortunately left to better himself. However there is still Elvis, Gay Jonathon, Jonathon No.1, Blackie Blackie, Rafael etc etc (a cuba libre or a beer out of the site of their bosses will give your holiday all the entertainment it needs). Most of the entertainment is provided by the animation team and 95% of the time the shows were excellent.

With the resort being all inclusive drinks are served in plastic cups 20 pesos per day should see you upgraded to a glass (or on the odd occasion what lookied like a vase) Louis and Jose (The one who always whistles) were excellent. The resort is one of only 3 resorts in playa dorada which are on the beach and the beach is fairly clean.

I am a self confessed fussy eater and even i found something to eat almost everytime we ate at the buffet. The snack bar is opened in the afternoon and late at night and serves burgers, chips salad, stir frys, pizzas, etc most of which is cooked in front of your eyes and is always fresh. I don't recommend eating at the excursions I had a bad case of the puerto plata splata just after the two excursions we went on. (Ocean world is excellent and well worth the money if you do the dolphin encounter rather than the dolphin swim. We also went to paradise island, don't make the same mistake the best part of the day was going on the speedboats. The island is ridicullously overcrowded and there isn't space to move. There are no toilets on the island either and you last chance to use a toilet is something to behold.
I suppose when you have been here you'll think you are living in the ritz paradise beach.

Another complaint i read on this site was about the cats. I hated the cats being there too, not as much as the birdlife which scavanges about, but you have to remember that cats eat cockroaches and a lot of places have them now. (Cats or Cockroaches. You decide).

If you are going to this hotel soon ignore all of the reviews including my own just go and see. You never know you might enjoy yourself. Remeber your holiday isn't spent in your room it is spent in a truly amazing resort with the most friendly nation i have come across.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed 18 July 2004

I went with my four year old son to paradise Beach Club and Casino in Purerto Plata. This was your typical 3 star hotel. Rooms, food and entertainment were average. Weather was excellent. No real compliants unless you are a parent going to this club because of the kids program. I expected to leave my son at 9am and pick him up at 5pm as it is written. This is not the case, they close from 12:30-2:30 and if you are a parent that does not mind your four year old in the pool unsupervised then its fine for you. The ladies that run the program were nice, but their caregiving styles were much different then mine. So needless to say, I did not leave my son alone. But still, I did get a relaxing holiday, it just meant lying out in the kids pool. The staff did not do any activities with the kids, mostly my son swam and played nintendo in the club house. So if you are thinking that you will get 8 hours a day away from your child and you want them stimulated and supervised this is not the place for you. But I would go back. I didn't mind lying out at the kids pool and I knew my son was safe! Everything else was great. We didn't really get sick, some quesyness at first and constipation but this is to be expected.
Feel free to email me if you have any questions regarding this hotel.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2004

We just returned on July 3, 2004 from a 7 day holiday at the Paradise Beach Hotel. It started off on the wrong foot however. Our flight landed at 10:30 am, but check-in is not until 3:00 pm, and the hotel was unable to accommodate us with early check-in. As it was, we didn't get the second room we had booked until well after 3:30. The worst part was walking around a steaming hot resort in your "airplane clothes" for hours, just waiting to get into the room. When we opened the door to our room we were shocked to say the least. The rooms are not anywhere near North American standards, so we were upset right off the bat. The bell boy told us these were superior rooms, which was verified by the front desk. Superior rooms have a double bed, a small sitting area, two plate stove, and a sink on the lower floor. 14 steps up the spiral staircase was our bathroom and another bedroom with two twin beds. The standard rooms have a double bed and bathroom on one floor. The loft rooms have a an entry way with a spiral staircase up to your room. Keep this is mind when choosing your rooms. We were up on the third floor (32 steps up) and nowhere near the pool or ocean, and with no balcony. However, we decided the rooms were the least of our worries. We wanted to see what the rest of the resort was like. Well, it is exceptionally beautiful. Greenery, palms and flowers were everywhere. The beach is gorgeous and very big. While taking a walk along the beach at night, we found that Paradise has by far the best beach of the surrounding resorts. As for the food, if you can, book the a la carte for Saturday night. That is the Dominican night at the buffet, and the food was nowhere near as good as it was the rest of the week. Each night is a theme; America, England, Italian, Seafood, BBQ, so the food never really got tiring. They actually served meat (roast beef, turkey, chicken) at these buffets, not just casseroles. Lunch and Supper at the buffet were really good, but breakfast was pretty much the same every day. At the mall in the Playa Dorada Complex, shop at Jimineez upstairs. Here you will find brand name clothing (Hilfiger, Ecko, Guess, Enyce, Phat Farm) for next to nothing. A Fat Pharm t-shirt goes for about $10.00 CAD. A pair of Nike Shox running shoes for about $33.00 CAD. It is a little cheaper in Puerto Plata for the same stuff, but you have to pay for the cab ride there. For tours, we did the Jeep Safari with C.B. tours (in Playa Dorada Mall). Their posted rate is $35.00 U.S. for an all day tour each. We got it for $25.00 U.S. for each of four people (plus a $10.00 tip). Conversely, Sun Wing charges $79.00 U.S. for the same trip. It was awesome, climbing up seven waterfalls, then sliding down into refreshing fresh water pools. Speaking of tips, everyone has their hand out looking for one. If you tip at the buffet, you will never be without a drink in your hand. If you are going to go on a tour, bring a lot of wrapped candy with you. As soon as the local kids hear the bus or whatever vehicle you are in, they line the streets, calling out "menthe" (candy). They will follow you down the street hoping for a little treat. One last thing: don't buy from the beach vendors or from the vendors they take you to on the tours. We paid way more than we did in the actual stores in the mall. For long distance, go to the discount store in the Playa Dorada Mall. They have little phone booths set up. You just go into the booth, dial your number and talk. When you are done, they punch it up on the computer and tell you how much your call cost. For two 5 minute calls to Canada, it cost us about $5.00 U.S. total. Hope this gives you a little heads up. Enjoy your time at Paradise Beach Hotel. We certainly did.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Kerry_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 13 July 2004

Just got back from a week at paradise. We were definitely dissapointed with the accomodations. We switched from our timeshare resort in Florida with excellent rooms, fully equipped suite and 8 outdoor pools. Paradise is extremely old as was the furniture, etc. The rooms are also damp and smell musty. The mini kitchen was not a kitchen at all as the stove could not be used and there were no glasses, etc provided. The pool was ok, again not what we were accustom to having in Florida. However, the island itself was beautiful, the beach was beautiful and the people at Paradise were the best. The food was OK but after a few days we got a little tired of seeing same thing over and over again. Even though it was all inclusive we ordered pizza a few times. Eden's Grill was nice and so was the other restaurant Michael Angelo but you do need to make reservations. Overall this is not a 3 stars resort but the people who work there are.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews